We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2345 Mill Road, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Eisenhower East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

A very comfortable stay. The rooms are large (with kitchenette, table and chairs, settee and en suite). The rooms are clean and have a good view. Breakfast is fine, there's plenty and it's wholesome. The receptionists are very accommodating and extremely helpful. A very comfortable stay

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnCarlyle, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Hi UkBleep,
Thank you very much for the 5 star review! I'm glad you were able to enjoy one of our comfortable suites. I'm also happy to hear you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast. Be assured your positive comments about the staff will be shared with the team.
On behalf of everyone at the Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, thank you again.
Jim Fournier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    75
    18
    5
    0
See reviews for
76
59
21
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mercersburg, PA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at this Residence Inn since it was so close to Mt. Vernon (about 9 easy miles) and also to Old Town Alexandria. The front desk staff was very helpful. Our room was exceptionally clean and quiet. Complimentary breakfast was better than I expected. The hotel is also very easy access to Washington, DC sights. I would readily stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnCarlyle, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
JEO_1973,
Thank you very much for the 5 star review of the Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle! Your comments about the front desk staff, housekeeping service, breakfast and location are very much appreciated.
We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you to the Alexandria/DC area.
Jim Fournier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

We were in Alexandria, VA recently for a wedding. We chose to stay at the Carlyle Residence in Marriott after staying at one while traveling on business earlier in the year. We are completely sold now on the whole Residence Inn experience and philosophy. Our stay at the Carlyle Residence Inn was peaceful, comfortable, and in a perfect location. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnCarlyle, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Greetings a_johnson_young!
Thanks for the 5 star review! It's always nice to see such positive comments.
We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you to the Alexandria/DC area!
Jim Fournier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed for 2 nights.
It's the sort of the hotel that is great for business.
No hussle, no problems. Rooms have all the modcons. Very clean.
The only negative thing I can say is that the elevators take a long time to arrive

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend for his brother's wedding. The front desk staff was amazing...went over everything with us and how the shuttle service work versus the metro to go into DC. Going into DC was very easy. The hotel has comp shuttle for the local area and we used it all weekend...saved us so much in taxi fees...the drivers were SO friendly. We upgraded to a deluxe suite and was worth it the extra room and space. The hotel was in excellent condition. The staff and overall service was super!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnCarlyle, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Hi vickie73_10,

Thank you very much for the 5 star review! I'm glad you were able to enjoy our complimentary shuttle and our beautiful suites. Your kind words about the front desk and staff service overall are especially appreciated!

Thanks again, and I hope to see you again when your travels bring you to the DC/Alexandria area.

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayshore ny
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

stayed here for a girl's weekend. Room was great. Clean , well stocked with everything you need to cook. Hotel provides a schuttle that will take you to trais station, Old town and anywhere in a reasonable distance. this mad going onto DC a breeze. The entire staff was awesome but a special shout out to Pam & Eric thank you taking the time to answer all our questions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My wife and grown daughter spent the weekend and had another wonderful experience. The hotel is a short walk from two metro stations. It is clean inside and out. The rooms are geared to the business traveler and are very nice. Spotlessly clean and comfortable. The full kitchen allows us the flexability of preparing a meal ourselves when we choose. The free shuttle to Old-Town is nice for a day of shopping. The staff was friendly and helpful with suggestions about places to eat near by and activities that might appeal to us. This has become our hotel of choice when visiting the DC/Alexandria area. Its in a safe and quiet area, just nice all around.

Room Tip: The corner suite has a large curved window that has a great view and is very sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle

Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South At Carlyle Hotel Alexandria
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South At Carlyle Hotel
Residence Inn Alexandria
Address: 2345 Mill Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Eisenhower East
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the growing Carlyle neighborhood just outside of historic Old Town Alexandria, Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle provides the perfect accommodations for corporate and leisure travelers visiting the Washington, D.C. area. This 15 floor hotel features 181 studio, one- and two- bedroom suites including complimentary Internet access and fully-equipped kitchens. Additional on-property amenities include 1,025 sq. ft. of meeting space, state-of-the-art fitness center, 24-hour market, and business center with print, copy, scan, and fax services. Along with well-appointed accommodations, guests enjoy complimentary daily hot breakfast and evening social hours (Monday-Thursday). Ideal for extended stays, guest laundry facilities and pet-friendly rooms are available. This Alexandria, VA hotel is conveniently located near two Metro stations, offering easy access to key area businesses and leading downtown Washington, DC destinations. The hotel provides complimentary shuttle service to the Metro and Old Town Alexandria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, Expedia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.