We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Home for the Holidays
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
ny
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“excellent customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

Upscale, boutique hotel with excellent customer service. The staff remembers your name when you check in and bends over backwards to fulfil all requests. Danielle and Omar were exceptional. They made us feel like we were the only guests at the hotel! The wine hour from 5-6 (free wine) is a welcome treat. The reading room and outdoor fire place are very relaxing. I highly recommend this hotel. We will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    160
    56
    12
    5
See reviews for
148
341
78
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

The Lorien Hotel and Spa is pure perfection, the perfect getaway while visiting D.C. I had a wonderful stay. Beautiful interiors, very good service, and excellent dining too. Danielle France - aanerud made checking in a delight. I will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

This is a return trip for me to the Lorien Hotel and Spa. The accomodations, staff, atmosphere and ammeneties are outstanding. Superb quality at a competitive price. I would recommend anyone staying in the Alexandria area, be it for business or leisure, to stay at the Lorien.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

We stayed at the Lorien Hotel for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The entire staff, especially Mitch, Bobby, Omer and Jonathan, went out of their way to make our visit as enjoyable as possible. They were professional and always focused on doing whatever they could to meet our needs and make us feel special. The room was very nicely appointed and clean. The food and service in the Brabo restaurant was also very good. Right up to the hotel manager, Lee Seiler, we felt welcome and in a place where the guests came first.

Room Tip: Look at the eStandby upgrade offers emailed to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

even at the best hotels there is always something a little bit wrong. not this time.
my room was immaculate, comfortable, and aesthetically pleasing.
everything worked! the televisions, the shower, the thermostat...and it was oh, so quiet.
the staff was wonderful and four of us had dinner at brabo, the restaurant connected to the hotel, and we all thought the food and service were great.
going back in two weeks with my husband and i can't wait.

Room Tip: suite was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorienHotelManager, General Manager at Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
Dear kdks99,

Thank you very much for your posting on TripAdvisor. The staff at the Lorien completely agree with you when you wrote "it should always be like this" and this is what we try to acheive daily. We very much look forward to you coming back with your husband!

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Everything about our stay at the Lorien Hotel and Spa was perfect, except the weather. The room was stylish, the bed comfortable, the iPod dock worked as it should, the hotel restaurants were excellent (especially enjoyed the more casual one), and most of the all the service was flawless, whether at the front desk, the bell staff, or the car valet. If the staff don't truly enjoy working at the Lorien and pleasing guests then they are amazing actors. Be prepared to pay for parking though. Street parking is meter only, and the hotel's valet service isn't cheap.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorien-FOM, Manager at Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2011
Dear Brucenyc,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us at the Lorien Hotel and Spa! I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that our team was able to take great care of you. Please know we are always here for you when choose to spend time at your home away from home!

Warm regards,

Lee Seiler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massillon, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

We stayed at the Lorien on the 16th of April. We made a weekend excursion to the dogfish head brewery in Delaware and this was a great way to round off our trip. First off, this was our first time in Alexandria and it was very pretty. I think they could do more with what they have. The town should embrace their history. Instead, the welcome center or Ramsey house (oldest house in Alexandria) is nothing more than a pamphlet outlet with vending machines.
Pros: We arrived at the hotel and the guy working at the front desk was very nice. He allowed us to carry our own luggage to the room. This hotel is very modern looking and very clean. Kimpton has a wine reception from 5-6 and we definitely took advantage. This hotel is also pet friendly. We asked for ice and instead of telling us where to go since they do not have ice machines, they brought it to our room within minutes (at 11 o clock at night). The front desk was very helpful with dinner recommendations although they do push the restaurants on premises which is understandable since it's the number one rated place to eat according to tripadvisor. We called the front desk for coffee around 11 in the morning and were willing to pay for the large pot of coffee but was quickly called back and told that we could get free java downstairs. The day we were departing, we asked for a late checkout and they were so accommodating that they allowed us to stay until 2 o'clock. VERY nice considering it rained the entire day before and didn't get to enjoy the site seeing and wanted to squeeze it in.
Cons: The only complaint we had which is extremely minor is that the location that they have the wine reception is quite small. One family took up the entire sitting area and we had to sit next to the front desk.
FYI -- if you are looking for a great brunch, try Murphy's Pub. It's on King street within walking distance. Mimosa's & Steak and eggs for $9. You can't beat it! Especially since Alexandria seemed pretty yuppie and the other restaurants seemed to charge $15+ for breakfast.
Thanks to the Lorien for the great stay!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorien-FOM, Manager at Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2011
Dear OHTransplant3,

Thank you so much for nice comments! We definitely take pride as team here to make sure all of our guests are very well taken care of and experience a warm and friendly stay! Great comments all around and thanks again for sharing!

Warm regards,

Lee Seiler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1600 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#1 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#1 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Old Town Alexandria, our luxury boutique hotel is a collaborative dream. Renowned interior designer Vicente Wolf created a space that is reflective of the past and grounded in modern sensibilities. Combined with the stylish calm of our spa, our destination restaurant, BRABO by Robert Wiedmaier, a striking environment and the amenities expected of a Kimpton Hotel, Lorien Hotel & Spa unites the elegance of yesteryear with the comforts of modern-day living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorien Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.