We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here during "derecho" disaster in VA,MD,D.C area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle to your Saves list
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2345 Mill Road, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Eisenhower East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #9 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
El Paso, Tx
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Stayed here during "derecho" disaster in VA,MD,D.C area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Thank you so much for the stay! We were so blessed to be able to find an affordable place to stay during the storm that took out the power in this area. Very nice people working here as a team because some of their staff were unable to make it in because of this storm. Everyone pitched in to make the customers stay as stress free and clean as possible and they kept their smiles on. The place is clean, the rooms are very comfortable, but above all else, the staff is just very nice and accomodating. Thank you!

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor, the hotel was at 100% capacity and we didn't hear a thing. Hot water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnCarlyle, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Hi ElPasoTraveler,
Thank you very much for the great review! I must say the reviews we receive that focus on our team members are always the most fun to read. That was most definitely a very rough few days for many people. It's great to hear we were able to make the experience as stress free as possible.
Thank you again, and we hope to see you again soon!
Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    99
    26
    7
    0
See reviews for
90
68
25
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I cannot recommend this hotel enough! I will be here for 60 days and have only been here for 4 nights thus far, but I can tell you I fell in love with it immediately. I felt truly welcomed upon my arrival. None of the staff has treated me like a number - they've been warm, courteous, very helpful and so accommodating. Especially Mike, one of the managers, and Meagan, the Asst GM. Because of the staff's great demeanor and the feel of the place, it avoids the corporate, sterile ambience of many hotel chains..

The room I have is ultra updated, warm, inviting, clean and beautifully decorated. Plus, it has great views, one of them being of the Masonic temple. Further, it's really nice to have a full size fridge/freezer. The furniture is stylish and not dorm-esque, like many hotels I've been to.

As far as proximity, it's mere blocks from 2 metro stops: King Street and Eisenhower (and they are barely audible due to the construct of the hotel). Whole Foods is just a short, comfortable walk away. The Beltway is just a few blocks away, as is Duke St. Because it's next right next to Old Town, but not in it, there isn't much traffic in the evenings, so it's relaxing.

And you needn't be overly concerned about safety, as it's a safe area with friendly police who patrol on foot at night. The neighborhood is filled with pleasant architecture and relatively new buildings, unlike many office building/hotel areas.

Another outstanding feature is the on-demand shuttle (gratis) that will drop you off and/or pick you up within a 2-mile radius.

I opted for hotel parking, of which they have 3 underground, very well-lit, clean, secure levels. I've always been able to park in a roomy spot. Even the building itself is secure; you need a key card to use the elevators, to enter the parking area, and to enter the hotel at night.

They have breakfasts (gratis) seven days a week, as well as light dinners (gratis) during the weekdays. Coin operated laundry facilities are on site, with of course dry cleaning available.

Something that sets them apart is their grocery service (gratis). If you need just a few items, they will purchase them for you and add just the cost of the items to your final bill.

