We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPER CLEAN ROOM, BEST PLACE TO STAY!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Alexandria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4850 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302-1102   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“SUPER CLEAN ROOM, BEST PLACE TO STAY!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I have stayed in many hotels in the USA and around the world. And, I can honestly say that Homewood Suites has been the most clean room I have stay at. All the furniture in the room were exceptionally clean. (End tables, kitchen table and counter, bathroom counter and tub, etc.) the room had a fresh, crisp smell not moldy like most. Their cleanness is throughout the hotel from the entrance to the lobby and back to the pool area. I wish all the hotels were like this one--amazingly clean! I take my hat off to the professional and friendly staff. I would definitely stay here again. Thank you for a pleasant experience!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are very proud of our housekeeping staff and your comments will certainly be shared with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    96
    25
    6
    2
See reviews for
210
46
10
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Every hotel in and around DC is very busy & full of tourists. This is a great family hotel - very busy but that is to be expected. Travel to DC is easy. There are shuttles from hotel every half hour - they hand out tickets exactly 30 minutes ahead. Get to front desk and be waiting a few minutes beforehand. King station is 4 miles down the same road hotel is on. The road ends at waterfront in Alexandria. Coming back from DC - never waited long at all to get shuttle back - last pickup is around 9:30. Super easy travel. For 5 days, buy a $20 metro card at machine. Cards shows how much is left after each fare. Nice outdoor pool - indoor hot tub. It would be nice if they only allowed adults in hot tub as it gets crowded. Zero complaints on breakfast. Rooms clean. Good laundry facility. Free parking. Full size frig. Only icemaker in room - none in hotel so if you have a cooler you will need to buy ice somewhere else. Book it now.

Room Tip: Fifth floor overlooking pool. Why do they have smoking rooms on the bottom level?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear that your experience with your accommodations and our new service, the Metro Shuttle, was a pleasant and satisfactory experience.

Thank you for choosing the Homewood Suites by Hilton - Alexandria/Pentagon South, VA. We look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Spent five nights at the Homewood Suites Alexandria VA, May 19th thru May 24th. Family vacation trip to visit Washington DC. We wanted to save some money on our hotel so we decided to stay outside of DC. Would recommend this hotel for anyone. The room was clean when we arrived for check-in, and well serviced everyday. The staff was friendly and check-in was very smooth. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast each day and the complimentary dinners on a couple of evenings. The hotel offers free shuttle service each day to the Metro Station about 5 miles away. We rode the shuttle to the station, took the Metro to wherever we wanted to go in DC and left our car for the free parking at the hotel. If you've never been to Washington DC and driven in the DC traffic, you can't appreciate what an advantage this is. I would definitely stay at this hotel in our future travels to the area.

Room Tip: Our room had a full size refrigerator, a microwave, small range, sink, and dishwasher. Very efficien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy to hear that you & your family enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for choosing our hotel and we look forward to serving you during your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailuku, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in mid May and found the accommodations suitable for our needs. The suite was large and the kitchen facilities helpful. We chose this brand of hotel because they had smoking rooms available, complimentary breakfast, complimentary dinners, and complimentary internet. The breakfasts and dinners were fine, not 4 star restaurant quality but if you're trying to save a little money, you can't be choosy with what you get for free. We could have made ourselves our own breakfasts and dinner in the kitchen, but that would have defeated the purpose of being on vacation. The staff was courteous and it's one of those hotels that still comes in to tidy up your room on a daily basis. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: If you're a smoker, book in advance to ensure you get a smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We certainly appreciate your business and we look forward to your future visits with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We where in the Washington area mid-May. We decided to stay in Alexandria considering that the ratio price vs. quality was much better in Alexandria than in Washington.

The hotel is well located, easy to find and with interesting restaurants within few minutes (Olive Gardens among others). The suites where HUGE, modern and very clean. The breakfast was good, even if other Homewood Suites have better breakfast.

The check-in was smooth. The front desk personnel could beneficiate from some training towards the tourism industry. They had no idea that the subway offers free parking during the week-end, where there is parking. They where even surprised that we thought of using the subway to go downtown. The service is fast, safe and reliable.

The staff, in general, was nice; I would not say friendly, but nice.

Room Tip: In the Washington area, the price of the rooms are quite higher from Monday to Thursday, you might w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us and bringing to our attention the lack of knowledge some of front desk staff members are lacking. We will certainly address this matter so that future guests can be provided with this information.

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We spent three nights here last week and could not have been more pleased. My wife was a bit skeptical, but after we checked in and she saw the suite, she was totally pleased. Everything was as described here, if not better. The best part was perhaps the daily breakfast, but the in-room quiet, hot water and wi-fi were right up there. The hotel provides a free, on-time shuttle to the King Street metro stop, which let us leave the car in the hotel's free parking. There are many stores, restaurants and fast food places nearby, plus a well stocked convenience store next to the front lobby. Coffee is free in the lobby, morning and night, at least when I passed through. Everything is generous and good, from the breakfast to the towels in the room. We really felt spoiled by the suite layout and the complete kitchen area. It made made us feel at home. Maybe better. The friendly staff made us feel that they cared for our comfort and convenience. The cost per night was competitive with other hotels, but we felt we got a lot more. We are very pleased; not one complaint.

Room Tip: Our room was "1 KING 1 BDRM STE NONSMOK." I don't know if location in the building mat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your feedback & comments. We are so glad you & your wife enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huber Heights, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

My son and I stayed here for a week in July 2011 while in town on business. The room was very clean and quiet even though we were on the first floor near the elevators, the service was GREAT, and the food in the morning/evening was good. The staff was VERY nice and helpful! The location was very convenient to stores and restaurants. It's also very close to Old Town - which is AMAZING!!! I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you for your comments.

We look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Alexandria

Address: 4850 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites Alexandria is located just 6 miles away from the National Mall in Washington DC and 4 miles from Old Town Alexandria. Our spacious apartment style suites feature a private bedroom and a full equipped kitchen. Enjoy our complimentary Hot Breakfast Buffet served every day and our delicious Evening Reception Monday-Thursdays. Ride in our free shuttle to the King Street Metro Station and to The Village at Shirlington; please call the hotel directly for details. Feel like home at the Homewood Suites Alexandria while you are in town for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Homewood Alexandria
Alexandria Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.