We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Standard HmwSts hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4850 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302-1102   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 15%
Ranked #3 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Melbourne, United States
1 review
“A Standard HmwSts hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The evening meal was more for kids than adults, but everything else was an excellent value for the price. It says 200 characters minimum for this part of the review, but I really don't have anything else to say, so I will continue to type until I think it is worth trying to continue.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    203
    76
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
171
35
9
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We walked in and booked a quick, last minute stay. This hotel is right next door to another, they share same parking lot. But, for the $20 extra, the rooms here are much bigger and it has indoor whirlpool! The staff was great at check in, easy as could be. The rooms were big with separate bedroom, sitting area, kitchen and nice size bathroom with tub and vanity. Very comfortable and great for long stays. Place was very quiet. The hotel is nicely decorated with warm wooden tones in large lobby. We enjoyed free breakfast in lobby, with fireplace, tables, sitting areas, and plenty of space! Outdoor pool and sitting area were closed, but looked very enjoyable. We visited the whirlpool in the evening, and it worked great. It was clean and large enough to sit maybe 8. It does get very warm in the small room, not enough air circulation. Fitness room is right across hall, and both are one floor below lobby, so feels very private. Overall, we enjoyed this stay and will be open to Homewood suites in the future.

Room Tip: Hotel is approximately 10 min drive from historic Alexandria area. Not within walking distance, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Sterling, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Lovely hotel with easy access to DC, Arlington, Alexandria and other sites of interest. Old Town Alexandria is only a few minutes away. The quality of the rooms, food and other amenities was excellent. Our room was very clean and quiet with everything in working order. The fireplace was an added bonus. The hotel service was very good. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I had stayed here the year before and had a wonderful stay. Staff are courteous and attentive. They go out their way to help. Our room was clean, bed was comfy and breakfast was good. The Courtesy Van to the Metro was an extra bonus!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel for 9 years, 4 times a year on business. The staff are all very friendly, rooms are nice but not updated, the breakfast and dinners are usually very good. The gift shop has everything that you may have forgotten to pack and more. I love that they have coffee in the lobby 24/7.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed so my husband would have a good place to be while I went to work. Felt like an apartment. They had a welcome note and microwave popcorn waiting in the room. All kitchen supplied provided. Breakfast was wonderful. Supper was good and filling - some nights were better than others. But worth it considering the cost of eating out. Service and people were wonderful. Service is provided to Old Town and Metro so getting around during the day is very easy. Walking distance to some stores which was nice. Safe, clean and homey!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
532 helpful votes 532 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

PROS: close by DC; always available coffee; ample parking; close by different fast food places; McDonalds directly across; fireplace; 2 LCD TVs and DVD player; good selection for breakfast(daily) and dinner (M-Th). Spa, laundry room with 2 washers and dryers, exercise room with 2 treadmills and 1 elliptical, free weights, 2 benches, mirror, water dispenser and towels and TV; billiard table by the lobby area.

CONS: smaller than other Homewood Suites; only 2 elevators near lobby; no elevators on end caps of building ; No welcome water or cookies for silver Hhonors members; Constant traffic on Leesburg Pike; outdoor pool; smoking 1st floor; narrow hallways; tired looking carpet. Thin insulation; inconsistent quality of housekeeping.

TIPS: do not get a room facing King’s st/Leesburg Pike- it is a very busy and noisy road; best rooms would be the ones facing the pool – all you will probably hear are birds. Clients need to know you can use stop light at Hampton Inn to get back to 395 south. You should make this hotel 100% non-smoking as we could even smell the acrid stench of cigarette smoke from the 5th floor due to whoever was using the elevator or from the housekeeper's supply room in the 5th floor. The last thing you want to have happen also would be to work out in the gym downstairs or do laundry or come from the hot spa and get embraced by the stench of cigarette smoke. The gym, laundry room and spa are in the smoking floor.

Room Tip: Do not get a room facing King’s st/Leesburg Pike- it is a very busy and noisy road; best rooms would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We’re sorry we didn't provide the high quality accommodations you deserve and expected. We are in the process of preparing for a hotel wide renovation and we are hopeful and anticipate that we will be converting the hotel to 100% non smoking. Thank you again for your feedback and we appreciate all the positives you addressed in your review. We hope you will consider us again on a future visit to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Alexandria

Address: 4850 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#13 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Alexandria 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Homewood Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Homewood Alexandria
Alexandria Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.