We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful cupcakes, excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lavender Moon Cupcakery

Lavender Moon Cupcakery
116 S Royal St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3328 (Old Town)
703-683-0588
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 22 Dessert in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Coffee & Tea
Neighborhood: Old Town
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“wonderful cupcakes, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

what an amazing little cupcake shop in Old Town! the taste compositions are unique, the interior of the store is tasteful and well-organized, and the staff is helpful and nice altogether. always a treat, especially compared to other - overrated - cupcake bakeries in the DC area (including in Old Town).

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    25
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Better than all the rest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

I am still dreaming of the chocolate blackberry cabernet cupcake I had earlier today. I cant even describe it, it was out of this world. my son had chocolate with peanut butter mousse. My son is 5 and did not appreciate the sophisticated mousse so I scraped it off and happily ate it myself. I had a very hard time deciding which flavor to try, they all looked yummy. This is my second time at the shop and it is quickly becoming a favorite.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Rated a 91”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Everywhere we travel my 17 year old daughter, who has been baking cupcakes since about 10 years old, tries and rates cupcakes. These must have been very good as she gave them a 91.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love this little place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Try the red velvet. The frosting was delicious. Also loved the chocolate truffle. Cute seating area. I was told all cupcakes are organic as well. I've been twice and both times had yummy cupcakes.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Decadent and *so* worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The quintessential cupcake shop with traditional and inventive options that change daily. The ladies are always gracious with their descriptions and soo pleasant. I never miss it when in town and can't walk out with out 'one for the road'. It isn't often that something looks that perfect and tastes even better.
The red velvet, vanilla and triple cholocate were our birthday celebration order but the peanut butter chocolate tasted like a Reese cup dream and the coconut macaroon didn't make it out of the store - it called for an emergency to sit down and immediately indulge! It was a tough call as there were several options for the day and the sweet potato chocolate chip and smores cupcakes looked gorgeous.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lavender Moon Cupcakery also viewed

 

Been to Lavender Moon Cupcakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lavender Moon Cupcakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.