We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 N. Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

This hotel makes me feel very homely, and comfortable. I totally adore the Kitchen. It was stocked up with snacks, soup, instant noodles, drinks, ice cream, cofffee machine. And you are welcome to get anything you want. Utensiles, hot water, oven etc are also ready.

Room is spacious, super king size bed (too big for me), wired internet access, work desk. Everything was perfect. Breakfast wise was average, but no complains.

What can be improved will the the service. Receptionist is lazy, and not very helpful.

But generally, this is a very nice place to stay in.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwoldcolony, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2010
Thank you so much for letting me know how your stay went. I am glad that you felt at home and enjoyed the snack kitchen. It is our goal that you have everything you need so that you have a great and memorable experience. I appreciate you bringing to my attention the service you experienced and I am looking into it. We hope to see you again in the future.

Thank you,
Shaunna Grace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    130
    46
    16
    12
See reviews for
134
92
23
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
joisey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

The owners say they want you to feel at home -- complete with a stocked kitchen to raid for a midnight snack (or anytime) -- for free. It's unbelievable! Actually, the selection in that kitchen makes home a lot less appealing to return to -- at least as far as snacks are concerned! Breakfast at the hotel was good. Sheets somehow seemed extra clean. Internet is free but not wireless, as best we could determine. There is a business centere with two pc's.
The guest kitchen is the best reason to come here. Washington was great, but even if we don't feel like hiking around the city some time, we may just go there and hang at the hotel -- eating ice cream, cookies, chips, yogurt, and drinking juice, water, soda, fresh coffee, tea.
They also have a full kitchen the staff uses to prepare morning breakfast. The only bad thing I have to say about food here is that the scrambled eggs were barely eatable, maybe powdered or watered down too much, There was a yummy breakfast burrito one day. They have okay pastries, English muffins, a waffle machine. plus oatmeal, cereals and fruit.
The hotel staff is the most helpful and friendliest we've come across in a long time.
To get into to DC by car is maybe 15 minutes -- I never timed it -- a fairly straight shot on the highway the hotel is on. They have a free shuttle to the metro train station every half hour. Even on the weekend, parking was very hard to find around the attractions -- and a quarter buys you just seven minutes! You need a lot of change!!!
( I'm not saying much about the room itself because we got the last one and I don't think it's representative of most rooms there. It did not have a flat screen and the bathroom was outdated. The shower has a water massager that couldn't be adjusted to spray.) Nevertheless, we enjoyed our stay here and will be going back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwoldcolony, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2010
I appreciate you taking the time to write about your great stay. It is our goal that you have the best stay possible and experience superior hospitality. The snack kitchen has been a hit ever since the owners first introduced it and we love that we are able to offer it to our guests. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again, you are welcome to hang out with us anytime!

Thank you,
Shaunna Grace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

Very pleasant experience. The staff was friendly and went out of their way to help. Breakfast ended at 9:30 AM, but when I and other late-rising guests straggled down at 9:10 AM, the staff brought out new hot trays of sausage, eggs and other items, and didn't chase us out of the breakfast room. They also have a snack room where you can get water, juice, cereal bars, coffee, etc. 24 hrs a day - very nice amenity I hadn't seen anywhere else. The rooms weren't anything special tho, hardwired instead of wireless internet (but it is still free), no elevator, so may not be best for disabled.. You can walk to Old Town Alexandria and the Braddock Road Metro station (about 1/2 mile walk for each), but you may wish to take taxi at nighttime to and from Metro station due to projects near station. Neighborhood around hotel is fine. Overall, an excellent experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

I needed an "overnight hotel" after arriving at Reagan International.and this fit the need perfectly. Was walking distance to a quaint Italian restaurant. Parking was well lite and close to entrance of hotel.
Staff was available, very pleasant and very helpful.
Complimentary breakfast was better than average.
The room was small, clean but not remarkable in visual attributes. The bathroom spotless. Furnishings looked a little tired, but then again, I wasn't resorting!!!
This fit the bill for the basic needs of a tired traveller,

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

If you are looking for a clean hotel that is close to the DC Metro, at a fair price, witha very helpful friendly staff, free parking, a very good complimentary breakfast, free shuttle around Alexandria and a 24/7 free snack kitchen (with drinks, ice cream, chips, cookies, soups and fruit) this hotel will be a great fit for you. If you are looking for a stylish and posh hotel, this will not work for you. My family stayed there on our recent DC trip and found the hotel to be comfortable but very plain and simple. There isn't a pool and their hot tub is out of commission (we overheard it to be permanently). Also, beware the beds are only double and not the most comfortable we've seen. My husband is 6'3" and had trouble getting comfortable in our bed.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basye, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

With most of the city booked for the evening, I took a chance on the Old Colony...every aspect of my stay far exceeded my expectations! The hospitality at check-in was superb, and I found the entire property very clean and well maintained. I also found the value to be unbelievable! The property is obviously well managed. I have been in the hospitality industry over 35 years, working with luxury resorts and hotels, and I can highly recommend the Old Colony for service, quality and overall value. This is a hidden gem.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

This was our first trip with our very young kids. We were nervous about travelling, but the staff here made everything great. They let us check in early, and check out late. There were free snacks and beverages upstairs. King St. is about a 10 minute walk from this hotel, but it wasn't a massive deal. Parking is free, and DC is straight up the road 5 miles. For any family that wants to tour DC, but doesn't want the hectic city atmosphere, this place was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn

Address: 1101 N. Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#23 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Groupon, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Old Colony Hotel Alexandria
Best Western Alexandria
Alexandria Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.