We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the Homewood Suites by Hilton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4850 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302-1102   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 15%
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Siesta Key, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best of the Homewood Suites by Hilton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We have recently stayed at 4 Homewood Suites by Hilton and this one in Alexandria was the best. Very large suite with a gas fireplace. Full kitchen completely stocked. Great gym and spa.

Very easy to get into Washington, DC.

Only 1 complaint - this is the only location we stayed at which does not offer wine with dinner for some reason.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    85
    24
    5
    2
See reviews for
193
36
9
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at Homewood Suites Alexandria! 12 of us in my group. We stayed the week of Christmas (2013) and ended up adding an additional night at the end of our trip. The hotel was CLEAN!!! The staff was amazing...so sweet. The shuttle bus was great. Breakfast AND dinner? Wow! Both meals were delicious and plentiful. On Christmas night, of course there was no dinner provided...makes sense. But the staff allowed us to use the kitchen and the tables to enjoy our "Cuban" Christmas dinner! We even played karaoke! All 5 nights we were there, the 12 in my group enjoyed the pool table, the free hot cocoa and coffee. The spacious great room allowed for us to play monopoly and cards and we just had a great ole time! The Christmas tree was perfect for our pictures and the fireplaces were an added bonus! I can't say enough about how nice this hotel was. We will FOR SURE be back! Loved, loved, loved it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I have stayed in several Homewood Suites with my kids, and this was was very good. Breakfast was great, staff was friendly. I just didn't give 5 stars because the upkeep of the room maintenance wasn't quite on par with the quality I typically see in Homewood Suites. But I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The suite is larger than what we expected. It has spacious living room, bedroom and bathroom and a kitchenette. Although it is not very new it is well maintained and very clean. Unlike most of the hotels in Washington DC this hotel did not charge for parking and it takes only 10 minutes drive to Washington DC and 5 minutes drive to Fashion Centre at Pentagon City mall. Eatery such as TGI Friday's and MacDonald is within a walking distance. Delicious buffet breakfast is served every morning. I like the small office and the laundry facilities provided for the guests, it's very convenient.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The room was decent. They offered a free dinner with the accommodation, but the food for the most part wasn't great. Staff wasn't the best either, well, one of them. I witnessed a man getting food for his family while being taunted by the woman, who appears to be in charge of the food service staff. She kept questioning why he was taking so much food, advising him that he was being watched by the hotel management, which was a lie. She was getting a laugh at his expense, because he was a large gentleman and a pushover. Management wasn't paying attention to the amount of food he was taking, nor attention to her foolishness. I do want to mention that the rest of the staff was fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Staff - Very nice, professional and helpful.

Room - Good value for the price, large enough and was exactly as advertised.

Cleanliness - I would say there is room for improvement but overall good. While the bathroom was clean and all amenities were cleaned daily, they skipped vacuuming the floors. The carpets were dirty and it made the room smell a little odd. But the windows opened so I was able to air it out. There was a pen cap and a leaf on the floor when I arrived. 3 days later, they were still there so I picked them up and threw away. It was obvious they did not vacuum.
Food- the buffet was standard for this type of hotel/motel: fake eggs but real bacon and sausage, fresh fruit on the bar, cereal, coffee, waffel machine, large selection of 24 hr coffee tea etc, 3 juice selections each morning. But an added bonus, this property serves a dinner buffet nightly.

Extras - clean laundry room facilities with inexpensive washers and dryers, a pool table, a chess/checkers table, other family games upon request, a mini snack shop not just vending machines, fireplace with sitting area in the lobby for socializing, a deck and small pool outdoors in summer, and lots of cable channels to choose from (HBO and Showtime!).

Overall I would recommend this for long term business travelers and families.

Room Tip: They do have a handicap room but if its unavailable, ask for one on the 1st floor. While I would pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights with my wife and 2 kids (8 and 6) for a trip to dc area attractions. The rooms were modern and clean. The kids enjoyed the breakfast, especially the waffles. I left my eyeglasses after check out and they promptly found them. If you have a car, this place is a no brainier.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Alexandria

Address: 4850 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#7 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Alexandria 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Homewood Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Homewood Alexandria
Alexandria Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.