We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle to your Saves list
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2345 Mill Road, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Eisenhower East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Upon arrival staff was very friendly. Front desk staff was very hopeful and ready to serve. Location was close to so many things to do and the van service was excellent. The driver was knowledgable and courteous. We needed a ride to Old Town and he was out front within 2 minutes. The rooms were very clean and well supplied. The beds were comfortable and sheets were clean. The rooms were well insulated which kept the noise levels down. Very enjoyable and relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Rooms located at end of hall are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    96
    24
    7
    0
See reviews for
86
65
23
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petersburg, Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My experience staying at the Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle has always exceeded my expectations. I can say this based on experience because I normally stay here 3 weeks every month and have been for a year and a half now. From the time I step into the lobby to check in to the time I check out, I can honestly say,that I cant wait to come back. The whole staff makes me feel like family and have always been there for support especially when last minute requests from my employer require me to travel to Alexandria for another week. The rooms have always been clean and I can't say enough about how comfortable the beds are which helps me feel well rested and full of energy each day. From the professionalism of the staff to the cleanliness of the rooms, this hotel has my vote as being #1 in the area. I would recommend (and have recommended) this hotel to any of my family and friends!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stay at this hotel 3 nights a week almost every week as a travelling consultant. I have been travelling like this for 15+ years, and I can truly say that this hotel and staff are tops! Great location and easy access to the DC Beltway.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnCarlyle, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Jon S,
Thank you very much for the great review! Our loyal guests are very important to us so I'm glad you find our property, location and staff top notch!
Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I stay here 2-3 times each month. The staff has always made me feel welcome and appreciated. The location is very convenient to the US Patent ad Trademark Office and to the Federal District court in Alexandria. I would not consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnCarlyle, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hello Roadwarrior D!
Thanks for the 5 star review! We value our repeat guests a great deal so to hear you say you wouldn't consider stay anywhere else is fantastic! Your comments about our staff and our location are very much appreciated!
Thanks again, and we'll see you soon.
Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I stay regularly at this hotel. The staff has been very accommodating and the friendly. The amenities, room, and morning breakfast are tops! The rooms are clean and the common areas of the hotel are maintained well. I was able to walk to either the King St. Metro Station or to the Eisenhower Station. Super Location.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The location of the hotel was within walking distance from restaurants, AMC movie theatre. The hotel provides a Shuttle service to/from the airport and to/from Metro/bus station. The room was spacious with a full kitchen(that was a plus for a family). Complimentary Breakfast is provided every morning with a different item in the menu everyday. The fitness center has a state of the art equipment s. Overall it was a good choice.Excellent customer and room service. Staff are very courteous.

Room Tip: higher floors are better as you get to have a spectacular view of some of the area monument and of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I was in town for a training class and stayed at this hotel. I found it rather cold and inpersonal with the staff more or less just doing their job and not making much of a extra step to make you comfortable. In one case more interested in talking on the phone than helping me. It is within walking distance of Duke Street and there are a few restaurants around a little closer. The breakfast is pretty standard with the powered eggs (or so they seemed) and usual breakfast fare you find in most hotels. Interesting was the evening "manager specials" the night I was there was nacho night and was quite good. Besides the $200 per night hotel charge there is the $18 parking which always annoys me. So pretty standard, nothing special.

Room Tip: try to stay away from the train side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle

Address: 2345 Mill Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Eisenhower East
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#18 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the growing Carlyle neighborhood just outside of historic Old Town Alexandria, Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle provides the perfect accommodations for corporate and leisure travelers visiting the Washington, D.C. area. This 15 floor hotel features 181 studio, one- and two- bedroom suites including complimentary Internet access and fully-equipped kitchens. Additional on-property amenities include 1,025 sq. ft. of meeting space, state-of-the-art fitness center, 24-hour market, and business center with print, copy, scan, and fax services. Along with well-appointed accommodations, guests enjoy complimentary daily hot breakfast and evening social hours (Monday-Thursday). Ideal for extended stays, guest laundry facilities and pet-friendly rooms are available. This Alexandria, VA hotel is conveniently located near two Metro stations, offering easy access to key area businesses and leading downtown Washington, DC destinations. The hotel provides complimentary shuttle service to the Metro and Old Town Alexandria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South At Carlyle Hotel Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.