We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Recommend The Lorien Hotel & Spa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Upgrade Your Stay
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would Recommend The Lorien Hotel & Spa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed here in September for 3 nights. We chose this hotel as it is in a beautiful town called Alexandria which is very close to Washington DC. We wanted to stay in a nice place without paying an extortionate price but yet be near to Washington.
We arrived at Dulles airport and took the 5A bus to Rosslyn metro station which cost us $6 each. Follow the signs out of the airport for taxis, buses etc and there is a small sign beside the 5A stop across the road when you exit. Make sure you have the exact change because the bus driver won't give you any back. We then got the metro from Rosslyn (blue line) to King Street station.
This hotel is a few minutes walk from here. It is very clean and nice and as a lot of the other reviews told us, the staff are all really lovely.
Complimentary wine is served between 5pm & 6pm daily which is a nice touch. Our rate included continental breakfast which incuded fresh fruit, greek yogurt with a sprinkling of muesli on top, juice, tea or coffee, toast or a pastry from their selection. All very nice and a good start to the day. We received the continental vouchers on check in and gave two to our server each morning. They will give you a menu when they seat you if you wish to have something extra. The prices are beside each item. If you wish to stick to the continental then tell your server and give them the vouchers. One per person.
Washington DC is approximately 15 minutes away on the metro which you can get on King Street. I read some reviews who said that it cost $1.35 to get to Washington, well it is more like $3.35 one way. You can purchase single tickets if you like but we bought a travel fare card at one of the machines in the station. It is a prepaid card that you can put as much as you like onto. It saves going to the machine every time you want to use the metro. You can then use it as often as you like and the amount that you have left will appear in small print when you exit a station. There is always a staff member in the station if you are unsure and need to ask any questions.
Washington DC is really beautiful. We got some lovely photos of the White House but weren't allowed to take a tour inside as all public visits have been stopped since March.
Lincoln Memorial is very impressive. Don't forget to look for the marker on the steps where Martin Luther King gave his 'I have a dream speech'.
We took the metro (blue line) one day to the Pentagon City station. From here we walked (not far) to the lwo Jima Statue. It is of marines struggling to erect the stars and stripes on a ridge at lwo Jima and it serves as a memorial to all marines who have fought for their country. This statue is huge and is well worth a visit.
There is a wonderful whole foods supermarket really close to the hotel. Come out of the hotel and turn left. Keep walking (roughly 2 blocks) until you come to a street called Reinekers. Take a left here and it is at the end of this street. It is really worth going to.
Old town Alexandria is really pretty and you can't go wrong by staying in this hotel. The evening before we left we walked down the town and stopped in Pops for an ice cream before continuing on to the waterfront. We sat here for a while and then got the free trolley back to our hotel. The trolley runs every 15 mins.
We really enjoyed our trip to Washington and I'd recommend staying in the Lorien in Alexandria. Hope you find this review helpful.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Duck000,

It looks like you had a well planned out trip to the DC area! I am glad you enjoyed the continental breakfast served in BRABO that was included in your room rate, as well as the complimentary evening wine reception. The area has so much to offer that you just might need to come back for another visit.

We hope to see you again soon,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    179
    63
    15
    5
See reviews for
162
378
81
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here 3 days and this hotel was perfect in every way. Great location for shopping and restaurants. Staff incredibly friendly and helpful. Won't stay anywhere else if we are in the area again!

Room Tip: This hotel is pet friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hello Maggie J,

I am glad you enjoyed our location and the friendliness of our staff. And of course we can’t wait until you are back in the area, as we will get to see you again.

Cordially,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We wanted a quick night away and after searching hotels in the area (Arlington and DC) and reading reviews, we landed on the Lorien in Old Town. The "terrible" reviews seemed to be nit-picking (unlike some of the other hotel reviews I read) and we're a fan of Kimpton. Also, we booked this last-minute and the value seemed good.

We couldn't have been more happy. We were greeted by Mr. Nice Guy (that's what his nametag read, and it was true) who wished us a Happy Anniversary and a gave us a warm welcome - including a complimentary room upgrade. The room was spacious, clean, modern, quiet and comfortable. We had a drink and nosh at the Tasting Room (bar attached to hotel) - service was super friendly, atmosphere was classy and chill, and the mussels were fantastic.

