We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel - Especially for Business” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates from $119
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel - Especially for Business”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Really loved my first trip here to the Alexandria area. Nice place to visit and the Lorien is right in the center of all the great sights - right on King Street. I walked almost everywhere nearby to eat and shop, on the hours I wasn't working. It's a great spot for business travel - very comfortable home & office away from home. Front desk staff was super helpful when I received not one but 4 shipments to my room. Really comfy Kimpton beds with great choices in pillows. Wine reception every night (free wine) and lots of fun local ideas to make your trip a little more enjoyable. The room service was amazingly delicious and promptly on-time. HIGHLY recommend this place!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    156
    55
    12
    5
See reviews for
147
338
77
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, NC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

This hotel is a standout--particularly at its price point. The staff is welcoming and work really hard to give you a great experience. The night before my stay, a staff member emailed me to say they had secured me a room to my preferences (away from the elevator and with feather pillows). This is a service for members of their free club. At 9:30 that night, I emailed back and asked if I could have a neck roll pillow in my room. I immediately received a reply! Upon checking in the next day, I was offered a glass of wine. So nice! When I went up to my room, I noticed that the neck roll was missing (even though they had mentioned it at check in). On my way out to dinner, I told the front desk. They apologized and promised to send one up right away. When I returned to my room, not only were the pillows there but also a HANDWRITTEN note of apology along with a bottle of wine. I LOVE this hotel and plan to stay there each time I'm in town for business. I always have a GREAT experience.

Room Tip: Join their Kimpton Club and they will record and save your special requests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We decided to break away from the cool breezes of our home in the mountains to travel to sultry Alexandria, VA over the July 4th holiday.
Yes, it is worth the trip to the Lorien any time of the year. This boutique hotel welcomes us as if we were family..maybe even better..since we do not always like our family members. The location on King Street was key to the decision because my husband loves a walking town. The Spa is my reason for the selection of the hotel. The Free King St. Trolley was huge attraction for my husband because you can get on and off without any transfers or tickets. The Spa is a first-rate treatment sanctuary tucked into the lower level of the building. We found a lovely garden spot and ate our continental breakfast outside. This is not a chain hotel with stamped and molded staff. Nor is is it more bang for your buck room. The Lorien is your escape from your prudent,rational, ordinary, fuddy-duddy life! The reality is share a dream and have a rapturous get-a-way weekend with your special someone!

Room Tip: Arrive early for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We got a special rate through an online service, and were only slightly concerned that it was a "pet-friendly" hotel, fearing that barking might disturb us. But from the welcome glass of wine when we arrived to the helpful front desk who made us dinner reservations at the BEST seafood place in town (Hank's Oyster Bar), it was really perfect. The Metro was a few blocks away, and the trip into DC was easy at all hours. It was also nice to get out of the bustle of Washington and into the cozy streets of Alexandria. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Lorien for my birthday. We had massages in the spa (wonderful), dinner at Brabo (good but not great - loved the appetizers, desserts, and wine), and in-room breakfast the next day. I loved the look of the hotel, and we have no complaints about the staff. Recommend strolling down King Street from the Lorien to the river.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, CT
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Stayed here via priceline for four days. Think W Hotel and you have the concept of the Lorien. The not so good: Signed up for frequent stay account on the Lorien website and entered stay preferences, etc and the information was not received. Therefore, our first room was not acceptable(parlor door) and second room was the size of a thimble. I must thank Danielle for coming to our room to show us available options. After some research, we were happy in our new room. She was very helpful and went out of her way to please. The good: What's nice about the location is you feel as though you're on a quiet side street when in reality the Hotel is downtown.
Walking to all the restaurants and shops is a breeze. Parking is valet only, so keep that in mind. The Hotel is a great base to visit D.C.(20 minutes) and the National Harbor area. If you've haven't visited Alexandria, you are in for a treat. We enjoyed our visit and our stay at the Lorien. We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Stayed here for a girlfriend getway with my best friend and we were treated like VIP guests. From the personal greatings upon arrival, until the arrangement of car services and shuttles upon leaving, we were treated to a exquisite experience. I highly reccomend the terrace suites. They have beautiful views of Old Town Alexandria....great for having breakfast or an evening cocktail. All of the staff are professional and friendly They really understand high level customer service. We also had a great experience with our spa services. The massages and facials were magnificent.. Lastly, you simply must try the restaurant Brabo. We ate dinner there the first night and didn't want to eat anywhere else during our stay. The menu options are a Belgian journey into flavor and texture.

Lisa

Room Tip: Ask for the terrace suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1600 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#1 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Old Town Alexandria, our luxury boutique hotel is a collaborative dream. Renowned interior designer Vicente Wolf created a space that is reflective of the past and grounded in modern sensibilities. Combined with the stylish calm of our spa, our destination restaurant, BRABO by Robert Wiedmaier, a striking environment and the amenities expected of a Kimpton Hotel, Lorien Hotel & Spa unites the elegance of yesteryear with the comforts of modern-day living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorien Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.