We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations and we would recommend this property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Homewood Suites Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4850 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302-1102   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 15%
Ranked #3 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations and we would recommend this property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Convenient location to Washington and Old Town Alexandria. Great rooms / suites for families (we are 2 adults and 3 children) with two bedrooms separated by a living room / kitchen. Each bedroom has its own flatscreen TV (with actual HD channels) and washroom, plus one larger flatscreen with DVD player in the living area. Kitchenette has full refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, 2-element stove. Living area had a 4-person dining table, sofa bed, lounge chair with ottoman, work area with a proper desk chair and table lamp. Did not have a chance to try the fitness facility, but it has two treadmills, an elliptical machine, some free weights and weight machines.

Great pluses of the property include free wi-fi and wired Internet service, free breakfast daily, free parking (in the DC area a big plus), separate heating/cooling controls for the two bedrooms (including ceiling fans). Downsides are that there aren't really any restaurants within walking distance (McDonald's, Wendy's, Taco Bell, TGI Friday's down the street a bit), but chances are you will be driving around town anyway, so there is lots of choice in Alexandria and DC; pool is small, but kids don't seem to care. The pool also had a lifeguard while we were there and I'm not sure if this is a local requirement or a Homewood policy. The good part of this was that there was a lifeguard; the bad part was that when the lifeguard went for a break or dinner, the pool was closed.

Breakfast was a real time and money saver -- typically a choice of muffins, bagels, toast, cereals, juices, some fruit, coffees, yogurt, bacon or sausage, an egg dish, breakfast potato dish, biscuits some mornings, and a waffle maker. This was definitely not just a continental breakfast but almost a full restaurant breakfast. Did not sample the dinner option.

The rooms themselves were pleasant enough with good quality beds, linens and supplies. Nothing fancy, but comfortable for a three star property. The cooling system worked great and was fairly quiet (it was in the nineties each day). Our suite faced the pool and we didn't hear any noise at all. The windows can be opened (only about a quarter of the way for safety), but with the outside temperatures, we opted to stay cool at night.

Property also has a small convenience store (variety of snacks plus, surprisingly, microwave dinners/meals), pool table (free), coin laundry facility and hot tub.

Front desk staff were friendly, helpful and eager to please.

Overall, our experience was beyond what you normally would expect at a three star property, and we felt we received fair value for what we paid. If we ever go to DC with our family again we would strongly consider staying here again. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to friends or family.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We greatly apprecaite all the feedback our guests provide.

Regarding the lifeguard, Fairfax County requires that a lifeguard be present at all times. We realize the lifeguard's breaks are an inconvenience to our guests and have been working on making adjustments to minimize if not completely eliminate this inconvenience.

Again, thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel for you & your family during your visit to the Washington DC area.

Sincerely,

Charles Gellad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    203
    77
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
172
35
9
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011 via mobile

Overall, we were not at all impressed with this Homewood Suites. Theoretically, the hotel had all the right components....but it felt dirty. The hallways had stuff on the floors all day...the food served was fair. I doubt that we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of our hotel. We are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of amenities you deserve. Because your stay with us is very important, we try hard to make sure all our guests have a rewarding experience at Homewood Suites. I will be reaching out to you in order to make this right.

Again, thank you for your time and for choosing the Homewood Suites by Hilton- Alexandria, VA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

We booked a suite for our family to stay here for the DC Cherry Blossom event. We arrived to DC late so check in very late and the staff (guy) there that night seems to not know much when asked about the rate etc. He took a while to check us in. However, the room were newly renovated so the beds are very nice and clean looking. We had the whole full kitchen in our suite so it was wonderful for our family. The also serve complimentary breakfast in the morning and the staffs preparing breakfast there were very nice! We came out right before they were about to stop serving breakfast but instead of fussing and giving us a hard time, they were very sweet and kept offering us what we needed to get. It is DEFINITELY worth the price we were paying to stay here. Free parking, location seems safe. Hotel rooms are clean and seems new and worth the price. About a 10 mins drive to the nearest metro station.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011 via mobile

