We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Alexandria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4850 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302-1102   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Westchester, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The room was decent. They offered a free dinner with the accommodation, but the food for the most part wasn't great. Staff wasn't the best either, well, one of them. I witnessed a man getting food for his family while being taunted by the woman, who appears to be in charge of the food service staff. She kept questioning why he was taking so much food, advising him that he was being watched by the hotel management, which was a lie. She was getting a laugh at his expense, because he was a large gentleman and a pushover. Management wasn't paying attention to the amount of food he was taking, nor attention to her foolishness. I do want to mention that the rest of the staff was fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    109
    29
    6
    3
See reviews for
239
51
11
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Staff - Very nice, professional and helpful.

Room - Good value for the price, large enough and was exactly as advertised.

Cleanliness - I would say there is room for improvement but overall good. While the bathroom was clean and all amenities were cleaned daily, they skipped vacuuming the floors. The carpets were dirty and it made the room smell a little odd. But the windows opened so I was able to air it out. There was a pen cap and a leaf on the floor when I arrived. 3 days later, they were still there so I picked them up and threw away. It was obvious they did not vacuum.
Food- the buffet was standard for this type of hotel/motel: fake eggs but real bacon and sausage, fresh fruit on the bar, cereal, coffee, waffel machine, large selection of 24 hr coffee tea etc, 3 juice selections each morning. But an added bonus, this property serves a dinner buffet nightly.

Extras - clean laundry room facilities with inexpensive washers and dryers, a pool table, a chess/checkers table, other family games upon request, a mini snack shop not just vending machines, fireplace with sitting area in the lobby for socializing, a deck and small pool outdoors in summer, and lots of cable channels to choose from (HBO and Showtime!).

Overall I would recommend this for long term business travelers and families.

Room Tip: They do have a handicap room but if its unavailable, ask for one on the 1st floor. While I would pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights with my wife and 2 kids (8 and 6) for a trip to dc area attractions. The rooms were modern and clean. The kids enjoyed the breakfast, especially the waffles. I left my eyeglasses after check out and they promptly found them. If you have a car, this place is a no brainier.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper,
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We had a great visit with our daughter and son-in-law at the Homewood Suites in Alexandria! The double bedroom and bathroom suite was spacious and so comfortable, with a full kitchen. We never used the kitchen, though, b/c we were surprised with a very nice meal in the evening (Manager's Special) and also a complete breakfast. Great place for get-togethers!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
176 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

This Homewood Suites appeared a bit dated, but the property was very clean and the staff was very friendly. It was quite a walk to get to a restaurant that wasn't fast food, but there is always a decent dinner that the hotel serves if you don't feel like a hike.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barryville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

My wife and I were traveling home from a trip in FL back to NY and decided to stop with the kids for the night at a hotel. We went online while driving and she found this chain of hotels that has 3 of them within 10 miles of each other and called up. got the operator for the brand and she was extremely helpful with finding us a room in one of the 3 hotels since the first one was sold out. even asked if we had AAA for a discount and was greeted by the front desk with everything ready check in was under 2 mins and we were in the room within 5 mins. Clean, well taken care off rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We've stayed at many Homewood Suites over the years, and this one was less impressive than others, though there wasn't anything really wrong with it, just some things that could have been a bit better.

On the plus side, it's easy to find, and there are plenty of stores (Target), restaurants, and gas stations nearby. Like any Homewood Suites, the breakfast is generous, and the rooms have kitchens.

We had a nice view of a wooded area from our room, and the room was very quiet. Service was prompt and friendly. Free parking is a bonus. We did not attempt to use the shuttle service to the nearby Metro train station.

On the minus side, the setup of the room (1-bedroom, 2-queen plus sofabed) was awkward for a family of six, much more awkward than usual. Once the sofabed was pulled out, it was very difficult to move from the kitchen side to the bedroom side. The room felt smaller than others we've had with similar setups. In addition, there wasn't a good place to put the suitcase.

The shower was good in pressure and temperature, but very tall (which my husband liked), but unadjustable and not centered so that it was uncomfortable for shorter people. The beds were very soft. Our sink did not hold water.

Overall, the room was ok for the rate paid ($107) and I think it would have been more comfortable for a family of four who is not using the sofabed. It was not a bad hotel experience, but it was not completely satisfying, either.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
Old Town
Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Alexandria

Address: 4850 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites Alexandria is located just 6 miles away from the National Mall in Washington DC and 4 miles from Old Town Alexandria. Our spacious apartment style suites feature a private bedroom and a full equipped kitchen. Enjoy our complimentary Hot Breakfast Buffet served every day and our delicious Evening Reception Monday-Thursdays. Ride in our free shuttle to the King Street Metro Station and to The Village at Shirlington; please call the hotel directly for details. Feel like home at the Homewood Suites Alexandria while you are in town for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Homewood Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Homewood Alexandria
Alexandria Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.