We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel but TERRIBLE television reception” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle to your Saves list
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2345 Mill Road, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Eisenhower East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel but TERRIBLE television reception”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

I am a frequent traveler and have stayed at many Marriott properties over the past several years. For being "just" a Residence Inn, this hotel is very nice, mostly due to the newness of the property. Like another reviewer indicated, the breakfast area can be very noisy and crowded in the morning. I love the in-room kitchenette complete with full-size fridge, microwave, dishwasher, and two burner stove. However, there is a very big BUYER BEWARE for this property. The satellite dish television service is TERRIBLE and has been so for the past 2 months (or even longer). If you enjoy watching TV, this is NOT the hotel for you. The picture stays good for about 30 minutes tops and then switches to all kinds of pixilated images. If you don't care about any of the local channels, then you are OK but it is impossible to watch any of the local channels. It is not just my room – several colleagues have the same problem and other guests are complaining. This is a known problem and the hotel will tell you repeatedly that "they are sorry and are working on it." After two months of staying at this hotel, I am extremely frustrated and bewildered that a hotel that is less than 6 months old could have this problem. Other than the TV service, it is a very nice hotel with a boutique-like feel. Also, the walls must be very thick because I have never had an issue with noise. Just beware of the TV reception and you'll enjoy this hotel -- it all depends what is important to you.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    104
    28
    7
    1
See reviews for
94
75
25
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ohio
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

the hotel is new and clean. the staff was friendly. free breakfast was excellent except always a very crowded dining area. they have lounge chairs and sofas in the dining room which could be better served with more chairs and tables for dining, especially when the hotel is booked to near capacity. overall a nice hotel if you can deal with one very annoying thing. parking is terrible. it is a small 3 floor parking garage that is very tight for everything except compact cars. every night it was an ordeal to park a midsized rental car. they let their employees park there and told me as a guest, that i could park in the public lot across the street. I also had a problem with management. I was using a marriott gift card to pay the bill. Well, they charged the gift card to hold the funds rending the card with a balance of zero, and then still charged my credit card. When I called a few days later to settle the bill, the staff was very professional and said a manager has to adjust the account and would call me back. No one ever called.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
1,006 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,188 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

Having stayed at one Residence Inn on another vacation, we thought we would give this new hotel a try. We were very happy we did. It had all the amenities one would want or need for a vacation. Since it is new, everything was in excellent in shape, and the staff couldn't have been more professional. This hotel was a bit farther out than the other R Inn, in Alexandria, VA. But it was very quiet (an occasional blast from the Metro train is the only sound we heard). Everything surrounding the hotel is clean, quiet, almost too perfect. LOL. Our room consisted of a large bathroom (toilet, shower) and then a separate sink area that had plenty of space to put your toiletries. An open space shelf, 2 drawers, and 2 small cupboards. A closet sits right behind this area, which has a full size mirror for doors. A luggage rack, plenty of hangars, and bedding for the pull out couch, and iron/board are in the closet for your convenience. The bed is a king (this was a suite), with lovely linens, and plenty of pillows. You can request different pillow choices online. The nightstand had 3 drawers, all roomy, with a clock/radio and good lighting for bedtime reading. Two large windows (that do not open)to look out of. Cool, red, modern sofa bed, along with an end table and a small coffee table. A 3 drawer dresser with the flat screen TV. Two person kitchen table, and a very large ergonomic desk/chair. The room has excellent lighting. Kitchen has all the tools you could imagine-pots/pans, dishes, utensils, salt/pepper/popcorn/coffee/tea/sugar/creamer, silverware, mxing bowls, measuring cup, glassware, coffee cups, cutting board, dish cloth/towels, paper towels, cutting knives..I am sure I am forgetting something. Kitchen has full size frig, 2 burner stove, microwave, dishwasher ( with soap). Sink, coffeemaker, toaster. Good locks, lights, plugs, clock, TV, shower pressure, bathroom fan, hair dryer, heat, shades ---all worked well.

The hotel has a lovely breakfast, as the previous reviewer describes.

A very small game room, which has a TV and games, though I never saw anyone using it. The computer room has 2 computers for public use, as well as printer, for free. The computers are a bit slow and tend to disconnect. I did inform the hotel desk of this. There is a fire going in the fireplace in the lobby, as well as another large TV. Parking is $15 a night, however, all of the other hotels in the area charge this amount or more, as I checked quite extensively. However, if you are a government employee (federal, state, local), you park for free, be sure and bring your ID. Parking is via an underground garage located right under the hotel, which is strictly accessed by employees and guests only. Elevator goes right from garage to your floor. The staff were very helpful, informative, and did everything that we asked of them. The shuttle took us to the Metro station every day, and picked us up within a few minutes, with a phone call. The Metro station is also about 3 blocks away if you want to walk. (Eishenhower Station). The shuttle will also take you to Old Town Alexandria for free, be sure and ask for the available times, however. They have great AAA 3 day getaway deals!

