We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel in a convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 N. Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Offenbach
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel in a convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I stayed four night in the Best Western Old Colony Inn on my trip to the D.C. area. The hotel is conveniently located just 5 Miles from the National Mall. A scheduled shuttle bus connects the hotel with Braddock Road Metro station; on the way back I had to call the hotel for a shuttle, which arrived minutes after the call.
Breakfast is above Best Western standard. The offered a good choice of juices, coffee, cereals, bread and hot items (changing daily).
The room was clean and quiet. As the hotel is located on a bypass of Washington Parkway, traffic is not too noisy.
Internet connection was fast and stable. Parking is free; some lots are even covered. I will definitely stay here again on my next D.C. trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    127
    43
    16
    12
See reviews for
133
86
22
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed at this Best Western for 5 days while sightseeing the Washington DC area. The location is very convenient to the subway into DC and also close to the night life on King Street. We have two small children 7 and 3. Normally we opt for the suite when staying at a hotel, but for some reason this Best Western does not have any. Need less to say with two double beds and four of us in the room it was a little cramped. There is no refrigerator or microwave in the room and the ice is dispensed in plastic baggies from a freezer by the back door (thought this to be a little hokey).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear JasonbP5527XN,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I am glad to hear you came to visit our nations capital and enjoyed some of the fun down on King Street. You are correct, we do not have suites at our hotel. Sorry, we could have provided you with a refrigerator if we had known you wanted one. For the ice bags, we do not have an ice machine right now but still wanted our guest to have ice if they wanted it. So that is why we provided it in bags.
Hope you come back and visit the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We had a pleasant stay at this hotel. The bed was very comfortable, plenty of towels, air conditioning competent. The electric outlet for the lamp was an extension cord that came through the wall... I requested a cot when I reserved, but it wasn't in the room - we had to ask for it. Staff are very pleasant, breakfast choices OK - some hot items.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I have stayed here several times, but this will be last one. Rooms are ok, but bathroom is pretty bad and does not appear to be properly maintained. Skip the breakfast - it is not worth it. If you rely on the shuttle to take you to the subway, tell the front desk: The information sheet in the room may say that the shuttle leaves for the subway on the hour and half-hour, but that is just on paper!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Bente J,
I just wanted to let you know that we do take our comments from our guest very seriously. Yes we know our bathrooms are dated and we have stared renovations on them this month. As far as the Shuttle goes, that is their schedule but sometimes they get off schedule when waiting on guest at the airport or if someone miss the shuttle and has to be taken somewhere right away. I know that puts them off schedule but we try to do what we can to make our guest stay pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The rooms are clean and good sized. The beds are comfortable. Free parking. Complimentary breakfast is an expanded continental one with the typical fare and a different hot entree each day. Complimentary shuttle to Old Town Alexandria and the Metro Station. The staff was friendly and went out of their way to to make your stay an enjoyable experience. There is a DVD lending library and a DVD player in every room. Two "negatives": there is no elevator however the staff offers to assist with carrying your luggage up and down the stairs and there is no microwave or refrigerator in the rooms however there is a microwave available in the lobby area. I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandan, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed there for 6 nights while visiting Washington DC. Breakfast was excellent and we liked where the hotel was located. Lots of things to do on Kings Street. We also like that there was a shuttle that took you to the Metro or anywhere as long as it was within a 2 mile radius Rooms were quite and the beds were comfy.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

No elevator only stairs. Guests with luggage will have a problem if they are staying on the 2nd floor. The first room we were assigned smell of body odor and we requested another room which we were moved to.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear JandJVirginia,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I am sorry that there was an odor in your first room. I am happy to here that we had another room to move you into so that the rest of your stay was better.
Thank you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn

Address: 1101 N. Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#24 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, Best Western and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Old Colony Hotel Alexandria
Best Western Alexandria
Alexandria Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.