We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location if you like to walk and we do.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 N. Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST VALUE RATE BOOK NOW
Ranked #21 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good location if you like to walk and we do.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed at hotel last June with family. Wife and two kids age 15 and 17. Hotel was older but clean and beds were very comfortable. On On each floor, only three floors, they had a n area with refrigerator and freezer with all kinds of drinks, ice cream, snacks, noodles, cookies, granola bars. WOW! That's what our kids said. That was nice for taking in to DC which we did every day. The Metro was about 20 minute walk, which we did half the time we were there, and the other half we took the shuttle , which was never more than a 5 minute wait. There were a few restaurants nearby to eat, we ate at a pub, and it was good, and a Trader Joe's close by, and also a large grocery store. Great place to stay if visiting DC. We would get off the train in downtown Alexandria, walk thru town and find a nice restaurant to eat , and then walk back to our hotel. Was a great time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelinmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanda W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We are located close to so many attractions, Metro and the Airport. Our Free shuttle is a good way to travel if you do not want to walk. It sounds like your family enjoyed the walks around "Old Alexandria". We will look forward to a return visit soon.

Wanda Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I've stayed at the BW Old Colony on business many times. Overall, it is clean, convenient & well run by a great staff. It is an older property, and not at all modern. But the previous owners compensated for this by making sure it was very clean, the beds were new & comfortable, the breakfast was above average, and the snacks were offered free on the honor system.

Unfortunately, the family that owned this Hotel recently sold it. The new owners are trying to cheapen it down, not understanding that there are several similar "value" hotels in close distance. First, they eliminated the free snacks. Now it seems less clean than before. And you can bet that when the beds and carpets start getting worn out they will let those go too.

Kind of sad to see a place where the previous owners understood the limitations of the property and compensated to make it a good-value niche offering. Yet the new owners don't seem to get that, so it's beginning a slow decline.

If you're looking for luxury or amenities, this is not the place for you. But if you want good value in a decent location, then it's OK. For now. We'll see, but I would guess that in a few months I won't be staying there anymore.

Room Tip: Rooms on teh East side are quieter b/c the West side faces the GW Parkway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanda W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

When I started staying here last fall it *was* a great deal, but no longer. As pointed out, it is older & thin walled. Since the new owners took over, the snack area was discontinued, and not even vending machines were there for weeks. The workout area is in disrepair, and last week they stopped all Internet support. Forget free (which it was) now it is non-existent. The front desk keeps saying the same thing "new owners now - they are making changes."

Too bad, in two months they have taken it from a great deal - even though it is old - to just old.

For you money, you get a room, TV and breakfast(poor). If you must cut every penny stay here. Otherwise, spend $20/night more and pick a competitor - you will be glad you did. Too bad - I had been staying here for months while traveling.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Kurtruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanda W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry you had a less than great experience at our hotel. We appreciate the time you took to give your review. Yes, the snack kitchen is no longer available. Management evaluate the cost of continuing it and it had become to costly for the property to support. However, we now have available a variety of reasonably priced sundries and snacks for hotel guest to purchase. We did have a router down with the internet which has now been replaced. The wireless internet is working great and "it is free to all of our guest." We serve a full hot breakfast 7 days a week to our guest, which is also free. Actually the construction workers will be on property this Monday to begin some renovations that will include the lobby, lower lobby and the workout area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammonton, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I booked this hotel two months ago for a three day weekend for work. I chose this hotel because of the snack kitchen, hot tub, breakfast, shuttle and pool. When I got there I learned the hot tub and pool are no longer in use and that they are no longer stocking the snack kitchen. I was extremely disappointed that the hotel no longer had these amenities because I was excited about them. On a positive note, the shuttle was very convenient and the continental breakfast was fabulous. The rooms also have thin walls, someone across the hall had a cough and I heard him coughing all night. Another thing that I found odd is that the only toiletry that came with the room other then the soap was a tiny bottle of conditioning shampoo. Overall I was disappointed because the amenities listed on the website were no longer at the hotel, but I WOULD STAY AGAIN because it was still a good value especially with the free parking. I also found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Staff were very friendly & helpful......free shuttle service to DCA & Metro Station & the rooms were nice & very clean w/comfortable beds & a flat screen TV. They offer a complimentary breakfast as well, but I chose to sleep-in & skip breakfast. There is also a supermarket w/in walking distance. Would definitely stay here again on my next trip to the DC area!!!!!!

Room Tip: Try & get a room on the 1st floor, as there is no elevator, but the shuttle driver offered to ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelle99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwoldcolony, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and giving us the opportunity to serve you. We are glad that you had a positive experience during your stay and we look forward to having you back.

Best regards,

Fadi Medawar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Lake Park, Illinois, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Love Alexandria , and my littlest love lives w/in walking distance from this hideway neighborhood motel.Yummy breakfast and plenty of happy extras.Close enough to the metro to see the great sights of D.C.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank SUSAN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwoldcolony, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

We at the Old Colony Inn want to thank you for the review and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us during the holiday season. We hope to see you again soon and please let us know if we can be of any assistance for your next travels to the DC area. We wish you a very happy new year and thank you for your business.

Best Regards,

Fadi Medawar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn

Address: 1101 N. Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#20 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Old Colony Hotel Alexandria
Best Western Alexandria
Alexandria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing