We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homewood Suites- Alexandria VA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4850 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302-1102   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 15%
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Shrewsbury, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Homewood Suites- Alexandria VA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The employees at this hotel went above and beyond our expectations to make sure we had whatever we needed. The hotel was very clean and the complimentary breakfast and dinners were very good. The complimentary shuttle service to the commuter rail was a great bonus. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a very nice hotel at a resonable price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    85
    24
    5
    2
See reviews for
193
36
9
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Wonderful place, clean, quiet, many amenities. Great breakfast. We were there 3 night and 3 days. There are some restaurants and fast food nearby. Very quiet floor. Rooms were very clean, appreciated the kitchen in our rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chardon, Ohio, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We have stayed many times in the Hampton Inn that shares the parking lot with this hotel and love the people, servce and price. Because our daugher and her husband and our grandchildren were staying at Homewood we decided to saty as well. While the room was clean and quiet the maintenance and food service left something to be desired. They had two toasters that didn't toast,the chafing dishes were not holding things at an adequate temperature and some of the coffee servers did not keep the coffee hot, especially the decaf. The bathroom sink did not hold water and the coup de grace was the bedroom door handle came off in my hand when I went to close the door. I reported it a 6:45am and by 3:30 pm it had still not been fixed so I dropped the door knob off at the front desk.The sheets did not fit the bed and one corner popped off overnite. We will retrun to the Hampton on our next visit. Ironically both hotels are owned by the same franchisee,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences. We are sorry we were unable to provide you and your family with the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay. We apologize for the issues in your room and we will work with our maintenance and housekeeping teams to ensure that these issues are corrected. If you return to our area, we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corry
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed at Homewood Suites Alexandria April 5, 2013 to April 9, 2013 with 5 adults and one child. The suite was perfect. It was clean and well appointed and we had plenty of room to be comfortable. Breakfast was very good and my daughter enjoyed the only evening meal provided during our stay. Everyone seemed extra friendly. It was a convenient drive to the King Street station for the Metro and the free shuttle was available also until 8 PM. We took advantage of the free parking on Sunday at the Metro station and the other days we parked at the nearby Hilton for $14. If we are looking for a place to stay in the Washington area we definitely will stay again. Also the weekend rate of $147 was very reasonable,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fletcher, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Booked a 4 night stay at this hotel for a quick vacation getaway during my son's spring break. We'd been to DC before, and wanted to go back to see some of the things we missed the last time here. Had a hard time finding something reasonably priced in this area that fit our needs (separate living room with sofabed, decent neighborhood, access to Metro system). After researching quite a bit, I decided to book this Homewood suites. We've stayed at Homewood before and are very familiar with their offerings. Checkin was a breeze and Jason at the front desk was very courteous and helpful. Our room was situated on a high floor away from elevators, vending machines and stairs as requested. Other than a couple of noisy boys in the hall on the first night (lasted 15 minutes) and a crying baby next door on the second night (lasted about 20 minutes), the room was quiet, comfortable, clean, and housekeeping was excellent. We took the little bit of noise in stride, since this was a spring break week and it was contained quickly.

Since we checked in late on a Wednesday night and didn't want to go out for dinner, I went down and spoke to Jason again for a recommendation. The day manager was still there (sorry I forgot your name, sir) so I got the lowdown: Turned out the evening staff preferred Mom's Pizzeria while the day staff preferred Hot Stone Pizza. Jason gave me menus for both which I took up to our room so we could decide. Mom's Pizzeria had more variety available, and was split between Greek and Italian dishes, so we ordered from there. This is a great place to order for delivery in this area!

Back to the Homewood Suites - Breakfast is the usual hot (eggs, meat, potatoes, waffles), and cold (cereal, fruits, etc.) selections, along with toast, bagels, and juices/tea/coffee. The food was very good, and was always hot when we were there. We never took advantage of the evening food since we were not back at the hotel during the hours they were served.

Access to the Metro is by the shuttle to the King St. station, and the last shuttle run is at 8:30 PM. We knew that Thursday night we would be in DC later than 8:30, so we took our car and figured we would park in the metro lot (which we've done when we stayed at other locations around DC). Unfortunately, the lot at King St. is very small and doesn't allow commuter parking until after 7PM, so I parked at the Embassy Suites garage across the street, which allowed a flat $9 fee to park from 5-9PM. The rest of the time we were there, we actually went to the Pentagon South mall, which is a stop on the Blue/Yellow lines (same as King St.). Per the day manager at Homewood, the parking fees there are cheaper. We found this to be about $1/hr. Friday and Saturday, as we paid $6 on Friday for 6 hours and $8 on Saturday for 8 hours. Plus, we enjoyed wandering through the mall before going back to the hotel. If you're not interested in the mall and are OK with being back before 8:30 PM then the shuttle is the way to go.

One thing this Homewood Suites had that we hadn't seen before is a pool table in the common area. One lazy afternoon my son and I went downstairs to play for an hour and we enjoyed it very much. You just go to the front desk and ask for the equipment, sign them out, and return them when done…for no charge (as long as you return everything undamaged)! This was a nice surprise.

Overall, I highly recommend this Homewood Suites for location, proximity to DC and the Metro, the condition of the hotel, and the excellent staff.

Room Tip: Back side of hotel is away from Leesburg Pike and will have the quietest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The room was very comfortable and reasonably price. A decent and fairly standard continental breakfast was available. There was free dinner (which we didn't partake). Also free parking and wifi. Very conveniently located. Only critique would be not enough seating for breakfast. That was a challenge some mornings though there always seemed to be free hot coffee available. The staff were very friendly. All in all, a solid hotel. I will definitly be staying when I return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is a decent homewood suites. Well situated close to the 395 onramp. The internet connection is strong. The breakfast area is quite large. Oddly laid out but it gets the job done (they also overcook their hash! curses!).

The rooms are nice, there's a hint of wear and tear on the property, but nothing offensive.

WARNING: This hotel is not easily metro accessible. They run a shuttle between here and the nearby hampton inn to the king's street metro station every 30 minutes. The nighttime service ends at 8pm on the weekdays. That's fine for commuting from work but a real hassle if you want to do anything. There are some cool restaurants in the area, but you need a car. You're not going to get much better then the local TGI Friday's for nightlife. Spend that time else where.

If you drove to DC to visit and don't mind driving into the district it's fine. But if you want a metro accessible stay look elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Alexandria

Address: 4850 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#7 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Alexandria 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Homewood Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Homewood Alexandria
Alexandria Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.