We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sweet Suite Deal
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Normal, Illinois
1 review
“Spa Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I was in DC to attend a wedding and chose the Lorien based on reviews and its website. The location is great, and so many cute shops and restaurants within easy walking distance. Excellent staff - very helpful with recommendations and advice, clean spacious accommodations, great room service, and the relaxing spa made the stay very enjoyable. Loved the extras available, too. 5-star in my mind - I'll definitely be back in a future stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Hi 61761,

I am glad you developed your own special weekend, including a trip to our Spa, while attending a wedding in DC. It’s nice to note you received excellent service from our staff, and had the time to walk about Alexandria and take in all the great shops and restaurant choices.
Hopefully you won’t have to wait until another wedding to return!

Cordially,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    146
    52
    12
    5
See reviews for
141
324
77
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Great service and very relaxing! Lots of great restaurants and shops within walking distance, spa services and fitness center are amazing, as is the Tasting Room restaurant on site! The staff we interacted with were very courteous, friendly and helpful. Overall, one of the best hotel stays we've had.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hi ami p,

Another Happy Anniversary to you! I was delighted to note you enjoyed your experiences in our spa and fitness center. Yes, our BRABO Tasting Room is such a cozy place to have a relaxing but gourmet meal.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Lorien right before Christmas and loved it. The location was fabulous, the dinner we had at their restaurant was so fun and good, and the room was very comfortable. The staff was great and were very accommodating with my specific room requests.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
HelloChaz717,

I am pleased you enjoyed your dinner in BRABO, and that you found our staff to be helpful relative to your needs. King Street is certainly an easy street to casually walk, and the Metro is very close to the hotel.

We look forward to your next visit,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The Lorien Hotel was wonderful. I can't say enough. The room was beautiful. The bed was so comfortable! The location is great. The staff were amazing especially the valet and spa. Looking forward to being able to go there again. And the food for room service dinner was 5 stars!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hi wcr5,

Sounds like you had a relaxing stay; a trip downstairs to the Spa, then a great room service dinner prepared by our restaurant BRABO! I am glad you enjoyed our King Street location as well.

We await your return,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

What a fantastic boutique hotel. A welcome change from the big chain I normally stay at while on business trips.

Everyone from the reservation process through checkout was extremely friendly and helpful. The manager even had a complimentary bottle of wine waiting for us when we got to the room.

The room (# 610) was wonderful. King bed, easy chair, small desk, and a fantastic bathroom with a large claw foot soaking tub and separate shower.

Right off the room, accessed by french doors was a huge terrace with a couch, chair and coffee table. It was very private. We loved sitting out there with the bottle of wine in the evening. it was also lovely in the morning for coffee and reading - at least until the sun came up over the building and warmed it up.

The only thing I found lacking was no coffee maker in the room. But then i did find you could request one if desired.

The hotel is also only about a 5 minute walk to the King Street Metro station which makes it quite convenient for travel into DC. This station serves the blue and yellow lines. (previously I stayed at the Hilton and used the Metro to attend a conference at the Wash DC convention center).

All the staff we dealt with were very friendly and helpful.

if you love really good coffee, walk down King street a few blocks to Killer ESP Coffee Shop.

Room Tip: Room # 610 is great! especially for a couple. It's a corner room with a huge, private terrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hello thinkshift,

Thank you for giving us a try! I am glad you made the most of your room, especially the part about lounging on the huge private terrace. I was pleased to note you found our staff to be accommodating to your needs. Yes, the Metro is certainly a quick walk from the hotel, which makes accessing DCA airport and DC very convenient.

We look forward to your next visit,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed for the third time at this delightful boutique hotel in the heart of wonderful Alexandria. It is a short walk to great shops and restaurants, as well as to The D.C. Metro. The hotel experience is consistently excellent. as a Kimpton InTouch member, we get early notices of special pricing and always met nice touches such as room location, pillow types etc. The Lorien always gets this right and the quiet atmosphere is welcomed. the happy hour of wine or beer is a great touch and this stay was unique. In honor of the cherry blossoms, the hotel provided saki as an option. Such special touches abound here. The happy hour includes tastes of flat bread pizzas from attached restaurant Brabos. We recommend that restaurant or the other attached wine bar/ restaurant as well. the rooms are modern and surprisingly functional. bright in the day and quiet in the evening. A great place for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hello ggl12618,

I appreciate you being a repeat guest of ours, as well as a Kimpton InTouch member. I am glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the Fuji apple sake; it was like adult apple juice. No wonder ever body loved it. I was nice to see you were able to take advantage of our central location so you could enjoy Old Town and DC.

See you soon for you next weekend getaway,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Lorien hotel is located in the heart of King Street, a prime location for indulging in the cultural sights and sounds of Old Town Alexandria. It is so convenient to shop, dine at the numerous restaurant options or take the train to DC attractions, all within easy walking distance of the hotel. Upon my arrival, the hotel staff was efficient and friendly and check in was quick. There is no self parking at the hotel and valet cost is $30 per day. Its easier to enter King street from the direction of the Train Station to ensure you are on the same side as the hotel and can easily valet your car. The valet service was quick and efficient and each of the valet attendants were warm and friendly. The hotel itself has an old world charm on the outside, but modern aesthetic on the inside. The rooms are trendy and fashionable and my room was equipped with a flat screen t.v. and a desktop computer to access information about the hotels amenities, the city of Alexandria and also to surf the internet. The room was spacious and well decorated with a comfortable bed and large spacious bathroom. Overall, the hotel was extremely charming and the location makes it a top notch choice for staying in the DC area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hi AngeliqueCPA,

I am pleased you enjoyed our ideal location on King Street which is near the Metro, as well as great boutique shopping and a variety of restaurants. I am glad you enjoyed the service you received from our entire valet staff, and that you enjoyed the décor of our guest rooms.

We look forward to you next visit,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1600 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#1 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Old Town Alexandria, our luxury boutique hotel is a collaborative dream. Renowned interior designer Vicente Wolf created a space that is reflective of the past and grounded in modern sensibilities. Combined with the stylish calm of our spa, our destination restaurant, BRABO by Robert Wiedmaier, a striking environment and the amenities expected of a Kimpton Hotel, Lorien Hotel & Spa unites the elegance of yesteryear with the comforts of modern-day living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorien Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.