It's a great hotel in every way!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor so you can get the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnCarlyle, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Hi kiki2075,
Wow! What a great review! Thank you very much!!! I have shared your kind words with Mike, Meaghan and the team. You have so many kind things to say about the Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle!
I sincerely appreciate your taking the time to write such a wonderful review.
Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Old Town Alexandria is a beautifully kept neighborhood. It was a pleasure to stay in this quiet area while visiting the mayhem of DC. Our family of five stayed in a two bedroom suite. It was very large, modern and clean. The front desk was very accommodating. We were pleased with the mini store at the hotel which included a bar for taking drinks back to the room. We were able to walk to the subway each day for about a 20 minute ride into DC.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnCarlyle, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Greetings M M,
Thank you for your very nice review of the Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle!
Your comments about our location, room quality, front desk staff service and our always open "Market" are very much appreciated.
Thanks again, and I hope to see you soon!
Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, Utah
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This Residence Inn at Carlyle is my favorite Residence Inn. My family has stayed at many. The staff is friendly, warm and welcoming. We think of them as family because that's how they make you feel. The accomodations are pleasent to the eyes, well kept and clean. There are many perks to staying here. The complimentary wifi, two up to date computers with printer in room of the lobby, A wii and board games for kids or adults to play with in a game room of the lobby, Comfy couchs and seats to relax or sit and socialize in Lobby by a beautiful fireplace, Plenty of seating in the dinning room, coffee and tea ALL day, A small but nice gym, Laundry Room, Shuttle to take you to many sights and places in the surrounding area such as Old Town Virginia, movie theater. metro stations (metro stations are also within walking distance) and great restraunts close by. We very much enjoy the well balanced variety of the full complimentary breakfast all week, and the social with food and beverage in the evening on weekdays. It is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I recently traveled with my rather frail, elderly parents to DC to sightsee. I called the night before to confirm an accessible room. No problem. We had two 1 bedroom suites. They were roomy and well laid out for privacy, with the bathroom separate from bedroom and sink area separate from toilet/shower room. The desk staff was extremely friendly, helpful at every turn and responsive to our needs. My parents were thrilled with the visit and really appreciated the friendly service staff. I'm Platinum and asked for upgrade to 2 bedroom suite on the weekend (not available during week). It was awesome and we couldn't have been happier with our stay. I would especially like to recognize Pam, who seems to work 24 hours a day. I don't remember other names of desk staff, but kudos to all. Breakfast every day and social hour in evenings on Mon-Thurs was better than usual Residence Inn fare.
Warning, there is construction in the area. My GPS was confused a bit. I would recommend taking hotel shuttle to King Street. The driver knew short cuts to bypass the terrible traffic. That service ends at about 9 pm on weekends. We ended up walking back a little late after dinner one night (not the parents) and it was a nice walk. I know there is a metro station within walking distance but we had a car. Parking is rather expensive and the garage was full at times. We had handicap sticker so it didn't matter, but might be an issue.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnCarlyle, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Hi MaryannKC!
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle. I'm very happy we earned a five star review! I'm also happy to read the positive comments about our staff service and friendliness (I will be sure to let Pam know of your review), our complimentary breakfast/evening social, and the room quality.
Thank you again, and I hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to the Alexandria/DC area!
Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

We had a 2 bedroom suite, family of five, with 3 small children. We usually try to stay at Residence Inns for that reason. This one in particular was especially clean, well kept, and prepared. The shape of the hotel allows for the 2 BR suites to be more spacious than usual. The front desk staff is so very helpful in answering questions in regards to sightseeing the capital, Metro, etc. we chose this location outside of the city for quiet and safety, and the Metro station is only a few blocks away; which the hotel shuttle will gladly take you!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnCarlyle, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Hi Mom1Kiddoa!
Thank you for the 5 star review of the Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town at Carlyle! I certainly appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience. Safe travels, and I hope to see you again when visiting the DC/Alexandria area.

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Okay, so I travel extensively with my job. I also travel frequently with my family. I can honestly say that this hotel is always immaculate. My room is always stocked with towels, a super clean kitchen and is the next best thing to being at home.You can bring pets with a small deposit, and there is a laundry on-site for families or extended stays. There is a metro right near by, and there are plenty of restaurants and even a movie theatre within walking distance. The area is so nice and the location is perfect for Metro riders, people with children, commuters, etc. There is a great breakfast every morning, and there is also a dinner every Monday - Thursday night with cocktails. It is really a wonderful choice whether you are traveling alone or with family and pets. You cannot find a nicer staff that will greet you by name when you walk in the door the second time you stay this Residence Inn Alexandria at the Carlyle. This hotel knows the secret to great customer service.

Room Tip: Second floor is a bit noisier due to the laundry room and exercise room. BUT...it is more convenient...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnCarlyle, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Hi Dianne J!
Thank you so much for your 5 star review of the Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle! I am very happy to read such positive comments about the cleanliness, our location, amenities, complimentary breakfast/dinner and the staff service!
Again, thank you very much, and we look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you to the area.
Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle

Address: 2345 Mill Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Eisenhower East
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the growing Carlyle neighborhood just outside of historic Old Town Alexandria, Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle provides the perfect accommodations for corporate and leisure travelers visiting the Washington, D.C. Area. This 15 floor hotel features 181 studio, one- and two- bedroom suites including complimentary Internet access and fully-equipped kitchens. Additional on-property amenities include 1,025 sq. Ft. Of meeting space, state-of-the-art fitness center, 24-hour market, complimentary WiFi in rooms and public areas, and business center with print, copy, scan, and fax services. Along with well-appointed accommodations, guests enjoy complimentary daily hot breakfast and evening social hours (Monday-Wednesday, 6:00pm to 7:30pm). Ideal for extended stays, guest laundry facilities and pet-friendly rooms are available. This Alexandria, VA hotel is conveniently located near two Metro stations, offering easy access to key area businesses and leading downtown Washington, DC destinations. The hotel provides complimentary shuttle service to the Metro and Old Town Alexandria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South At Carlyle Hotel Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.