We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 N. Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #25 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
France
1 review
“Good hotel, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Good hotel. Everything was correct during my stay for business. Howether, 2 or 3 points should be revised : - Disappearance of the snack kitchen (by the past, drinks & small snacks were available free) ; - Quality of breakfast "medium" ; - Rooms & corridors were a little cold.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    160
    62
    23
    16
See reviews for
165
117
28
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

We were recently in Old Town Alexandria with a large group of friends for the annual Scottish Christmas walk. The Old Colony Inn was our choice for accommodations.
We were extremely pleased with the location, the rooms, the amenities, and especially the friendly and helpful staff. While the hotel is within easy walking distance to most attractions, when the weather turned frosty, we used the courtesy shuttle. It was prompt, comfortable, and the drivers professional but friendly. This
Is a great, economical choice for Alexandria or Washington. We'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
jaconstance,
We are so glad you choose to stay with us while you were in town for the Scottish Christmas walk. With all the hotels out there, the fact that you choose us for your stay makes is very happy. Please come back and see us again and thank you so much for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Best Western Old Colony Inn was our choice for a four-night stay in Alexandria VA to visit our son. The price was right! Also -- and important -- location plus free parking. Location: it's a walk to Old Town but not too long a walk, so in a milder season (today is December 1st) we could hoof it to good shopping and restaurants. Parking: last time we came to Alexandria we stayed in a hotel that offered a great price for the room but charged $25 a day to park! The Old Colony Inn has free parking, including two areas offering covered parking. The room was decent, clean, and convenient: TV (and DVD player!!), usual coffeemaker, etc. Bed was comfortable. The place was quiet. We plan to return there on our next visit to the city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandria va
Level Contributor
99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Comfortable room, clean, well maintained, breakfast had good selection and hot item changed each day. Staff was friendly and helpful. Negatives - no elevator, keycard that didn't work. Would stay again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
ritch62,
We were so glad to be able to host your stay in our hotel for 5 days. Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good time. Please come back a stay with us again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomngton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is a very friendly and helpful inn. Good neighbor and very close to old town Alexandria, Virginia. Their shuttle service was very helpful. We decided to stay longer and the inn was very accommodating. The breakfast was good with a different entree everyday of our stay. If you needed to eat their for a meal or forgot to bring toothbrush, etc., they have a small room full of about anything you need (for a small fee).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

If you can't afford to stay in DC, lucky you, go and stay in Alexandria (Old Town) So glad the inflated prices (even during the shutdown) forced us to look further than the city itself. Easy access to Alexandria and The Best Western is on the Metro from Union Station, we arrived by Amtrak. The Hotel runs an efficient and always accessible shuttle to and from Braddock Road Metro and Ronald Regan Airport and also to downtown Alexandria although you can easily walk that and in fact the shuttle ends at 9pm so we did walk home from the Metro station late one night quite easily and safely. Excellent value for money, super comfy beds, amenities & cleanliness adequate. Breakfast is included but quality should always out way quantity, enough said on the food..... the room where it was served was rather gloomy and drab which is odd seeing as just outside there appeared to be a very pleasant lounge area and small business center. Front desk staff were always pleasant, knowledgeable about the local area and helpful during our departure. The noon check-out is a bonus. You can travel so easily and cheaply in and out of DC on the metro and if you want to stay in this charming, historic, leafy area, The Best Western would be ideal.

Room Tip: No elevators but choose 2nd floor for a slightly better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
First of all I would like to thank you for taking your time to fill out a review. I am glad to hear you had a good stay with us while you were here in the Alexandria/DC area. Please come back and visit us the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Poor Check-Out Experience.Poor Check-Out Experience.Poor Check-Out Experience.Poor Check-Out Experience.Poor Check-Out Experience.Poor Check-Out Experience.Poor Check-Out Experience.Poor Check-Out Experience.Poor Check-Out Experience.Poor Check-Out Experience.Poor Check-Out Experience.Poor Check-Out Experience.Poor Check-Out Experience.Poor Check-Out Experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
I am sorry to hear that you had a bad experience checking out. I wish you would have given a little more detail so I knew what caused you to have this bad check out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
8.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn

Address: 1101 N. Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#24 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Old Colony Hotel Alexandria
Best Western Alexandria
Alexandria Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.