We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much improved” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 N. Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #23 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Much improved”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

It was clear upon my arrival that the hotel had been recently renovated. My previous visit (about 9 months back) was quite disappointing, but I decided to give it another try after learning the hotel was under new management. The difference was striking. My room was very clean (with the exception of some corner wall areas), smelled fresh, and had nice linens and furnishings. Azeb, the front desk receptionist, was superb - friendly, welcoming, helpful, resourceful. She went out of her way to make my stay a pleasant one. The metro is within easy walking distance (10-15 min) as well as the shops and restaurants in Old Town. An added bonus was a Trader Joe's just down the street. Recommendation: small fridge and microwave in each room (without additional fee). I plan to book another stay!

Room Tip: My second floor room was very quiet and restful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    115
    38
    15
    10
See reviews for
119
81
21
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murchison, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Our experience at this hotel was GREAT! Close to airport (shuttle always available), close to metro (shuttled to metro), close to restaurants, close to market and hotel staff was WONDERFUL! VERY clean and bed was wonderful! Nice linens!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Just wanted to say, Thank you very much for your response and I am glad you had such a good time here in Alexandria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Orange, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel was fine but the staff took absolutely no effort to deal with the heater. It was freezing in the rooms. They said the heaters were not turned on and there was nothing they could do. I paid for an igloo. The distance to Washington was really nice though.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Leshawna V,
Thank you for letting us know about your stay with us at the Best Western. I would like to apologize for the heating issue you had while staying here. It was an unseasonable cold week-end and the heating system was not operating correctly. We did get it fixed and again I am sorry for the cold night.
Please think about coming back and visiting us again so we can really show you our superior customer care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

There is a difference between old and quaint...and old and dirty!!! We stayed in Room 225 and we used a lot of Clorox wipes! There were brown drip marks on the bathroom tile wall. The caulking around the toilet was brown. The shower head was scuzzy. The bathroom door was hard to open and close. Edges around carpet had not been vacuumed in a long time. The Internet was in and out. No ice machine...they filled little ice bags. The breakfast was good. Way overpriced! Hard to find...it actually sits back on another street from their actual address.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations.
You are correct about there being a difference between old and quaint...and old and dirty.
Yes we are an older property but we are not a dirty hotel and this is not the type of hotel we
run. I will look into these matters right away and make the necessary corrections.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The cons: Comforter slightly dirty; bathroom scuzzy; front desk people absent, unhelpful, disengaged. Trash bags and linen bags left out in full view in the hallway all night, each night. Carpet circa 1991.

The pros: Waffle-maker downstairs; location okay; it could be worse?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
First of all I would like to thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I will look into the problems that you mentioned and take action right away.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We felt like we stumbled upon a hidden gem when we walked into the Best Western Colony Inn on Washington Street in Alexandria, VA. It was our first time to the area and the staff was unbelievably helpful in getting us around in the right direction. They explained the public transportation and suggested the best way to get around. Best thing...free parking and free shuttle. We quickly found out how rare that was. The colonial style was present in the hotel and it has a welcoming porch and office. Plus complimentary coffee and snacks. The rooms had free Wifi and comfy triple sheeted beds. Breakfast was included and was different each day. Both warm and cold selections were included. I can't say enough about this motel! It's 8 miles from DC and 8 miles from Mt Vernon. About five blocks from the Potomac and Old Town Alexandria.

Room Tip: When using the GPS to find this hotel, it will send you about one block off. Call the hotel and ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We felt like we stumbled upon a hidden gem when we walked into the Best Western Colony Inn on Washington Street in Alexandria, VA. It was our first time to the area and the staff was unbelievably helpful in getting us around in the right direction. They explained the public transportation and suggested the best way to get around. Best thing...free parking and free shuttle. We quickly found out how rare that was. The colonial style was present in the hotel and it has a welcoming porch and office. Plus complimentary coffee and snacks. The rooms had free Wifi and comfy triple sheeted beds. Breakfast was included and was different each day. Both warm and cold selections were included. I can't say enough about this motel! It's 8 miles from DC and 8 miles from Mt Vernon. About five blocks from the Potomac and Old Town Alexandria.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn

Address: 1101 N. Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Old Colony Hotel Alexandria
Best Western Alexandria
Alexandria Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.