We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle to your Saves list
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2345 Mill Road, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Eisenhower East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #9 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Sanford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
135 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Had a great time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Check in was quick and seamless. Asked where closest metro was and was told, I just follow that bridge. Ok we'll then.. Room was nice but used to bed being separated in a residence inn, this one was in room with kitchen and living room. Frigerator made noises all night. Bed was comfortable. Hotel has nice buffet breakfast which was well stocked both days. They also had an evening gathering that really was enough food for dinner. You could even get wine. It was an ok stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    106
    28
    7
    1
See reviews for
95
77
25
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend when we were in town for the Race for Hope DC. We booked this room through a discount site and got it for far less than the average rate, so we weren't expecting a lot. We were quite surprised to find this little gem when we arrived! We were upgraded to a one bedroom apartment suite for free and it had a full kitchen and dining area. It even had a dishwasher and detergent tablets! The staff was very friendly and helped us navigate the area, providing us with metro schedules and a shuttle to the nearest terminal. We were also given maps of the local attractions (Old Town and such).

There were only two things I was a little unhappy about. First, breakfast is supposed to be included in the rate. However, they don't begin serving it until 7am. That is fairly late if you're there on business, which we were because we are race day volunteers with 6am assignments! We were instructed on their website that we could get a bagged meal to go and that was false. We asked and were told they offered no such thing. Problem is, there is absolutely nothing open for breakfast in that neighborhood at 5am either. They need to come up with a solution for travelers who need breakfast earlier! My second grievance is the parking issue. It was $18 a day to park in the hotel garage. I realize this is a problem everywhere in the DC area, but it's still absurd. These two issues are the only reason I didn't give this establishment all 5's. Overall, it was great. I would stay there again for the same price but if I had to pay their standard rate, perhaps not...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southwest Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle is a very clean, comfortable establishment. The staff was extraordinarily friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast and social hour saved us significant $ and was surprisingly good! My only complaint would be that the wine should be two glasses per guest/not per room ;).

The room was well-appointed, clean, in excellent condition. The close proximity of the King Street Metro Station made it easy to commute to the city for business and sight-seeing. Actually, the tracks run right next to the hotel, although one would never know it, because the rooms are so sound proof. Very quiet!

The staff comped our parking rate ($18/day) because we had requested a room on a low floor and by the time of our arrival, the fourth floor was as low as they could provide. We also had a problem when our wireless router burned out and could not be replaced for the duration of our stay. Again, the staff slashed our room rate. These accommodations made our stay pleasant in spite of the bumps.

I highly recommend this hotel for families, business travelers and tourists. Old Town Alexandria is a lovely stroll. Close proximity to Mt. Vernon and Arlington make this location ideal. And the Pentagon is very nearby, making it ideal for those weary business travelers.

Nice fitness area, although no pool, which could be a minus for the family with smaller children to entertain.

All in all, an excellent accommodation in the Greater DC Area!

Room Tip: All in all, I feel that any room, except for the outside curving suites, would be a good choice. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Spacious, clean and everything you would expect from a well managed Residence Inn. Free breakfast, and a short walk to Starbucks or Whole Foods if you need it. The kitchenette is handy. It's a bit of a hike from Old Town, but a quick drive puts you right in the heart of Alexandria. Unfortunately, the hotel did not have any parking available in the garage, but because it was a weekend, free street parking was widely available. It's a safe area, so no worries. Recommended and a very good value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
104 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was a very nice Residence Inn, the lobby area was very nice, breakfast room nice as well. I appreciated the fact you could buy a beer or wine at the marketplace. The rooms were nice and clean though the floors in the kitchen were sticky with my shoes-I think more from whatever the housekeeping staff uses on them. The front desk staff was very helpful. Yes, the parking is a bit strange and expensive, especially for a weekend stay. The location for me was difficult and I don;t know that I would stay there again because of it. You really could not walk to old town, especially with young children but there is a shuttle. There really weren't any restaurants that were walkable. We ordered in dinner from the Thai restaurant located nearby at the movie theater area and it was pretty good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bethlehem, PA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We had just finished up a week at the beach staying in a condo and had booked a room here on the way home. The stay did not start well. Didnt know where to park or unload at. Very confusing. And then, we found out it is $18 a day to park in the hotel garage. However, when we got to the room, it was impressive. Floor to ceiling window with a view out into Old Alexandria. Room was spacious and well decorated. Bed was comfortable. We were within walking distance of several restaurants and the hotel offers a shuttle service as well. All this plus breakfast. All things considered, this was a great place to stay in a cool neighborhood that we enjoyed walking in.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My family always stays in Residence Inns and we never really have problems. The rooms are spacious and the breakfast comes in very handy when we eat downstairs. The strange thing is, how can you be in a place with so much to see and do and the hotel, not only doesn't have a directory, but employees seem a bit incredulous that you would ask for one. You don't know even the smallest things. Like that local calls from the hotel cost 79 cents each. Also $18 a day to park! Okay. But you can park a block away for $1 a day on weekends. At the very least make a weekend price adjustment. We also didn't know about the shuttle to the grocery store...Maybe because there was no directory.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#13 of 50 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle

Address: 2345 Mill Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Eisenhower East
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#7 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#17 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the growing Carlyle neighborhood just outside of historic Old Town Alexandria, Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle provides the perfect accommodations for corporate and leisure travelers visiting the Washington, D.C. Area. This 15 floor hotel features 181 studio, one- and two- bedroom suites including complimentary Internet access and fully-equipped kitchens. Additional on-property amenities include 1,025 sq. Ft. Of meeting space, state-of-the-art fitness center, 24-hour market, complimentary WiFi in rooms and public areas, and business center with print, copy, scan, and fax services. Along with well-appointed accommodations, guests enjoy complimentary daily hot breakfast and evening social hours (Monday-Wednesday, 6:00pm to 7:30pm). Ideal for extended stays, guest laundry facilities and pet-friendly rooms are available. This Alexandria, VA hotel is conveniently located near two Metro stations, offering easy access to key area businesses and leading downtown Washington, DC destinations. The hotel provides complimentary shuttle service to the Metro and Old Town Alexandria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South At Carlyle Hotel Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.