We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location if you like to walk and we do.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 N. Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #21 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good location if you like to walk and we do.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed at hotel last June with family. Wife and two kids age 15 and 17. Hotel was older but clean and beds were very comfortable. On On each floor, only three floors, they had a n area with refrigerator and freezer with all kinds of drinks, ice cream, snacks, noodles, cookies, granola bars. WOW! That's what our kids said. That was nice for taking in to DC which we did every day. The Metro was about 20 minute walk, which we did half the time we were there, and the other half we took the shuttle , which was never more than a 5 minute wait. There were a few restaurants nearby to eat, we ate at a pub, and it was good, and a Trader Joe's close by, and also a large grocery store. Great place to stay if visiting DC. We would get off the train in downtown Alexandria, walk thru town and find a nice restaurant to eat , and then walk back to our hotel. Was a great time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanda W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We are located close to so many attractions, Metro and the Airport. Our Free shuttle is a good way to travel if you do not want to walk. It sounds like your family enjoyed the walks around "Old Alexandria". We will look forward to a return visit soon.

Wanda Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    110
    37
    13
    10
See reviews for
112
81
21
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I've stayed at the BW Old Colony on business many times. Overall, it is clean, convenient & well run by a great staff. It is an older property, and not at all modern. But the previous owners compensated for this by making sure it was very clean, the beds were new & comfortable, the breakfast was above average, and the snacks were offered free on the honor system.

Unfortunately, the family that owned this Hotel recently sold it. The new owners are trying to cheapen it down, not understanding that there are several similar "value" hotels in close distance. First, they eliminated the free snacks. Now it seems less clean than before. And you can bet that when the beds and carpets start getting worn out they will let those go too.

Kind of sad to see a place where the previous owners understood the limitations of the property and compensated to make it a good-value niche offering. Yet the new owners don't seem to get that, so it's beginning a slow decline.

If you're looking for luxury or amenities, this is not the place for you. But if you want good value in a decent location, then it's OK. For now. We'll see, but I would guess that in a few months I won't be staying there anymore.

Room Tip: Rooms on teh East side are quieter b/c the West side faces the GW Parkway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanda W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Yes, the hotel does have new owners but we are dedicated to maintaining a warm, inviting, and clean hotel. The hotel has the same staff members as previous. Many of the staff have been here for years and are dedicated to customer service. If your room was not up to par from previous visits I need to know so we can take care of the problem. Yes, to remove the snack kitchen was a difficult decision.
There are some renovations that are being made to the public areas to bring it up to date.
We look forward to your next visit and please make myself or a staff member aware of any situation. We want our guest to enjoy their stay with us.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

When I started staying here last fall it *was* a great deal, but no longer. As pointed out, it is older & thin walled. Since the new owners took over, the snack area was discontinued, and not even vending machines were there for weeks. The workout area is in disrepair, and last week they stopped all Internet support. Forget free (which it was) now it is non-existent. The front desk keeps saying the same thing "new owners now - they are making changes."

Too bad, in two months they have taken it from a great deal - even though it is old - to just old.

For you money, you get a room, TV and breakfast(poor). If you must cut every penny stay here. Otherwise, spend $20/night more and pick a competitor - you will be glad you did. Too bad - I had been staying here for months while traveling.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanda W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry you had a less than great experience at our hotel. We appreciate the time you took to give your review. Yes, the snack kitchen is no longer available. Management evaluate the cost of continuing it and it had become to costly for the property to support. However, we now have available a variety of reasonably priced sundries and snacks for hotel guest to purchase. We did have a router down with the internet which has now been replaced. The wireless internet is working great and "it is free to all of our guest." We serve a full hot breakfast 7 days a week to our guest, which is also free. Actually the construction workers will be on property this Monday to begin some renovations that will include the lobby, lower lobby and the workout area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammonton, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I booked this hotel two months ago for a three day weekend for work. I chose this hotel because of the snack kitchen, hot tub, breakfast, shuttle and pool. When I got there I learned the hot tub and pool are no longer in use and that they are no longer stocking the snack kitchen. I was extremely disappointed that the hotel no longer had these amenities because I was excited about them. On a positive note, the shuttle was very convenient and the continental breakfast was fabulous. The rooms also have thin walls, someone across the hall had a cough and I heard him coughing all night. Another thing that I found odd is that the only toiletry that came with the room other then the soap was a tiny bottle of conditioning shampoo. Overall I was disappointed because the amenities listed on the website were no longer at the hotel, but I WOULD STAY AGAIN because it was still a good value especially with the free parking. I also found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Staff were very friendly & helpful......free shuttle service to DCA & Metro Station & the rooms were nice & very clean w/comfortable beds & a flat screen TV. They offer a complimentary breakfast as well, but I chose to sleep-in & skip breakfast. There is also a supermarket w/in walking distance. Would definitely stay here again on my next trip to the DC area!!!!!!

Room Tip: Try & get a room on the 1st floor, as there is no elevator, but the shuttle driver offered to ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwoldcolony, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and giving us the opportunity to serve you. We are glad that you had a positive experience during your stay and we look forward to having you back.

Best regards,

Fadi Medawar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Lake Park, Illinois, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Love Alexandria , and my littlest love lives w/in walking distance from this hideway neighborhood motel.Yummy breakfast and plenty of happy extras.Close enough to the metro to see the great sights of D.C.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwoldcolony, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

We at the Old Colony Inn want to thank you for the review and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us during the holiday season. We hope to see you again soon and please let us know if we can be of any assistance for your next travels to the DC area. We wish you a very happy new year and thank you for your business.

Best Regards,

Fadi Medawar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn

Address: 1101 N. Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Old Colony Hotel Alexandria
Best Western Alexandria
Alexandria Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;