We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Major disappointment.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 N. Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #23 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Berkeley
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Major disappointment.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The cons: Comforter slightly dirty; bathroom scuzzy; front desk people absent, unhelpful, disengaged. Trash bags and linen bags left out in full view in the hallway all night, each night. Carpet circa 1991.

The pros: Waffle-maker downstairs; location okay; it could be worse?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
First of all I would like to thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I will look into the problems that you mentioned and take action right away.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    98
    31
    11
    9
See reviews for
96
75
20
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We felt like we stumbled upon a hidden gem when we walked into the Best Western Colony Inn on Washington Street in Alexandria, VA. It was our first time to the area and the staff was unbelievably helpful in getting us around in the right direction. They explained the public transportation and suggested the best way to get around. Best thing...free parking and free shuttle. We quickly found out how rare that was. The colonial style was present in the hotel and it has a welcoming porch and office. Plus complimentary coffee and snacks. The rooms had free Wifi and comfy triple sheeted beds. Breakfast was included and was different each day. Both warm and cold selections were included. I can't say enough about this motel! It's 8 miles from DC and 8 miles from Mt Vernon. About five blocks from the Potomac and Old Town Alexandria.

Room Tip: When using the GPS to find this hotel, it will send you about one block off. Call the hotel and ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We felt like we stumbled upon a hidden gem when we walked into the Best Western Colony Inn on Washington Street in Alexandria, VA. It was our first time to the area and the staff was unbelievably helpful in getting us around in the right direction. They explained the public transportation and suggested the best way to get around. Best thing...free parking and free shuttle. We quickly found out how rare that was. The colonial style was present in the hotel and it has a welcoming porch and office. Plus complimentary coffee and snacks. The rooms had free Wifi and comfy triple sheeted beds. Breakfast was included and was different each day. Both warm and cold selections were included. I can't say enough about this motel! It's 8 miles from DC and 8 miles from Mt Vernon. About five blocks from the Potomac and Old Town Alexandria.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

An mid-level motel, it provides a clean and quiet room, easy and free parking, a good breakfast, and a good location for the metro to Washington and walk to the town center of Alexandria and the promenade along the Potomac. I have marked it 4* as it is not that expensive for access to Washington. Outside the metro area it would rate as 3*.

A shuttle to the metro is provided, but it is only 10 minutes walk, and it is also a pleasant 10 minute walk to King St restaurants and shops through the old town. The desk is friendly, but insist on a second floor room if you don't mind carrying your cases up the stairs and perhaps waiting for a room to be made ready. The rooms do not have much daylight, and imho, the second floor rooms are a tiny bit lighter and homelier.

Room Tip: Second floor is lighter and airier, I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, NJ
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We received a favorable rate for the stay and we received a nice comfortable stay. The hotel is clean, the staff is pleasant and helpful. The location and access to the hotel are excellent. There was always ample parking. The room was pleasant although some areas could have been updated as the tub area and the air conditioner/heater was a little noisy and limited in range (cooler-warmer) even though it did work. Our room did not come with a refrigerator which would have been a nice option. I also felt that the maid staff was sometimes skimping on the amenities.... we got soap and shampoo but nothing else. Breakfast was good with ample amounts of food and one hot dish every day. It was a very good basic breakfast. All in all I think this was a good place to stay aside from the items I mentioned before. The hotel is within a ten minute walk from King Street and about the same to the Braddock Rd. Metro station. There are many restaurants and a supermarket close by. The neighborhood was quiet and felt very safe when we walked out at night. They offer a shuttle service to/and from the airport and local areas which is fine (but it does stop at about 8:30 at night). I would probably stay here again as it was a nice setting with only some minor issues.

Room Tip: I liked the room facing Washington St.. Rooms on the other side look at the parking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Pros- very good value for the area. They run a free shuttle to a metro station and to old town Alexandria every 30 minutes. The front desk was very helpful and the breakfast was outstanding, they changed the hot food menu every day. We walked several nights to have dinner about 3-4 blocks away and felt very safe.
Cons- bed and pillows were not very comfortable, room was nice and clean but the air conditioner for a central unit was noisy. The bathroom was clean but needs to be updated and exhaust fan is noisy. Some things need to be updated

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate hearing from our guest so that we know what areas we need to work on and what areas we are doing ok. We appreciate your comments and will take a look at that noisy exhaust fan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The Old Colony room was basic, but updated with new furnishings and a very comfotable bed. The main amenity is the complimentary shuttle service is convenient in getting to local restaurants, Metro and airport; but it is available only to 9:00 p.m. The neighborhood seems safe, but is not well lit in Old Colony's vicinity. Overall, we believe the Trip Advisor rating is reflective of the very good value we received.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn

Also Known As:
Best Western Old Colony Hotel
Best Western Old Colony Hotel Alexandria
Best Western Alexandria
Alexandria Best Western
Address: 1101 N. Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Best Western, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.