We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oyster Happy Hour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hank's Oyster Bar

Hank's Oyster Bar
1026 King St, Ste 1, Alexandria, VA 22314-6710 (Old Town)
703-739-4265
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 650 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: Seafood, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Old Town
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Oyster Happy Hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Visited Hank's for happy hour last evening. The bar area is very nice and offered $1 oysters from 5:30-6:30. No drink specials are included on happy hour. The bartenders were friendly and attentive. We only had oysters but the menu appeared to offer nice choices with daily specials. There is a dining room as well but we sat at the bar. Will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    80
    19
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“runny clam chowder”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Coming from the midwest, I was looking forward to a good cup of clam chowder and crab cakes on a cold dreary evening in Alexandria.
We were seated right away at the bar and had our food delivered promptly. But the chowder was very disappointing. It was quite runny. The crab cakes also were just not up to par; pretty tasteless
The service was good and the location perfect but was not thrilled with our choices.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Wonderful Oysters!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Wonderful visit at 6:45pm on a Monday night. Called ahead to get on the waitlist and walked right in. The fresh, raw oysters were among the best I've had. Wonderful beet, sunflower, feta salad. Tried a few of the fried clams and, while not usually a fried food fan, I realized I've been eating fried clams all wrong for years! Price isn't "inexpensive" and the seating is tight and not at all private. Don't come here if you need a private conversation or a romatntic dinner but if you want good seafood...and sophisticated menu, this fits the bill. Staff was friendly and efficient. Worth the visit and I will surely return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The Best Oysters in DC Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We have been a lot and it never fails to have the best, freshest oysters. We went last night and in addition to oysters, the clam stew was fantastic. Also the Rockfish special with Brussels sprouts and a mustard sauce was super good. Everything thing here is always great and very fresh. It is small and a little noisy as a result. They have expanded and now have a better bar area for waiting on a table. They don't take reservations but you can call about 30 mins ahead and get on the waiting list.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fresh quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Had dinner here one night, they had 6 different types of oysters to choose from, the coleslaw was exceptional and other appetizers were wonderful. The food was really good. It is a small place with tables close to each other, so not a place for romantic nights with quiet. But very good seafood.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hank's Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Hank's Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hank's Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.