Location is perfect - since Old Town is so walkable, having the hotel in the more quiet part of King Street was awesome. 10 minute walk to dinner in the heart of Old Town with an escape back to peacefulness.

We also had massages at the Spa. We were both pleased with the quality and the relaxation room pre- and post-massage. The price was comparable to other spa services.

Consider joining the Kimpton rewards program before booking - we received a $10 room credit ("Raid the Minibar"), complementary cocktail vouchers, and free wifi.

Definitely one of my favorite quick getaways yet!

Room Tip: The suite was very spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Hi CADCVAandBeyond,

I am thrilled you had a wonderful anniversary visit with us, starting off with a warm greeting from Brandon (Mr. Nice Guy). I am glad you enjoyed your suite, massages and meal at our BRABO Tasting Room. Alexandria is certainly a wonderful town to walk around, so I it’s nice to see you were able to get out and about.

We hope to see you again soon,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

While staying in the Washington D.C. area on business, my wife came out to visit. I wanted to find a nice hotel for us to enjoy. I found the Lorien and looked no further.

This hotel is a fantastic find. The price was competitive, the location in Old Town Alexandria was perfect, and the service was excellent. From the valet service, to the registration desk, to the complimentary wine service, we were treated like their guests. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is extremely clean and well maintained. Our king room overlooked the entrance courtyard and reminded my wife of Europe. The room decor was fresh and the bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed the special touch of the robes in our closet.

Everything you want to do or see is just a short walk, bike ride, Metro Ride, or free trolley ride away. I highly recommend a stay at the Lorien. Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hello Jim G,

I am thrilled that you thoroughly enjoyed so many aspects of your stay such as the down to earth service you received, as well as the décor and setting reminiscent of Europe. It is nice to note you were able to strike a perfect blend between business and pleasure.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed here for a business trip. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was modern and comfortable. The food (dinner and breakfast) at the restaurant was creative and tasty - try the pistachio dessert waffle!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hello AR987,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us for your recent business trip. I am pleased you enjoyed the design of the hotel and had pleasant interactions with our friendly staff. I am glad you enjoyed your dining experiences in our BRABO restaurant.

We look forward to your next visit,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful property. Very friendly staff. Incredible pricing relative to competitors. These are the main reasons one would stay at the Lorien. The minimalist, chic, elegant decore is sheathed under a traditional brick façade. It is so nondescript on the street side, that one can easily miss it amongst the wonderful shops of Oldtown Alexandria. Rooms are on the smallish side, and do not include coffeemakers for early risers. I wish that there were coffeemakers, or room service available before 7 AM, as some of us do work for a living. Valet service is excellent, and attentive. The front desk is friendly, however they do not always follow through on guest requests, causing one to have to submit a single request multiple times. All in all, more than worth the price

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hi Jim S,

I am glad you enjoyed the design of the hotel, our friendly staff and your favorable room rate. For your next visit, please know that we do have coffee makers available upon request. I am sorry our Front Desk staff was not consistent with their follow up in regards to your requests. Your feedback is being shared with our team.

Thank you and we hope to welcome you back someday,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Very nice hotel right in downtown Alexandria, walking distance to everything. Rooms are clean and bright, staff was super friendly, and beds were comfortable. Also... allows dogs! Actually, it doesn't just allow them, it will really take care of them if you want. I think this is awesome, but for people who don't like dogs, it turns out it's not a big deal, because they have these special collars that zap noisy dogs and to bring your dog you have to sign a waiver permitting the hotel to go in your room and put the collar on your noisy dog. Everybody wins.

I'm giving it 4-stars but it's among the best of them. I really enjoyed this hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hello bodunky,

I am pleased you enjoyed our location, staff and your clean and comfortable room. We are certainly pet friendly, and we actually make “PetSafe” devices available to pet owners, if their dogs bark a lot. We do not provide any type of shock collar.

We hope to see you again soon,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#13 of 50 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1600 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#1 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Old Town Alexandria, our luxury boutique hotel is a collaborative dream. Renowned interior designer Vicente Wolf created a space that is reflective of the past and grounded in modern sensibilities. Combined with the stylish calm of our spa, our destination restaurant, BRABO by Robert Wiedmaier, a striking environment and the amenities expected of a Kimpton Hotel, Lorien Hotel & Spa unites the elegance of yesteryear with the comforts of modern-day living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorien Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.