We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family hotel but need car” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4850 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302-1102   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 15%
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Collingswood, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great family hotel but need car”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Stayed here for business and really appreciated the full breakfast and lite dinner that the hotel offered. You really need a car here because walking is dangerous and the nearest grocery is about 1.5 miles away. Cab fares are high. There is no Metro stop nearby and no shuttle to the Metro. There is a Metro stop about 4 miles away but no parking! So if you are planning to drive into DC, this would be an OK hotel for families but the lack of shuttle is a disadvantage.

Room Tip: ask for the side of building facing the Hampton Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment about our hotel and your stay with us. We certainly appreciate the feedback our guests provid. We also appreciate your business and look forward to your future stays with us.

Sincerely,

Charles Gellad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    87
    24
    6
    2
See reviews for
195
39
10
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

My family stayed four nights during a visit to Washington DC and Alexandria. Our hotel room was clean and we loved that it was a suite to give us more room. The beds were comfy and room stayed cool. Location was good for us as we had a car so getting to either the Ballston or King St. stations was easy. We had the hotel dinner one evening which was ok. Breakfasts were standard fare, no complaints. We didn't swim, but the outdoor pool area looked nice and had a lifeguard on duty. Only downfall we could see was that the hallways were not vacuumed during our stay and they were in need of vacuuming. Overall a pleasant stay and we would recommend the hotel to anyone who also wanted to visit Alexandria during a trip to DC.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thank your for taking the time to comment about our hotel and your recent stay with us. We apprecaite all the feedback and comments our guests provide, it is how we learn of the mistakes we are making.

Please accept my apology for the lack of a vacuumed hallway. There is no excuse for that.

Again, thank you for your comments.

Charles Gellad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Recently visited with several families visitng a basketball tournament in DC and we all stayed here. The hotel was very clean and the service was great. Very good breakfast buffet with plenty of choices. Dinner was provided if you were hungry and had warm baked cookies every evening. Hotel staff answered any issue swiftly and courteously. They live by their 100% guarantee. Our freezer wasn't working and they replaced entire refrigerator promptly and gave us a credit for all our melted ice cream. They offered we did not have to ask. Great size rooms with plenty of room for a family. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment about our hotel and your stay with us. We greatly appreciate your feedback and your business.

I hope your basketball team had a successful tournament.

Again, thank you!

Charles gellad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Convenient location to Washington and Old Town Alexandria. Great rooms / suites for families (we are 2 adults and 3 children) with two bedrooms separated by a living room / kitchen. Each bedroom has its own flatscreen TV (with actual HD channels) and washroom, plus one larger flatscreen with DVD player in the living area. Kitchenette has full refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, 2-element stove. Living area had a 4-person dining table, sofa bed, lounge chair with ottoman, work area with a proper desk chair and table lamp. Did not have a chance to try the fitness facility, but it has two treadmills, an elliptical machine, some free weights and weight machines.

Great pluses of the property include free wi-fi and wired Internet service, free breakfast daily, free parking (in the DC area a big plus), separate heating/cooling controls for the two bedrooms (including ceiling fans). Downsides are that there aren't really any restaurants within walking distance (McDonald's, Wendy's, Taco Bell, TGI Friday's down the street a bit), but chances are you will be driving around town anyway, so there is lots of choice in Alexandria and DC; pool is small, but kids don't seem to care. The pool also had a lifeguard while we were there and I'm not sure if this is a local requirement or a Homewood policy. The good part of this was that there was a lifeguard; the bad part was that when the lifeguard went for a break or dinner, the pool was closed.

Breakfast was a real time and money saver -- typically a choice of muffins, bagels, toast, cereals, juices, some fruit, coffees, yogurt, bacon or sausage, an egg dish, breakfast potato dish, biscuits some mornings, and a waffle maker. This was definitely not just a continental breakfast but almost a full restaurant breakfast. Did not sample the dinner option.

The rooms themselves were pleasant enough with good quality beds, linens and supplies. Nothing fancy, but comfortable for a three star property. The cooling system worked great and was fairly quiet (it was in the nineties each day). Our suite faced the pool and we didn't hear any noise at all. The windows can be opened (only about a quarter of the way for safety), but with the outside temperatures, we opted to stay cool at night.

Property also has a small convenience store (variety of snacks plus, surprisingly, microwave dinners/meals), pool table (free), coin laundry facility and hot tub.

Front desk staff were friendly, helpful and eager to please.

Overall, our experience was beyond what you normally would expect at a three star property, and we felt we received fair value for what we paid. If we ever go to DC with our family again we would strongly consider staying here again. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to friends or family.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We greatly apprecaite all the feedback our guests provide.

Regarding the lifeguard, Fairfax County requires that a lifeguard be present at all times. We realize the lifeguard's breaks are an inconvenience to our guests and have been working on making adjustments to minimize if not completely eliminate this inconvenience.

Again, thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel for you & your family during your visit to the Washington DC area.

Sincerely,

Charles Gellad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011 via mobile

Overall, we were not at all impressed with this Homewood Suites. Theoretically, the hotel had all the right components....but it felt dirty. The hallways had stuff on the floors all day...the food served was fair. I doubt that we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of our hotel. We are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of amenities you deserve. Because your stay with us is very important, we try hard to make sure all our guests have a rewarding experience at Homewood Suites. I will be reaching out to you in order to make this right.

Again, thank you for your time and for choosing the Homewood Suites by Hilton- Alexandria, VA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

We booked a suite for our family to stay here for the DC Cherry Blossom event. We arrived to DC late so check in very late and the staff (guy) there that night seems to not know much when asked about the rate etc. He took a while to check us in. However, the room were newly renovated so the beds are very nice and clean looking. We had the whole full kitchen in our suite so it was wonderful for our family. The also serve complimentary breakfast in the morning and the staffs preparing breakfast there were very nice! We came out right before they were about to stop serving breakfast but instead of fussing and giving us a hard time, they were very sweet and kept offering us what we needed to get. It is DEFINITELY worth the price we were paying to stay here. Free parking, location seems safe. Hotel rooms are clean and seems new and worth the price. About a 10 mins drive to the nearest metro station.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011 via mobile

We stayed recently (Feb. 2011) and it was amazing. It is close to Arlington cemetery and turistic destinations in DC. The location is also close to TGIF and Five Guys hamburger joint. The room was really cleaned and the staff are super friendly. The best part of this hotel was the delicious breakfast buffet. The served eggs, sausage, delicious biscuits, sausage gravy I believe is the name of the topping fir the biscuits, fresh fresh fruit, waffles, etc. And the coffee was amazing. Would recommend to all especially family willing to drive about 4 to 5 miles to DC.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, March 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to serving you again during future visits to the Washington DC area.

The Staff and Management
Homewood Suites by Hilton
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Alexandria

Address: 4850 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#6 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Homewood Alexandria
Alexandria Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.