We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I usually run from Best Western, glad I "stuck around"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 N. Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #25 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Conway, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I usually run from Best Western, glad I "stuck around"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I am from South Carolina and travel at least five times a year throughout the south east. I would NEVER EVER stay at a Best Western Hotel. I usually book rooms at Hampton Inn, Embassy Suites or Courtyard by Marriott. Because of an event in town, those hotels were booked. I needed to reserve at least six rooms immediately. Therefore, I was forces to notice the reviews for Best Western. I don't think I will stay at another Best Western. When I return to the DC area in the fall, I will definitely return to this hotel. It was conveniently located off of 95/495. The employees were extremely helpful in assisting me with directions. Before checking in, I requested rooms on the first floor to assist one of my aunts that has complications with her knees. June, accommodated my family by reserving the other six (6) rooms on the first floor. It has only been one day and I have recommended this hotel to more than four friends that are frequent visitors to the area. My only disappointment was the breakfast. I read a review that it was a "hot breakfast". Unfortunately, it was continental breakfast. This would, definitely, not stop me from returning as a guest !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    155
    55
    19
    16
See reviews for
155
108
28
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelso, Washington, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This was our second stay. We stay here because of the location although the rooms are great and so is the breakfast. We did miss the snack room that they had last time we stayed. The shuttle to the airport and the metro makes it a very convenient place to stay. No need to rent a car.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is a great hotel for people with vehicles who want to be close to the mall in a quiet residential setting. The hotel is fairly intimate, the rooms are spacious and clean & the staff is friendly. The price includes: free parking, Wi-Fi and a descent breakfast. It never took us more than 10 minutes to get to the Mall area. The location is a few blocks from King St, that has shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is our second stay at this hotel. The previous stay over a year ago, and we loved it and had a wonderful time. There have been changes and we feel the quality has declined in the last year. They no longer offer the snack kitchen, which was a nice perk, but we understand that it was probably costing far too much to keep it going. That being said, why not turn that room into a vending room with an ice machine?? Trudging up and down those stairs to get ice is very tiring. The breakfast has gone downhill also. The eggs were overcooked so badly, they were not edible. Even the hard boiled eggs were completely dried out. I couldn't eat them. The biscuits and gravy and fresh waffles were the only saving grace for this breakfast. I would suggest stopping the hot food and focus on providing better fresh cold options like bagels, muffins and fresh fruit if this is the best you can do.

The shuttle service is still a great convenience and we used it daily to get to and from the metro and to dinner every night. Even with the negatives, we still think the good outweighs the bad and we would still recommend the hotel and hope that things improve before our next trip.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so if you are unable to climb stairs ask for a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
First I would like to thank you for your comments. You are correct about not offering the snack kitchen anymore. We have undergone new management and we are in the process of making some changes to the hotel. I agree about the eggs, so we have changed brands. I hope you give us another chance and see how nice we turn out. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

It looks to have a lot of parking space, so if you have a car, I think this would be a great choice for you. If you don't, you will have to rely on shuttle service, which was dependable and the driver was really accommodating, or walk. A LOT. The room was clean and the bed was super comfortable. The front desk was friendly and helpful.

I deducted a little from the rating just because of the location being inconvenient and because I was put in a room directly behind the front desk, which made it a bit of a loud stay. There is not much to do in the immediate area in terms of convenience stores or shopping or restaurants, but if you go down to King Street, about a 15-20 minute walk, there is plenty of all three. I don't know that I would stay here again, because I'm pretty independent and don't like to wait for and rely on a shuttle to get around, but the hotel itself is fine and was a good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Beds were very comfortable room fairly clean except for dead bugs in bathroom ceiling light. Staff was very friendly. We had a first floor room that was very easy for my mother who can not walk very far. The Handicapped parking was about 20 ft from our door. Breakfast was not the greatest hotel breakfast I have had. Food was not hot and they ran out of eggs.
Also get into HOV lane and don't miss turning right into service road. The hotel is not well marked and easy to miss.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
I would like to thank you for leaving us a review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and I already have housekeeping working on those lights. Thank you for letting me know. Come back and see us again and we will make sure you get some eggs.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn

Address: 1101 N. Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#23 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Old Colony Hotel Alexandria
Best Western Alexandria
Alexandria Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.