We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sweet Suite Deal
Ranked #1 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great service ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed here this weekend. Great service from everyone from their valets to the front desk staff. The room was small but comfortable and clean and I love the C.O. Bigelow bathroom products. The location is perfect as well...a nice walk to the more happening part of old town Alexandria.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Hi Lama B,

I am pleased you received such wonderful service from our entire staff, and although your guest room was not as large as you expected, I am glad you felt comfortable and liked the provided bathroom amenities. If you are not hitting shops and restaurants on King St. the Metro stop is just two blocks away.

We hope to see you again soon,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    632
    144
    50
    10
    5
See reviews for
139
313
77
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I'd booked a terrace suite based on onlune photos where the terraces had actual seating. I was terribly disappointed when I saw Suite 615 (overlooking King Street and bookended by the Diplomat and Presidential Suites). The terrace is a little walkway, with one rocking chair. Not very conducive to actual entertaining friends outdoors. The suite itself was surprisingly small (sorry, spoiled by my sweet suite stay at Hotel Giraffe in NYC...which was huge, had realistic photos if the juliet balciny, and was almost $200 cheaper.) The bathroom was awesome though; A+ rainshower experience.

But I cannot fault the service; the front desk must have heard how disapointed I was and they sent up a bottle of bubbly and a plate of chocolate covered strawberries (I would have actually preferred an extra chair for the walkway, aka terrace.)

Would I stay here again? Maybe, for a staycation. But I don't think I'd spring for a $500/night terrace suite again. It was kind of an expensive disappointment.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Hello Lor2876,

We have several unique terrace suites; I am sorry the one you received did not meet your expectations based on the website photographs. I am glad you enjoyed the upgraded rain shower bathroom and found that our staff was concerned with your satisfaction.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I have stayed at the Lorien Hotel and Spa in Alexandria multiple times over the years, most recently for 6 nights while attending a conference. The hotel is a boutique hotel with an excellent restaurant, a spa, and a free wine reception from 5-6pm. It has meeting rooms and is able to host private dinners. I really enjoy staying here, As a Kimpton-In-Touch member I received free WiFi and $10 towards the mini-bar. The hotel is a short cab ride from the DCA airport (although you can take a train too). DC is accessible by taxi or the Metro (which is inexpensive and fast). Old Town is very quaint with lovely shops and excellent restaurants. All of the DC sights are accessible via the Metro. I had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel as usual!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces towards the front (North) of the hotel. Some of my colleagues whose room f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hello Andrea T,

I am glad you enjoy BRABO, our spa and the overall boutique feel of the hotel. Old Town certainly provides an excellent location for work and leisure activities.

Thank you for your continued business and we hope to see you again soon,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is now our third stay with the Kimpton brand, and it has been just as amazing as the previous stays! The location is perfect for out of town travelers – conveniently located about 2 blocks away from the Metro in a very safe and beautiful historic neighborhood. There are tons of shops and restaurants just on King Street alone.

The serene courtyard immediately sets the tone for your stay as you are greeted by the friendly Kimpton staff. You just gotta love that Kimpton lobby scent!

The room was perfect! Definitely a little larger than it looks in pictures. Although it may look like a standard hotel room, the light fixtures, decorations, and barn-style frosted glass bathroom door let you know that you are in a much nicer place.

To make things even better, we were greeted by an awesome display of pumpkins, local craft beers, and a plate of cookies welcoming us to the hotel! As an added bonus, we were invited to take a complimentary tour of the local brewery – perfect since we were in town during the government shutdown.

The staff exceeded expectations at every turn, especially Johnny the Greek, Mr. Nice Guy, and Almeisha (sorry if I spelled it wrong). They were always eager to answer questions, go above and beyond, and make me feel like I was a celebrity.

Thank you to everyone at the Lorien. We will definitely be coming back because of you.

Room Tip: We had a view of the courtyard, and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hello Robbie M,

I am thrilled you enjoyed the design of the hotel and your guest room, as well as the fall themed beer amenity. Going over to Port City Brewery is such a great time. I appreciate the staff shout outs, and commend you on the spelling of Almetia’s (correct) name. She’s received much worse.

