We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great base for a trip to the Capitol” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Alexandria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4850 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302-1102   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A great base for a trip to the Capitol”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The room was very comfortable and reasonably price. A decent and fairly standard continental breakfast was available. There was free dinner (which we didn't partake). Also free parking and wifi. Very conveniently located. Only critique would be not enough seating for breakfast. That was a challenge some mornings though there always seemed to be free hot coffee available. The staff were very friendly. All in all, a solid hotel. I will definitly be staying when I return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    87
    25
    6
    2
See reviews for
201
42
10
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is a decent homewood suites. Well situated close to the 395 onramp. The internet connection is strong. The breakfast area is quite large. Oddly laid out but it gets the job done (they also overcook their hash! curses!).

The rooms are nice, there's a hint of wear and tear on the property, but nothing offensive.

WARNING: This hotel is not easily metro accessible. They run a shuttle between here and the nearby hampton inn to the king's street metro station every 30 minutes. The nighttime service ends at 8pm on the weekdays. That's fine for commuting from work but a real hassle if you want to do anything. There are some cool restaurants in the area, but you need a car. You're not going to get much better then the local TGI Friday's for nightlife. Spend that time else where.

If you drove to DC to visit and don't mind driving into the district it's fine. But if you want a metro accessible stay look elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Really appreciate the service I got there. Early checkins with breakfast and all the possible help provided in arranging the Washington trip. This is the hotel I would like to recommend if you are planning for Washington trip as there is no parking charges and provided the shuttle facility to the nearest metro station and good breakfast and evening reception with excellent sleep quality.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Most hotels offer breakfast but the Homewood Suites also offers free dinner Mon-Thu which is great when you are travelling and tired. This hotel is also within walking distance to shopping centers, grocery stores and restaurants. The staff are very nice and courteous, there is an adequate exercise room and a hot tub.

Room Tip: Some of the suites come with a gas fireplace. They have corner rooms which are very quiet and separ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quispamsis, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I love Homewood Suites in general due to the kitchen facilities, separate bedrooms and continental breakfast but this property went above and beyond! The Manager actually did our grocery shopping for us and delivered it to our room! Then he refused a tip! The Pantry store has a decent selection of prepared food and sundry items priced more reasonably than I expected. The shuttle to the Metro ran every half hour so being a bit out of the way was not an issue at all. Front desk staff answered our never ending barrage of questions about the Washington area with great info and some super suggestions. I wish there had been a free shuttle from the Ronald Reagan Airport but the cab ride was only $20 so it wasn't a big deal. Typical awesome breakfasts and pretty good food at the evening Manager's Reception made our restaurant expenses next to nothing! They even left candy for the kids the last night of our 5 night stay. They have a really nice looking outdoor pool area that is open in the warmer months-we brought the snow with us from New Brunswick apparently since it snowed while we were there! Good job Guys!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The size of the rooms for the money is a great value in this quite, well-maintained establishment conveniently located among many amenities. Breakfast is a popular event but seating is adequate and the food plenty. The availability of a mini-store is very convenient for late night selections and the parking lot is sufficiently large and well-lighted so locating a convenient space is never a problem. Will definitely return - room availability never seemed a problem.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor were very quiet - well-insulated from any auto traffic in the parking lot o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I would reconsider before I stay here as the hotel does not seem to enforce its no smoking policy and that includes the smoking of marijuana. On a recent extended stay, several I could smell it wafting into the hallways and even one time in the main lobby when I was at dinner. I stay at a family oriented hotel for a reason and I expect a family friendly environment.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Alexandria

Address: 4850 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#6 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Homewood Alexandria
Alexandria Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.