We stayed recently (Feb. 2011) and it was amazing. It is close to Arlington cemetery and turistic destinations in DC. The location is also close to TGIF and Five Guys hamburger joint. The room was really cleaned and the staff are super friendly. The best part of this hotel was the delicious breakfast buffet. The served eggs, sausage, delicious biscuits, sausage gravy I believe is the name of the topping fir the biscuits, fresh fresh fruit, waffles, etc. And the coffee was amazing. Would recommend to all especially family willing to drive about 4 to 5 miles to DC.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, March 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to serving you again during future visits to the Washington DC area.

The Staff and Management
Homewood Suites by Hilton
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

I decided to try the Homewood Suites based on commercials and advertisements I've seen. This location is close to my home and I decided to stay here while my house was being painted. I liked that it has free parking, free wifi and a kitchen for cooking. The rooms are comfortable but my whirlpool tub room is really shabby around the edges. There are paint splatters around the baseboards, strange scruff marks on the walls and the tub really looks like it has seen better days. My heat won't work on "auto" only on constant fan which means no relief from constant heat. There is no toaster in the kitchen.
My biggest disappointment has been with the food. Truly, truly horrendous. I have stayed at Marriott Residence Inns for work before, several times for two to three weeks' at a time. Their food is amazing in comparison to this food. Everything is pre-packaged and baked or microwaved outside near the buffet. Truly disgusting. No dessert with dinner. Breakfast consists of limited cereals, waffles, egg, one meat and potatoe item. I've never eaten such bland and boring food except in emergencies or remote locations. For the price of government per diem you are better off staying at the Marriott Residence Inn in Rosslyn where you are closer to better restaurants, the Metro and DC. This might be good with better food options.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, February 1, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of amenities you deserve. Because your stay with us is very important, we try hard to make sure all our guests have a rewarding experience at Homewood Suites. I will be reaching out to you to discuss your stay in further detail.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

For the most part, I was pleased throughout my stay -- up until the morning that I was checking out and saw an earwig. More on that later.

My room was huge. The two flat-screen TVs were wonderful (although I used only the one in the sitting room). The fitness center had two elliptical machines, two treadmills, and a weight set. The toiletries were Neutrogena brand and included (only) soap, lotion, shampoo, and conditioner. I was happy that the Internet was free, but it was slower the second night than it was the first night. It was so slow, in fact, that Google Maps kept freezing up. But hey, it was free.

Now, the earwig. I don't want to make a big deal about it, but it left a bad last impression. I was getting ready in the bathroom, and my bags were almost all packed... and then an earwig crawls out from under the bathroom sink... Not good. I don't really know how common / uncommon earwigs are in the area, but I've never seen one in any hotel, and I've stayed at plenty..

Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesGM4850, General Manager at Homewood Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, February 1, 2011
We are sorry we were not able to provide you with a greast last impression of your stay. Because your stay with us is very important, we try hard to make sure all our guests have a rewarding experience at Homewood Suites. I will be reaching out to you in order to make this right.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
By the lake in Indiana
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

I was very, very impressed with Homewood Suites. It was very reasonably prices, clean, was a suite that had kitchenette, living room, bedroom, bathroom, all generously sized. Beds were very comfortable, also. Breakfast was fantastic - make your own waffles, biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal, bagels, toast, juices, coffee, etc. It was great! Only downside was desk clerks were not helpful with pretty much anything. Also, two employees sat in the lobby restroom in each stall, would not budge, would not leave, and just sat on the toilets and chatted! Desk clerk had to go in and yell at them and tell them to get back to work. That was the only downside - everything else was wonderful and highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Alexandria

Address: 4850 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#13 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Alexandria 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo, Priceline and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Homewood Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Homewood Alexandria
Alexandria Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.