We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great visit with 3 teens” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4850 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302-1102   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 15%
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great visit with 3 teens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed here in December 28 for one night. The one bedroom suite with 2 doubles was perfect for us with our 3 teens. The separate vanity area was convenient.. We didn't really use the kitchen but it seemed well equipped - even noticed a corkscrew! The complimentary microwave popcorn was a nice touch. There were 2 great flat screen TVs in the room along with DVD player. The breakfast was wonderful hot, fresh and with great choices. The free shuttle to the Metro was a wonderful convenience. The front desk clerk was very helpful - mapping out our Metro route, which train to take, where to get on and off, etc. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend!

Room Tip: A little bit of road noise - nothing major. A room in the back side of the hotel would probably be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    85
    24
    5
    2
See reviews for
193
36
9
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Homewood Suites, Alexandria, VA is a great hotel facility for longer stays when you need the comforts and amenities of your home. My family and I have stayed in other Homewood Suites and this is the best by far because of both the facility and the staff. The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating throughout our stay; which included a couple of extra days due to our air travel arrangements being delayed because of Super Storm Sandy. The facility is very comfortable, especially the main lobby area where breakfasts are served daily and light dinners served four evenings (M, T, W & Th). The quality, taste and variety of food selections are excellent. The evening meals even include a salad bar with a variety of toppings and fresh fruit. The suite rooms are roomy and nicely laid out for family comfort. It was nice to have the work desk in the bedroom instead of the living area. The full size refrigerator is nice, so it’s possible to keep items like ice cream, and other frozen items. Just remember to start the icemaker when you arrive; no icemakers in the hallways. The shuttle service to and from the King Street Metro & Amtrack stations is very efficient and dependable. We were able to get in and out of DC with relative ease. We observed that the entire staff of Homewood Suites working together to make their guest’s stays as comfortable and pleasant as possible. This was particularly evident during the hurricane, and we sincerely appreciated the excellent hospitality. This is where my family will stay the next time we visit the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I've stayed at other Hilton properties and wasn't impressed until now. This was our first stay at Homewood Suites, but not the last. The room was very comfortable, and the staff was very friendly and accomodating. We had a couple of special requests we made online, and they exceeded our expectations. Housekeeping was awesome and the breakfast that was included was pretty good. Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: I always ask for a quiet room away from the elevator and ice machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Check in was very quick. The woman at the front desk was very friendly, she even called our room about 15 minutes after we checked in to make sure everything was ok in the room, and to see if we needed anything.
The room was large and clean. There was a full kitchen, with a 2 burner stove, dishwasher, fridge, and microwave. There is a full set of dishes and silverware.
We had a room with a fireplace. It was a nice and relaxing. The hotel was pretty quiet. There was a screaming baby next door that was pretty annoying, but not the hotels fault. The bed was very comfy. Lots of pillows.
Breakfast was ok. By the time we showed up at 9:30, almost all the food was gone. We ended up with some pastries and oj.
It was a short 10-15 minute drive to DC. Traffic was not bad at all.
Word to the wise...avoid the Chili's up the street. The food and service are terrible!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here over the Labor Day holiday 2012. The location is great (proximity to I-395 to D.C.) and the service is good too, but the room was dirty. There was a previous review complaining of bed bugs (confirmed on this site by manager), but the clerk at check-in denied any knowledge of it! Either management keeps them ignorant or they are lying. Either way, it's dishonest. Management: own up to it, tell us what you've done to fix and prevent future occurrences! Apart from this instance, the staff were courteous and helpful. Since I had already paid, we took a chance. We always check and found no bed bugs. However, the room was very dusty and dirty (found a candy bar rapper behind a nightstand). A coating of dust in every corner and in all cabinets

The outdoor pool was in the shape of a duck! Because this is the logo of Homewood Suites I'm sure they though it very cute but, it is very small and the shape only allows for about 8 people to move around.

pros: cheap, location (although not close to Metro, they have a shuttle), hot tub, gym

cons: dirty room, small outdoor pool

Room Tip: This hotel has non-smoking floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

We stand by our earlier response to this incident; however, we acknowledge that some members of our front desk staff may not have been aware of our response and actions. We will do a more effective job of in-house communications in the future.

Regarding the cleanliness issues in your suite, these have been brought to the attention of the Executive Housekeeper and she has addressed them with the appropriate personnel.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience and again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Great clean hotel. Hotel staff was great. Had a very easy check in/ check out. Free breakfast buffet was a hit especially with the kids. Loved the lifeguard at the pool. As a parent, that is a definite plus In my book. Hotel has a shuttle to the metro station so there's no need to drive once you arrive. Also close to shopping and great restaurants! Definitely stay here next time we visit the area!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LANCASTER PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed over the Labor Day holiday weekend. Checkin was very fast and we received a king size suite on the fifth floor. The suite was one of the largest we have ever stayed in. It was very clean and the perfect size for a family. We appreciated the fact that the King bed is in a different room than the pullout sleeper. We all enjoyed the free full breakfast that was always refilled. I thought the pool was a little small, but our teenage daughter and her friend loved that the hot tub was open 24 hours. It does have a nice workout room that we did not have time to advantage.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel for you Labor Day weekend getaway. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Again, thank you for choosing our hotel and for your time submitting this review. We look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Alexandria

Address: 4850 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#7 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Alexandria 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Homewood Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Homewood Alexandria
Alexandria Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.