We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Alexandria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4850 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302-1102   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 15%
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Pleasant Surprise.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was my first time at any type of suite hotel and my stay at the Homewood Suites was a pleasant surprise. The hotel is extremely well kept, all employees were very friendly, and my room was very clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    85
    24
    5
    2
See reviews for
193
36
9
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I usually enjoy any Homewood Suites that I stay at, but this one was very subpar. First, the hotel was under construction throughout my stay, so the constant loud noise was a huge negative for starters. However, that is to be expected for hotels from time to time. What was really poor was the lack of assistance at the front desk, and the very poor food options during breakfast and the evening meal. It seemed like the hotel has been cutting corners to save costs in just about everything they do. The furniture throughout the suite also looked outdated, and the carpet looked as of something from a budget hotel. To make matters worse, probably the worst feature of the hotel is its location. It is not within walking distance from any Metro station, and it only provides shuttle service to the nearest station during a few hours (would've been helpful to mention this on the website).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at the Homewood Suites for 6 nights. This was our first stay at a Homewood Suites and it did not disappoint. The rooms were very clean, comfortable and spacious. The staff was extremely friendly and acommodating; no matter what time of night we came back to the hotel after a day of sightseeing we were always greeted with a smile and friendly hello. The complimentary breakfasts AND dinners were excellent. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The Leesburg Pike/Pentagon location is a 1 stop location that is convenient to DC, Alexandria, the major highways, shopping + the hotel has comp breakfast & supper. You don't have to go anyway! A great 1 stop location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at the Homewood Suites on King Street (Leesburg Pike) in Alexandria in early October 2013. I cannot say enough how this hotel exceeded our expectations. Suites are very well designed for families. We stayed in a 1-bedroom suite, which had a bedroom with 2 double beds (and a door that closed, separating this from the bathroom). Bathroom had 2 separate areas - sink, separate from tub/shower/toilet area. Another door separated the living area and kitchen. So children could be sleeping in the bedroom, while an adult had a bathroom available without having to walk through the bedroom, and another adult could use the living/kitchen area. The shuttle service was very prompt. Every 30 minutes on the hour and half hour, the shuttle departed for the King Street Metro station. A separate shuttle left the Metro station every 30 minutes as well. You must request passes in the morning for the shuttle, as there are a limited number of seats available, but we never had issues getting those passes. No passes were necessary in the afternoons, nor for the return trip from the Metro station. It took approximately 45 minutes to 1 hour to get to the Mall in D.C. from the Homewood Suites, using the shuttle service and Metro. The breakfast was phenomenal. Every morning they served hot items - eggs, bacon, sausage, tater tots, etc., as well as fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, coffee, milk, juice, and make-your-own waffles. Higher quality and more items than typical hotel breakfasts, especially considering it was free. The staff were wonderful and very helpful, especially to families with small children. They also serve a light supper on Monday through Thursday evenings (also free), which wasn't gourmet, but was still very good, and certainly saved our budget. Internet access via free wifi was easy to use. Laundry facility was adequate - $3.25 per load (includes both wash and dry). There were 2 washers and 2 dryers available. Matresses were not the most comfortable, but were decent. We will highly recommend the Homewood Suites to friends who will visit the area in coming months. And if/when we ever visit the DC area again, will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

only problem was pool & hot tub under reno & were not forewarned! kids disappointed, especially after long days of walking in DC! Staff and accommodations, excellent! would stay again! Great to be near Old Town and to have shuttle to metro station, be sure to ask for cards for shuttle and get metro cards by the week with fares filled on line - saves time!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Just what we were looking for ... close to DC and local restaurants. The free breakfast and evening welcome get- together meal/snack were great. Although we only participated once in the evening get together. There's too much else to do in DC... The proximity to Old Alexandria is great pick your restaurant ... sea food, steaks, etc... I have to say it's better if you have a car. The only issue we encountered was when first got in and the in room safe was no functioning but a call to the front desk took care of the problem. Great stay would recommended to anyone. But like I said it's better if you have a car.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Alexandria

Address: 4850 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#6 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Homewood Alexandria
Alexandria Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.