We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2345 Mill Road, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Eisenhower East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The best!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed here to visit family and loved it!! The staff was excellent, shuttle service convenience and such a walkable area. Most pleasant stay we have ever had in northern Virginia!! Highly recommend if visiting this area....will stay here again and again!!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory G, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at my hotel. You have joined a growing group of travelers that are discovering our walkable area. I am extremely proud of my staff for delivering you such excellent service and I look forward to sharing your comments with them. Once again thank you for the high recommendations and for joining the club of so many people that make our hotel their first choice when visiting the Washington DC area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    75
    17
    5
    0
See reviews for
76
59
21
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
millstone nj
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed at this property for 3 days, overall was a good experience. Nothing over the top, the room was very clean, but pretty basic. Although we did not use it, there was a small kitchen and sitting area. Bathroom was clean. The hotel was sort of basic but supplied a breakfast. OK, not the best but more than enough, clean, make your own waffles, hot coffee, cereal, a few hot items etc. If you want something special, find a nearby restaurant. A free shuttle supplied to the Metro and surrounding area. My only complaint was a front desk clerk on Sat. night at 6:30 pm sound asleep at the front desk, and I mean out like a light. After finally getting her to wake up, she seemed dazed, crabby and half out of it, mind you this was not in the middle of the night. Otherwise, front desk was helpful and courteous. Got a good price thru Hotels.com, so overall very acceptable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory G, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share how pleasant your stay was at my hotel, and I also thank you for providing me the opportunity to improve. I was pleased to hear about how the cleanliness and helpfulness was for your stay and that you received an acceptable value for the good price. Once again thank you and I look forward to seeing you again when you return for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This had to be the cleanest hotel that I have seen in a long long time. The staff could not have been more courteous and helpful! Great location and great price! Thanks to all for an enjoyable stay!! Would have loved to have the option of valet parking. I have a hard time paying $18 a day for parking when I am paying for the hotel room and there is no valet. Where else am I supposed to park but the hotel?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory G, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for writing such a great review of our hotel. I am very proud of my staff for providing the cleanliness and courteous service that you received. I look forward to sharing your feedback with them. It is that same cleanliness and helpfulness that has so many customers such as yourself making our hotel their first choice when visiting the DC area. Once again thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This was an excellent option. I was fortunate to find a Groupon for it, which made it even better. The hotel is easily accessible to the interstate and easy to find. The room was a studio, 1 king bed that was very clean, spacious and comfortable. The kitchenette was stocked with dishes and flat ware, as well as a full-size refrigerator. The bathroom was nice. Staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast had plenty of choices of high quality.

I called the morning of check-in to confirm the reservation. The staff reported that the reservation was booked in their system to be the next day. I told them that was incorrect and the gentleman quickly fixed it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory G, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you very much for the fantastic compliments you provided about my hotel and staff. I am glad that you discovered the high value of our hotel offerings; just as so many other customers have discovered too. It is due to experiences just like yours that makes our hotel the first choice for so many repeat customers that visit the Washington DC area. Once again thank you, and I look forward to accommodating you again when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Had the occasion of staying at this location. We were able to check in early and our requested accomodations were available. The lobby and breakfast area were well maintained and we expected the room to be the same. The room which was a one bedroom suite definitely requires both updating and maintenance. The carpeting shows evident signs of wear throughout. The furniture definitely looked like it had taken a beating. But the worst was the shower /toilet area where it required painting and defintely needed the tile to either be regrouted or replaced. Apparently from other reviews there are updated rooms, but we did not have one; too bad. The staff was very friendly. We spent very little time at the hotel so we did not use many of the amenities. If you go, request updated accomodations.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory G, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay at my hotel. Our new staff is currently in the midst of an ongoing updating phase of the hotel, and while doing so I am pleased that they delivered very friendly service to you. Once again thank you for proving us this very valuable feedback and I look forward to you experiencing our finished updated hotel on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed here with the family over Thanksgiving week. The hotel, while not located in the middle of old town Alexandria, is still close (you would need to drive to get to the tourist spots) but is within walking distance to a Whole Foods, Starbucks, etc. You are also able to walk to a metro station, but I wouldn't recommend it in the winter! There is an underground garage (costs extra but most hotels in this area charge for parking) which is a bit tight but very convenient because you can take an elevator directly up to your floor.

The rooms are very clean and updated. There was a bit of train/metro noise but not enough to bother us. I did read a few reviews complaining about small rooms but this is DC not TX or the Midwest so expect things to be a bit smaller! The breakfast was good and the dining room was large and clean. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful.

All in all I would highly recommend this hotel as a great option for families travelling to DC.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory G, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for writing such a great review about my hotel. I am very glad that you discovered how close our hotel actually is to everything. The word is getting out! I am very proud of my staff for providing you with a clean room, clean dining facilities, and friendly helpful service. I will be sure to celebrate with them the success of delivering you such good service. Thank you very much for providing a “High Recommendation” for my hotel and I look forward to accommodating you again when you return to DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

My husband and I spent one night at this hotel when we traveled to DC to celebrate our 1 yr anniversary. We booked a one room suite. The day we were checking in we called to see if we could check in early and they accommodated the request. The room was clean, well appointed and the complimentary breakfast was great. Additionally, the hotel does offer a complimentary shuttle to Old Town and the King or Eisenhower Metro station. The only down side of this property is the parking. The hotel does have a pay parking garage but there is street parking that is free on the weekends. Additionally, the AMC Hoffman Movie Theater complex is a 5-10 min walk down the street where you could park for free. There is also a new garage next to the movie theater but I'm not sure how much it costs to park there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory G, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing how much you enjoyed my accommodating staff, clean and well-appointed rooms, and great breakfast. I look forward to sharing your feedback with my team. Many customers just like you enjoy our centrally located venue that is in walking distance to so many popular destination spots and the metro. Our customers also enjoy our competitively low parking prices compared to most other DC area hotels. Once again thank you and Happy Anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle

Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South At Carlyle Hotel Alexandria
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South At Carlyle Hotel
Residence Inn Alexandria
Address: 2345 Mill Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Eisenhower East
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the growing Carlyle neighborhood just outside of historic Old Town Alexandria, Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle provides the perfect accommodations for corporate and leisure travelers visiting the Washington, D.C. area. This 15 floor hotel features 181 studio, one- and two- bedroom suites including complimentary Internet access and fully-equipped kitchens. Additional on-property amenities include 1,025 sq. ft. of meeting space, state-of-the-art fitness center, 24-hour market, and business center with print, copy, scan, and fax services. Along with well-appointed accommodations, guests enjoy complimentary daily hot breakfast and evening social hours (Monday-Thursday). Ideal for extended stays, guest laundry facilities and pet-friendly rooms are available. This Alexandria, VA hotel is conveniently located near two Metro stations, offering easy access to key area businesses and leading downtown Washington, DC destinations. The hotel provides complimentary shuttle service to the Metro and Old Town Alexandria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, Expedia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.