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed here in September for 3 nights. We chose this hotel as it is in a beautiful town called Alexandria which is very close to Washington DC. We wanted to stay in a nice place without paying an extortionate price but yet be near to Washington.
We arrived at Dulles airport and took the 5A bus to Rosslyn metro station which cost us $6 each. Follow the signs out of the airport for taxis, buses etc and there is a small sign beside the 5A stop across the road when you exit. Make sure you have the exact change because the bus driver won't give you any back. We then got the metro from Rosslyn (blue line) to King Street station.
This hotel is a few minutes walk from here. It is very clean and nice and as a lot of the other reviews told us, the staff are all really lovely.
Complimentary wine is served between 5pm & 6pm daily which is a nice touch. Our rate included continental breakfast which incuded fresh fruit, greek yogurt with a sprinkling of muesli on top, juice, tea or coffee, toast or a pastry from their selection. All very nice and a good start to the day. We received the continental vouchers on check in and gave two to our server each morning. They will give you a menu when they seat you if you wish to have something extra. The prices are beside each item. If you wish to stick to the continental then tell your server and give them the vouchers. One per person.
Washington DC is approximately 15 minutes away on the metro which you can get on King Street. I read some reviews who said that it cost $1.35 to get to Washington, well it is more like $3.35 one way. You can purchase single tickets if you like but we bought a travel fare card at one of the machines in the station. It is a prepaid card that you can put as much as you like onto. It saves going to the machine every time you want to use the metro. You can then use it as often as you like and the amount that you have left will appear in small print when you exit a station. There is always a staff member in the station if you are unsure and need to ask any questions.
Washington DC is really beautiful. We got some lovely photos of the White House but weren't allowed to take a tour inside as all public visits have been stopped since March.
Lincoln Memorial is very impressive. Don't forget to look for the marker on the steps where Martin Luther King gave his 'I have a dream speech'.
We took the metro (blue line) one day to the Pentagon City station. From here we walked (not far) to the lwo Jima Statue. It is of marines struggling to erect the stars and stripes on a ridge at lwo Jima and it serves as a memorial to all marines who have fought for their country. This statue is huge and is well worth a visit.
There is a wonderful whole foods supermarket really close to the hotel. Come out of the hotel and turn left. Keep walking (roughly 2 blocks) until you come to a street called Reinekers. Take a left here and it is at the end of this street. It is really worth going to.
Old town Alexandria is really pretty and you can't go wrong by staying in this hotel. The evening before we left we walked down the town and stopped in Pops for an ice cream before continuing on to the waterfront. We sat here for a while and then got the free trolley back to our hotel. The trolley runs every 15 mins.
We really enjoyed our trip to Washington and I'd recommend staying in the Lorien in Alexandria. Hope you find this review helpful.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Duck000,

It looks like you had a well planned out trip to the DC area! I am glad you enjoyed the continental breakfast served in BRABO that was included in your room rate, as well as the complimentary evening wine reception. The area has so much to offer that you just might need to come back for another visit.

We hope to see you again soon,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here 3 days and this hotel was perfect in every way. Great location for shopping and restaurants. Staff incredibly friendly and helpful. Won't stay anywhere else if we are in the area again!

Room Tip: This hotel is pet friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hello Maggie J,

I am glad you enjoyed our location and the friendliness of our staff. And of course we can’t wait until you are back in the area, as we will get to see you again.

Cordially,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac Falls, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We wanted a quick night away and after searching hotels in the area (Arlington and DC) and reading reviews, we landed on the Lorien in Old Town. The "terrible" reviews seemed to be nit-picking (unlike some of the other hotel reviews I read) and we're a fan of Kimpton. Also, we booked this last-minute and the value seemed good.

We couldn't have been more happy. We were greeted by Mr. Nice Guy (that's what his nametag read, and it was true) who wished us a Happy Anniversary and a gave us a warm welcome - including a complimentary room upgrade. The room was spacious, clean, modern, quiet and comfortable. We had a drink and nosh at the Tasting Room (bar attached to hotel) - service was super friendly, atmosphere was classy and chill, and the mussels were fantastic.

Location is perfect - since Old Town is so walkable, having the hotel in the more quiet part of King Street was awesome. 10 minute walk to dinner in the heart of Old Town with an escape back to peacefulness.

We also had massages at the Spa. We were both pleased with the quality and the relaxation room pre- and post-massage. The price was comparable to other spa services.

Consider joining the Kimpton rewards program before booking - we received a $10 room credit ("Raid the Minibar"), complementary cocktail vouchers, and free wifi.

Definitely one of my favorite quick getaways yet!

Room Tip: The suite was very spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Hi CADCVAandBeyond,

I am thrilled you had a wonderful anniversary visit with us, starting off with a warm greeting from Brandon (Mr. Nice Guy). I am glad you enjoyed your suite, massages and meal at our BRABO Tasting Room. Alexandria is certainly a wonderful town to walk around, so I it’s nice to see you were able to get out and about.

We hope to see you again soon,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1600 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Old Town Alexandria, our luxury boutique hotel is a collaborative dream. Renowned interior designer Vicente Wolf created a space that is reflective of the past and grounded in modern sensibilities. Combined with the stylish calm of our spa, our destination restaurant, BRABO by Robert Wiedmaier, a striking environment and the amenities expected of a Kimpton Hotel, Lorien Hotel & Spa unites the elegance of yesteryear with the comforts of modern-day living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorien Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.