I highly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure, or both. Tip: They take pets, though I am not aware of their deposit, which is non-refundable. There is a small pet park right behind the hotel and around the corner!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

My husband and I stayed at this hotel last weekend, and we both thought this hotel surpassed what we had been expecting. The hotel is brand new, and everything was in excellent shape. The room was spacious and very well maintained. The room contained a nice comfortable bed, a flat screened television, a spacious bathroom, a well appointed kitchen area, and a spacious sofa area. This hotel is the first I have stayed at in the area that is exercising security measures such as only allowing guests access to the floor they are on. The breakfast was also the best I have seen at any hotel; there was a buffet style hot-breakfast to include eggs, sausage, potatoes, cereal, bagels, fresh fruit, and of course, coffee and juices. They even had the individual packets of flavored coffee creamer that I absolutely love. My one problem with this hotel is that they charged us $15 to park in their parking garage. I would advise others to park in an open spot on the street for free. This hotel was absolutely wonderful and we will stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
106 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

It's hard to talk about this hotel without getting hyperbolic. Great location, huge rooms, new and clean. A great breakfast, and the best fitness center I've seen in the chain. Great for solo travelers or families. Not much to walk to around the hotel, and I don't care for paying for parking, but it's all worth it. This is simply the best RI I've ever stayed at, and I've logged some serious Marriott time over the years.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

My husband and I stayed at this hotel January 15-23. We were there for the Inauguration and the hotel was packed almost the entire time. I thought the hotel handled the crowd with style.

I must say that a lot of thought and details was put into building this new hotel. The suites were spacious, very clean (hotel is 2 months old), granite countertops in kitchen and bathroom, stainless steel appliciances, microwave, stovetop...etc. We were in a one bedroom but plan on returning during the summer with grandkids and will stay in their spacious two bedroom suite (huge!) We asked to view the two bedroom for our future visit and it is wonderful! A huge plus is that this Residence Inn has King size beds where most only carry Queen.

The folks at the front desk were polite, helpful and went out of their way to be accomodating. They greeted you with hello and a smile whether you were coming or going.

The metro was within walking distance which was important since we didn't rent a car. The hotel shuttle was available to transport to Old Town Alexandria as well as nearby restaurants and the metro station. They were also a phone call away to pick you up from those locations.

The breakfast was standard fare for Marriott hotels (meat, eggs, toast, make your own waffes, juice and coffee). The evening social was very adequate which meant we saved money by not eating out as much. The amount of food for breakfast and evening was plentiful even with the large crowd.

The business center has two stations...very nice computers but they seemed to be slow or down for short periods of time. The connection in our room worked fine though (free). There was also a gameroom with another flat screen TV (another was in the Breakfast room) with a Wii connected. This seemed to be a big hit for the many children.

One more thing - Alexandria and Old Town are wonderful! My only regret is that we didn't plan a couple of days to tour them.
We will return soon and Residence Inn at Carlyle will be our first choice.

I will also add that this is a very peaceful setting. If you're looking for the constant nightlife at your fingertips, this one probably isn't for you even though those type of things are a metro ride away.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

By far....the best hotel in Alexandria, and the finest Residence Inn I have had the pleasure of staying at. BRAND NEW and great service! Nice job everyone, and thank you!

  • Liked — Brand new with terrific service!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle

Address: 2345 Mill Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Eisenhower East
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#6 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#19 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the growing Carlyle neighborhood just outside of historic Old Town Alexandria, Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle provides the perfect accommodations for corporate and leisure travelers visiting the Washington, D.C. Area. This 15 floor hotel features 181 studio, one- and two- bedroom suites including complimentary Internet access and fully-equipped kitchens. Additional on-property amenities include 1,025 sq. Ft. Of meeting space, state-of-the-art fitness center, 24-hour market, complimentary WiFi in rooms and public areas, and business center with print, copy, scan, and fax services. Along with well-appointed accommodations, guests enjoy complimentary daily hot breakfast and evening social hours (Monday-Wednesday, 6:00pm to 7:30pm). Ideal for extended stays, guest laundry facilities and pet-friendly rooms are available. This Alexandria, VA hotel is conveniently located near two Metro stations, offering easy access to key area businesses and leading downtown Washington, DC destinations. The hotel provides complimentary shuttle service to the Metro and Old Town Alexandria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South At Carlyle Hotel Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.