We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel close to rail service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle to your Saves list
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2345 Mill Road, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Eisenhower East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice hotel close to rail service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Very nice hotel. Decent sized, clean rooms. One of the best prices for what you get that we could find in the DC area. 2 blocks from rail station so easy to get around DC area. There is a dog park right behind the hotel. Although we did not have pets on this trip it is quite nice for folks who travel with their pets. There is very little in the way of restaurants, but many choices only 1 stop away and they also offer a shuttle service. Quiet neighborhood but the rail runs right by the hotel. We were on the 7th floor and did not notice any noise from the train.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnCarlyle, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Greetings MotoGPMan,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at our Residence Inn Alexandra Old Town South at Carlyle. Your positive comments about our rooms and shuttle are very much appreciated!

Thank you again, and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you to the Alexandria area!

Jim F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    106
    28
    7
    1
See reviews for
95
77
25
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

I recently found a $99 deal including taxes and breakfast for a studio apt at this hotel. Hard to beat that! Check in and out were quick and cordial. Room was spacious and clean. Hotel is close to large cinema complex, restaurants and metro. Wi-fi is free and fast. Hard to beat in terms of value and it served our purpose for a one night stay. Main complaint is that pillows were a bit worn out.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plesant Prairie, WI
Level Contributor
102 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

First things first: This propery passes the "clean and everything works as it should" test. Not with flying colors but few properties pass these days so that's a plus.

Here are the things to be concerned about:

1. Parking. If you're driving, it's an extra $18 per day. There are other places close to a Metro with free parking. This place isn't so spectacular or so convenient to most things that it would warrant that.

2. Shuttle. The hotel shuttle only goes to the Metro station which sounds good but not if you have a late arriving flight where you get to walk at night.

3. Location. Not near any stores or restaurants open late. If you're walking from the Metro it's doable but not really close and the walking directions I got when calling the hotel were by no means helpful. Basically you walk up the street and hang a left onto Mill and the hotel is on your left. There are steep stairs (who designed those in this day and age?) but there is also a ramp.

4. Gouging. The pantry prices are a bit steep -- like $4 for an ice cream cone drumstick! The available dinners were not well stocked.

I rated this lower because of the lack of attention to guest needs (limited shuttle schedule forcing guests to walk at night to/from Metro, no shuttle to the airport) and gouging ($18 parking fee, pantry pricing). If this isn't an issue for you, by all means stay here. And for anyone else, this isn't a bad place -- it just has those issues. If you're a light sleeper, beware of the train noise.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

We stayed here because I particpated in the MMRF 5k walk/run on November 13, 2011. The hotel is only a 6 minute walk to King St. Metro Rail and only a 6 minute walk to the Eisenhower Ave metro. The King St. Metro had the blue and yellow line and Eisenhower had only the yellow line. We were also conviently located to get to Tyson's Corner approximate travel time with all of the construction was 30 minutes. We had a room on the 9th floor and we did not hear the metro rail so there was no problem with the noise - I was surprised but, I do believe if you had lower level floor this could be an issue. The rooms were very clean, we stayed in a studio with a King size bed and a pull out bed from the sofa. The kitchen was a nice added feature, it kept our drinks cold. They had a nice breakfast: bagels, pancakes, eggs, biscuits and gravy, cereal, sausage, potatoes, yogurt, and make your own waffles. It was nice to have all of the choices-I'm not a big breakfast eater anyhow so I was happy with bananas and yogurt! :-) The only downfall was the parking- just like in Washington, DC - not a very parking friendly place. So if you have a Tahoe or Yukon beware- I wouldn't want to park in the garage below the hotel. However, we did notice a parking garage across the street for next time if you don't mind crossing the street. We paid for the entire stay for parking so we got a spot- besides we used the metro for everything except our travels to Tysons Corner.
P.S. I do believe the garage across the street was alot less than 18.00 a day that we paid at the hotel. This is typical for this area. Go to the Omni in DC and you will be paying closer to 30.00 a day for outdoor/valet parking. I would stay here again with my family.

Room Tip: If you can't deal with the noise ask for a room on the opposite side of the metro or ask for a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnCarlyle, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Hello Scuba_Nat,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel and you found the amenities and value of our property to your liking.
We hope to see you when you return to the Alexandria area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Even though we were on the 10th floor, the Metro and AMTRAK could still be heard.
Rooms are well appointed and bed was excellent quality.
Breakfast was average: Coffee warm, cereal choice poor (nothing healthy!!!)

Room Tip: If you have to decide on THIS Residence Inn, or the one at Old Town...choose the Old Town location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

This is a very nice hotel. The rooms were clean and the beds slept well. However, the weird thing about this hotel is they do not have a covered entrance or area to park upon check-in and there is very limited parking onsite. They have a very small parking garage that is often full. If you are not luck enough to get a spot in the tiny garage, you must park down the street in a city lot or find parallel parking on the street which is also very limited. If you do not have a vehicle to worry about, I recommend this hotel. If you do have a vehicle you may want to consider a different location with better parking. At night it is not ideal to have to park in an parking garage, and walk a few blocks back to the hotel. Otherwise its a great choice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Many reviews are correct about its location which has its pluses and minuses. It is not close to any convenience stores or restaurants that would be open late. I came in at 10pm and their in-hotel market did not have 90% of the frozen dinners it was supposed to have. The area is nice and close to the metro. I would have rated the hotel better but there is a problem with their ability to have hot water in the morning for a shower. The middle floor rooms are problematic. The top floors are fine and the lower floors are fine. The receptionist apologized when i called from the room in the morning. She said it is a known problem and they are going to fix it in the near future. This of course did not help me. I had to take a cold shower. The "compensation" was 10% off the rate which was not really enough to counter that frigid shower. I was not sure why they could not let me shower in a different room. That would have solved the problem.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnCarlyle, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
We appreciate the feedback as we are always looking at ways to improve our hotel. We'd love to speak to you further to discuss the issue you experienced and come up with a resolution that will exceed your expectations. Be assured, we are working to resolve the issue you experienced as soon as possible. Please contact the General Manager at the hotel directly and we'll be happy to assist. We look forward to hearing from you soon. 703-549-1155

Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#13 of 50 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle

Address: 2345 Mill Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Eisenhower East
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#7 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the growing Carlyle neighborhood just outside of historic Old Town Alexandria, Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle provides the perfect accommodations for corporate and leisure travelers visiting the Washington, D.C. Area. This 15 floor hotel features 181 studio, one- and two- bedroom suites including complimentary Internet access and fully-equipped kitchens. Additional on-property amenities include 1,025 sq. Ft. Of meeting space, state-of-the-art fitness center, 24-hour market, complimentary WiFi in rooms and public areas, and business center with print, copy, scan, and fax services. Along with well-appointed accommodations, guests enjoy complimentary daily hot breakfast and evening social hours (Monday-Wednesday, 6:00pm to 7:30pm). Ideal for extended stays, guest laundry facilities and pet-friendly rooms are available. This Alexandria, VA hotel is conveniently located near two Metro stations, offering easy access to key area businesses and leading downtown Washington, DC destinations. The hotel provides complimentary shuttle service to the Metro and Old Town Alexandria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South At Carlyle Hotel Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.