We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reconsider, especially if traveling with family” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Alexandria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4850 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302-1102   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 15%
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Portland, Oregon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Reconsider, especially if traveling with family”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I would reconsider before I stay here as the hotel does not seem to enforce its no smoking policy and that includes the smoking of marijuana. On a recent extended stay, several I could smell it wafting into the hallways and even one time in the main lobby when I was at dinner. I stay at a family oriented hotel for a reason and I expect a family friendly environment.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    86
    24
    6
    2
See reviews for
195
38
10
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Breakfast, a pool table, free internet, super friendly and helpful staff, and a fireplace in the lobby - what more could you ask for? We were able to sleep six comfortably and cut costs by using the kitchen. Monday evening we even ate supper there on the house, and it was quite good, with enough fresh foods and cooked veg to satisfy the vegetarians in our group. The place is very well kept up; we never felt that hotel "icky" feeling. I will try to find a Homewood to stay in wherever I travel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I went with some friends and we simply love the staff, the room, breakfast, it's very clean and friendly. The beds are separate from the living room, there were a lot of space for 4 girls and a lot of luggage. Besides the kitchen is enough to have breakfast or another meal in the room. 2 tvs, in the living room and bedroom, the eletric fireplace is awesome!

Room Tip: We dind't have any problem with our room, I think there's no problem with any of them. We st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Our staff experienced over the top personal care, friendly and helpful staff, pristine facilities, free shuttle, and warm chocolate chip cookies. The coffee was awesome, too. I'm hooked. Thank you for making our stay wonderful. We look forward to recommending Homewood Suites to others, and using them again, in the near future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We were in town for the inauguration and the original Hilton Hotel that I booked messed up the room. I called Homewood Suites Alexandria and we changed our reservations to them. Everyone there was so helpful and friendly! The rooms were clean and the shuttle was wonderful. Thank you for making our stay wonderful!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Joe at the front desk was just THE BEST! The other front desk staff handled themselves in a fun very professional manner as well. I was in town for a week for the Presidential inauguration. The shuttle driver was awesome!! She waited at the King Street station (last shuttle for the day) for our train to arrive. VERY fortunate to have that level if care :-)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed at Homewood Suites in Alexandria for a mini vacation to the DC area and loved it. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Meals provided by the hotel were fresh and tasty. Room was clean and cozy and housekeeping did a wonderful job. We also enjoyed using the complimentary shuttle, provided by the hotel, to take us to the metro stop. It was nice to have Neutrogena toiletries stocked in the bathroom. Many places use off brand soaps and shampoos that dry out your skin and hair, but not here.

This hotel is conveniently located to many restaurants and stores, yet away from the DC congestion. We were very pleased w/ this hotel and will stay here again the next time we travel to the area.

Room Tip: Other members of our family stayed here as well and their room was just as nice as ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Alexandria

Address: 4850 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#6 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Homewood Alexandria
Alexandria Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.