We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a nice hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sweet Suite Deal
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
va
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“It was a nice hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The Lorien was a nice hotel. It has a very clean look. We stayed in one of the suites. It was very spacious.The beds are nice and plush. I liked the view of their courtyard.
The bathrooms are huge and have nice tubs if you are a bath person. I did find it interesting that the bathroom door is frosted glass. Our door faced the sofa so you could see the persons image when they used the bathroom. There was no computer in the room if that is still offered. I didn't need one so I never inquired. The front clerk was very friendly. My only complaint was the valet service. There was never anyone out front and no parking to pull over by the entrance. We finally found parking and did not use the valet service. Overall it was a lovely hotel that I would return to.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hi pepmo17,

I am glad you enjoyed your stay in one of our Lorien Suites with the classic claw foot tub. We no longer offer in-room computers, as they were removed from the guest rooms earlier this year. I am sorry our valet team members were not present when you arrived and that our guest vehicle zone was full at the time.

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    146
    52
    12
    5
See reviews for
141
324
77
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hyde Park, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at the Lorien Hotel for one night while passing though the Washington/Alexandria area for one night. We usually stay in Hilton/Hyatt/Marriott chain type places, so the Lorien was a good change of pace.

Hotel Lobby/Checkin: Very clean and friendly staff! They have a nightly "happy hour" with complementary wine and snacks from 5-6pm, so was a nice break right after check in.

Room: Again, very clean and different. Our King room was on the smaller side, with room for the king bed and a little more. The bathroom was large with a large shower (no tub). The door to the bathroom was a little strange however. It slid close, but not as much privacy as a normal door, as it didn't really close all the way. Not a huge deal, but some might not like.

Location. Towards the end of the Alexandria King street old town area. About a 20 min walk to the water front, but there was a free shuttle that ran every 15 min or so.

All in all, a very nice hotel. Not sure if I'd agree with others in that it was the nicest I've ever been to, but would stay again for the right price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hello steve7515,

I am glad you stepped out of your comfort zone and gave us a try. I was pleased to note you enjoyed interacting with our friendly staff and that you joined us for our complimentary wine hour in the lobby. We do offer different room types at varying price points, and all of our rooms do feature a modern bathroom door.

We look forward to your next visit,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel on and off for several weeks. If you are used to the Kimpton then this hotel can be a bit disappointing. The Palomar and the now Meridian are better choices for Washington DC. You only stay at the Lorien because you need to be in or near Old Town and need access to the Metro which is a short walk away. The lobby is tiny, very little common space for a 4 star hotel. If you stay in the most affordable room, the bed occupies nearly 75% of the space of the room. The bathrooms are really large for no particular reason. Mostly shower only, which I found really annoying. If you have such a huge bathroom why can't you add a tub? As another reviewer says water gets everywhere. I skipped housekeeping for one day and the carpeting started to smell like wet dog, which explains why housekeeping scents the room daily. I found service by the staff to be spotty. I think the staff is getting more disgruntled lately.

For a Kimpton, the Lorien is subpar, but I am still very loyal to this brand and will always choose to stay at a Kimpton whenever they available.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Hello Racer9080,

We have varying sized guest rooms, so in some cases there is a little less floor space, and to tie in to our spa like atmosphere, we dedicated some additional space to our bathrooms. We do offer standard bathtubs in our two bedded rooms, or you can opt for one of our suites that feature a classic claw foot tub. I am sorry your bathroom floor became wet; I will look into this. Please accept my apologies if you feel our staff have not been as friendly and accommodating as they used to be.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We arrived late in the evening, and everyone was still chipper and friendly, so that was nice after a long drive from Boston-- no condescending or tired can't-be-bothered attitude. Check-in was smooth and quick, which was much appreciated. We mentioned the word of the month from the Kimpton InTouch facebook page which got us complimentary valet parking AND breakfast for two at Brabo! That was a huge bonus. Plus, free wi-fi if you're an InTouch member (worth joining for), and I received the Wall Street Journal just as I had requested in my profile. The hotel was immaculate, and the room was nice and spacious, as well as clean. The bathroom had a sliding door, which didn't offer much privacy, but that was fine. The AC did blow directly at the beds, which was a little uncomfortable at night, but not a big deal.
The hotel is really conveniently located at the end of King St, within walking distance of all the shops and restaurants in Old Town Alexandria. Overall, it was very enjoyable, and the little perks of the loyalty program were way better than the others where you have to collect points, etc. All the attention to detail was much appreciated!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Hello fuzzbrain,

I was pleased to note you received very friendly and accommodating service from our entire staff, and that you enjoyed so many Kimpton perks. I am sorry about the positioning of the AC vent and the modern design of our bathroom door. It is certainly nice to walk around Old Town and enjoy all the boutique shops, or hop on the Metro just two blocks away.

We look forward to your next visit,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanaa, Yemen
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Lorien on a short trip through Washington, DC. The service is impeccable and the simple rooms are well appointed. We opted for the Spa Bathroom with the bear claw tub and highly recommend it. The Lorien also has wonderful dining options and a beautiful spa on premise. We will definitely be going back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Hi alleydw,

I am glad you and your wife received excellent service from our team and enjoyed our upgraded spa bathroom. If you couldn’t make it to each restaurant, please keep up the visits; we feature BRABO, the BRABO Tasting Room & The Butcher’s Block.

See you soon,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

When we decided to make the trip by car to FL from the northeast instead of plane, we really wanted something more than the run-of-the-mill Inns... Hampton, Springhill, Residence, etc. -- when traveling with 3 kids, this can be a challenge!
The Lorien was our first stop. What an amazing beginning. The hotel is clean, friendly and very metropolitan. As the kids (10 &under) entered the room, they were oohing and awing the space, most especially the bathroom. It's huge! With a giant walk in shower and no door! We arrived late, ordered room service and were served great dishes at 10PM! Most importantly, the beds...so comfortable! King room with a living room, pull out sofa and a roll-a-way bed, and there was still plenty of room to move around the room. Amazing spa and great gym. We look forward to exploring this town but returning to this hotel or another "Kimpton" brand hotel soon.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly. Don't use and online travel site. Tell them your travel needs. Join th...
See more room tips
Green Features: Clean & cool common areas. Very comfortable to sit, read, catch up on emails, etc
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Hi MMdeluca,

I am thrilled that your family of five enjoyed your stay in one of our suites, and that your children really liked the massive bathroom. It sounds like you had quite the vacation before you ever reached Florida; room service dinner, a trip to the spa…

Perhaps we will see you on the way back up,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Spent two nights in this lovely hotel. Very clean, loved the linens and wonderful bathrooms. Nice staff. They even went out of their way to mail my daughter's camera BACK to us, after we accidentally left it there! Overall...we couldn't have asked for more!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Hello Kebby5,

I am happy to read you enjoyed so many aspects of your guest room, and that we were able to reunite your daughter with her camera. Hopefully there are some pictures of the hotel on it!

See you soon,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1600 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#1 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Old Town Alexandria, our luxury boutique hotel is a collaborative dream. Renowned interior designer Vicente Wolf created a space that is reflective of the past and grounded in modern sensibilities. Combined with the stylish calm of our spa, our destination restaurant, BRABO by Robert Wiedmaier, a striking environment and the amenities expected of a Kimpton Hotel, Lorien Hotel & Spa unites the elegance of yesteryear with the comforts of modern-day living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorien Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.