We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Homewood Suites!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Alexandria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4850 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302-1102   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book early and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Love Homewood Suites!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Whenever we are traveling, homewood suites is the first thing I look for. The rooms are great, the breakfast is good. Midweek dinners is an added bonus. About 45 min after you arrive, they call to see how things are. Love it!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for choosing Homewood Suites as your hotel of choice when traveling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    103
    28
    6
    3
See reviews for
227
49
11
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 12 days for a conference, a visit with friends, and a trip to Washington, DC. We had driven from out of state and arrived late at night, exhausted. Our first greeters at the front desk were Jason and Lomelita, whose friendliness and understanding were an excellent start to our stay.
Overall, we were very happy with housekeeping (Maria is great!) and front desk services. Our room was clean and the staff was very accommodating. A minor issue (the "cold" water in the shower was a bit too warm for our comfort) was taken care of by the time we returned to the room later that same day.
The hotel has a laundry. Our room had a kitchen with apartment-sized fridge with ice maker, dishwasher, two-burner stove, small coffeemaker, microwave oven and enough plates, glasses and utensils for a family of four. The hotel serves breakfast everyday, enough to get you going. From Monday through Thursday, it has a "Welcome Home Reception" with a different meal every day, salad and soft drinks (no alcoholic beverages). If you want other options, there are restaurants in the area or you may buy your own groceries; a Target and a Giant supermarket are nearby. There's also an Office Depot, FedEx, a post office and several other stores in the area.
The hotel offers a shuttle to/from the Metro station on King Street. The distance to DC is less than 8 miles if you're driving, but traffic on I-395 could be an issue and, as it happens in most cities, cars seem to bring out the worst in drivers. In general, though, people are very friendly. The hotel is located about 5 miles from Old Town Alexandria. There are several parking decks beside parking on the street (metered). If you're visiting from out of town, the parking deck below the Mayor's Office plaza is free if you obtain a coupon at the Visitor's Center on the corner of Fairfax and King.
Whether you'll be visiting for business, or travel as a couple or a family, I recommend this Homewood Suites without hesitation.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and for taking the time to submit a review on this site. We hope you will have another opportunity to come and stay with us.

Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

excellent stay for our family of 5. They allowed us to have a cot in the room, so all had a bed. Room was spacious, well appointed kitchen, huge bathroom. Wonderful amenities, making our stay very comfortable. The manager Charles was so understanding and helped me with a change to my reservation made thru booking site; he didn't need to do that, but it was much appreciated. wonderful.
FREE parking and you are so close to the highway and can be at all the important sites within in minutes.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your comments and for staying with us with your family.

It was our pleasure to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

It was great. The staff were really friendly and very helpful. The suite in our room was awesome. Nice, spacious and clean! I loved the fact they had two washing machines and two dryers. This saved me some time doing the laundry and I was able to enjoy pool time with my family. They even had a lifeguard on duty....that's a first for me at any hotel we've ever stayed at! We stayed here instead of staying in DC, cheaper and less traffic! It was a 10 minute free shuttle ride to the METRO and a 10 minute METRO ride to Arlington. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay and was able to spend some pool time with your family.

Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to serving you during your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I have stayed in many hotels in the USA and around the world. And, I can honestly say that Homewood Suites has been the most clean room I have stay at. All the furniture in the room were exceptionally clean. (End tables, kitchen table and counter, bathroom counter and tub, etc.) the room had a fresh, crisp smell not moldy like most. Their cleanness is throughout the hotel from the entrance to the lobby and back to the pool area. I wish all the hotels were like this one--amazingly clean! I take my hat off to the professional and friendly staff. I would definitely stay here again. Thank you for a pleasant experience!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are very proud of our housekeeping staff and your comments will certainly be shared with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Every hotel in and around DC is very busy & full of tourists. This is a great family hotel - very busy but that is to be expected. Travel to DC is easy. There are shuttles from hotel every half hour - they hand out tickets exactly 30 minutes ahead. Get to front desk and be waiting a few minutes beforehand. King station is 4 miles down the same road hotel is on. The road ends at waterfront in Alexandria. Coming back from DC - never waited long at all to get shuttle back - last pickup is around 9:30. Super easy travel. For 5 days, buy a $20 metro card at machine. Cards shows how much is left after each fare. Nice outdoor pool - indoor hot tub. It would be nice if they only allowed adults in hot tub as it gets crowded. Zero complaints on breakfast. Rooms clean. Good laundry facility. Free parking. Full size frig. Only icemaker in room - none in hotel so if you have a cooler you will need to buy ice somewhere else. Book it now.

Room Tip: Fifth floor overlooking pool. Why do they have smoking rooms on the bottom level?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear that your experience with your accommodations and our new service, the Metro Shuttle, was a pleasant and satisfactory experience.

Thank you for choosing the Homewood Suites by Hilton - Alexandria/Pentagon South, VA. We look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Spent five nights at the Homewood Suites Alexandria VA, May 19th thru May 24th. Family vacation trip to visit Washington DC. We wanted to save some money on our hotel so we decided to stay outside of DC. Would recommend this hotel for anyone. The room was clean when we arrived for check-in, and well serviced everyday. The staff was friendly and check-in was very smooth. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast each day and the complimentary dinners on a couple of evenings. The hotel offers free shuttle service each day to the Metro Station about 5 miles away. We rode the shuttle to the station, took the Metro to wherever we wanted to go in DC and left our car for the free parking at the hotel. If you've never been to Washington DC and driven in the DC traffic, you can't appreciate what an advantage this is. I would definitely stay at this hotel in our future travels to the area.

Room Tip: Our room had a full size refrigerator, a microwave, small range, sink, and dishwasher. Very efficien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy to hear that you & your family enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for choosing our hotel and we look forward to serving you during your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Homewood Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Alexandria

Address: 4850 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites Alexandria is located just 6 miles away from the National Mall in Washington DC and 4 miles from Old Town Alexandria. Our spacious apartment style suites feature a private bedroom and a full equipped kitchen. Enjoy our complimentary Hot Breakfast Buffet served every day and our delicious Evening Reception Monday-Thursdays. Ride in our free shuttle to the King Street Metro Station and to The Village at Shirlington; please call the hotel directly for details. Feel like home at the Homewood Suites Alexandria while you are in town for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Homewood Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Homewood Alexandria
Alexandria Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.