We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Homewood Suites Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4850 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302-1102   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 15%
Ranked #2 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We were in town for the inauguration and the original Hilton Hotel that I booked messed up the room. I called Homewood Suites Alexandria and we changed our reservations to them. Everyone there was so helpful and friendly! The rooms were clean and the shuttle was wonderful. Thank you for making our stay wonderful!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    207
    77
    22
    5
    2
See reviews for
178
35
9
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Joe at the front desk was just THE BEST! The other front desk staff handled themselves in a fun very professional manner as well. I was in town for a week for the Presidential inauguration. The shuttle driver was awesome!! She waited at the King Street station (last shuttle for the day) for our train to arrive. VERY fortunate to have that level if care :-)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed at Homewood Suites in Alexandria for a mini vacation to the DC area and loved it. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Meals provided by the hotel were fresh and tasty. Room was clean and cozy and housekeeping did a wonderful job. We also enjoyed using the complimentary shuttle, provided by the hotel, to take us to the metro stop. It was nice to have Neutrogena toiletries stocked in the bathroom. Many places use off brand soaps and shampoos that dry out your skin and hair, but not here.

This hotel is conveniently located to many restaurants and stores, yet away from the DC congestion. We were very pleased w/ this hotel and will stay here again the next time we travel to the area.

Room Tip: Other members of our family stayed here as well and their room was just as nice as ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Housekeeping was always in the area but don't always come timely to service the room. I had to request service twice by 2PM. Also, if you are getting a AAA or AARP rate, be sure that is represents on your invoice at check out.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less traffic. Stay in the back, it's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed at Homewood Suites in Alexandra, VA for New Year's Eve/Day and was very impressed! Our check-in was fast and everything was explained to us. We checked-in right on time as we were able to participate in the Manager's evening dinner reception which included hot dogs, chili, chips, fruit, veggies, a salad bar, and beverages. Every night they have a different menu, which I thought was nice. The buffet-style reception was managed very well and the attendant was constantly checking on the food and cleaning up.

That evening I also used their Business Office and was able to print a two-page document with no problem. The Business Office was clean and the equipment worked properly.

In the morning, the hot breakfast was awesome! I particularly liked the waffles which included whipped cream and strawberries. Most hotels just have sugar and butter to accompany the waffles. There were also eggs, sausage, bagels, pastries, fruit, and yogurt. The breakfast was plentiful. Coffee was served 24/7 at the hotel and I found it to be fresh and tasteful.

We stayed in a one-bedroom suite. It was clean and spacious. It included a full-sized refrigerator, two-burner stove with oven, microwave, sink, and dishes. One thing that I really liked about the room was that the windows opened (with a several safety latches of course). I need fresh air or a fan to sleep and the fact that the windows opened to provide fresh air was wonderful! The room decor was tasteful and up-to-date as well. Not to mention, TWO flat screen TVs. :-)

The only negative thing (if any) about the stay was the hassle upon leaving the hotel. We received several phone calls and room service knocked on the door before we had the opportunity to check-out. We checked out at 12:15, which was 15 minutes over the check-out time. Not a big deal, but of course we always remember the negative things! :-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princeton nj
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hotel was very clean, breakfast was fine, front desk staff were friendly and helpful. We had a lot of space in the one bedroom suite, and ample storage space in two dressers. A great option for families - we were traveling with two adults and three kids and had plenty of room. The hotel is an easy 10 minute drive to the Smithsonian museums. The only reason I don't give it four stars is there wasn't much else around the hotel - we couldn't really go for a walk from the property. But for visiting Washington DC the price, location, and quality of the room can't be beat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed here in December 28 for one night. The one bedroom suite with 2 doubles was perfect for us with our 3 teens. The separate vanity area was convenient.. We didn't really use the kitchen but it seemed well equipped - even noticed a corkscrew! The complimentary microwave popcorn was a nice touch. There were 2 great flat screen TVs in the room along with DVD player. The breakfast was wonderful hot, fresh and with great choices. The free shuttle to the Metro was a wonderful convenience. The front desk clerk was very helpful - mapping out our Metro route, which train to take, where to get on and off, etc. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend!

Room Tip: A little bit of road noise - nothing major. A room in the back side of the hotel would probably be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Alexandria

Address: 4850 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#13 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Alexandria 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Homewood Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Homewood Alexandria
Alexandria Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.