We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay if visiting Washington DC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4850 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302-1102   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 15%
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great place to stay if visiting Washington DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Great clean hotel. Hotel staff was great. Had a very easy check in/ check out. Free breakfast buffet was a hit especially with the kids. Loved the lifeguard at the pool. As a parent, that is a definite plus In my book. Hotel has a shuttle to the metro station so there's no need to drive once you arrive. Also close to shopping and great restaurants! Definitely stay here next time we visit the area!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    85
    24
    5
    2
See reviews for
193
35
9
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LANCASTER PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed over the Labor Day holiday weekend. Checkin was very fast and we received a king size suite on the fifth floor. The suite was one of the largest we have ever stayed in. It was very clean and the perfect size for a family. We appreciated the fact that the King bed is in a different room than the pullout sleeper. We all enjoyed the free full breakfast that was always refilled. I thought the pool was a little small, but our teenage daughter and her friend loved that the hot tub was open 24 hours. It does have a nice workout room that we did not have time to advantage.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel for you Labor Day weekend getaway. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Again, thank you for choosing our hotel and for your time submitting this review. We look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This hotel was EXCELLENT! We stayed here during our 4 day vacation to Washington, DC. All of the staff was kind to our family.
The room was big, full kitchen, living area, king bedroom with a door that closes! That is super exciting when the kids are with! Bathroom was big...only thing the kids had to go through the bedroom to get to it. The toilet and shower were in one room and the sink and very large vanity outside the bathroom. There was a large closet as well. 2 TV's another exciting thing with kids. The bed was great, soft blankets and comfy! Only problem was the shower had low water pressure.
The breakfast was very good, lots of choices, hot food (changes daily), cereal, yogurt, pastries, and very good muffins!
The meal at night (Mondays-Thursdays) was very good as well, there was a full meal and a full salad bar.
The pool was cute (duck shaped). It was super cold though. The kids were in it a little. The hot tub was nice and it was open 24 hours!
They had a shuttle to the metro, we never used it. We drove to DC and parked when we wanted to go in. It was not too bad. The hotel is close to DC so the drive is not bad.
I will definitely stay at Homewood Suites in the future. Thanks for a great experience!

Room Tip: Easy to get to DC! Great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding you recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you had a great experice with us and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed for a weekend family getaway to DC. Though the location was a bit far from most attractions...the hotel itself was great! Breakfast was great and well attended to. Lots to choose from!The room was great for a family. Our room was very clean. The kitchen was a great convenience! Pool was small but still nice and the kids had a great time in it. As for the DC area, the Metro is ridiculously expensive! We took one day to go to 2 Smithsonian museums and the zoo, In total that day cost us $45 in metro fares! I wish I looked into parking in DC, wonder if just driving in to the city and parking would have been better. Seemed it took pretty long too!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your comments about our hotel regarding your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that the accommodations and service you experienced were satisfactory.

We look forward to your future stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

My family and I stayed there last night and we found a bed bug crawling on the couch. I took it to the front desk and they verified that it was a bed bug. They refunded our night stay, but I will never stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We were distressed to learn of the bed bug issue. We have taken immediate action both in-house and with an outside pest control company. Please understand that this is an isolated incident as we employ a very rigorous program of both prevention and detection to try and avoid problems of this nature. You may rest assured that in the wake of this occurrence we are redoubling our efforts and doing everything within our power to make sure similar problems do not arise again. We appreciate your bringing this problem to our attention and for the opportunity to respond.
Please let us know if there is anything further we can do to try and restore your confidence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This is just an okay stay, definetely nothing special. Room was just an average size, I have stayed at Doubletree and the rooms were bigger. The living room area was pretty small. Some of the hotel shows the wear and tear. Breakfast had a good variety. Pool was only open 11-9, which doesnt work well with kids, our kids like to swim at night, after returning from sight seeing in DC they couldnt go swimming. There was a life guard at the pool though.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review regarding your recent stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Whenever we are traveling, homewood suites is the first thing I look for. The rooms are great, the breakfast is good. Midweek dinners is an added bonus. About 45 min after you arrive, they call to see how things are. Love it!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for choosing Homewood Suites as your hotel of choice when traveling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Alexandria

Address: 4850 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#7 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Alexandria 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Homewood Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Homewood Alexandria
Alexandria Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.