We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 N. Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #23 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Write a Review

281 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    109
    36
    13
    9
See reviews for
109
80
21
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

had a great stay here, though only there for one night. just on the edge of old town, a little hard to get to if you don't know where you're going. Loved the snack kitchen and the free parking (most old town hotels charge $20+ per night), also liked that it had fewer rooms than most other places. Was in town for business, and it fit my needs perfectly. I did have to wait 10 minutes for someone to show up at the front desk to check me in at 9 pm, but the staff was nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico, United States
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Good neighborhood, mostly very kind employees, fabulous snack kitchen, hot breakfast, clean. Guests are inconsiderate by slamming doors, but that's not the hotel's fault. There are no closers on the doors, so it is totally the guests lack of concern for others.

Room Tip: All seemed good to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The staff was nice and courteous. My only complaint was that I asked for an early AM wake up call and it was not made. My phone was supposed to ring at 5:30 and it did not. Fortunately I woke up on my own to catch my early morning flight.




  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The rooms are average, no frills, no refrigerator in room, old fashioned heaters. We stayed 4 nights in November 2012. A shuttle was always around to take us to the Metro, which is close by, also took us to dinner. Grocery store is only two blocks away. Breakfast was fine. The snacks available in the kitchen were outstanding. It made traveling easier to have snacks ready for you from chips to granola bars to juices an, waters and sodas. I would stay again, the hotel is in good location for visitors to the area. Staff was very nice to us throughout the weekend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hotel is a decent old place. For an overnight-er, this is a good find. The room is not new but managed to be clean. There's coffee/tea maker in the room, iron and board, blow dryer, and nice channel selection on tv... but the big PLUS, and what everybody is delighted about, is the open kitchen on the second floor. It was really a good thing especially for us when we came in midnight and too tired to go out to grab a bite. The noodles was there to save the night! chips, granola bars, peanuts, coffee, juice, yogurt, ice cream and more nick knacks..for free!
Will do a short stay here again when given the chance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in November. This is a really nice hotel in a real nice part of town. Very convenient as well as it is located at the end of the George Washington Memorial Parkway. A very easy drive to Arlington National Cemetery. It is also located close to the Braddock Road Metrorail station and they have a shuttle that will drive you there and they picked us up very promptly when we returned from a day of sightseeing. Alexandria is a great town and the hotel is in the older, upscale area of town. it is close to restaurants and a grocery store and a "package store" are a short walk away. The room was large, clean, and really, the location could not be better. For the price we paid, it was a good value for Washington. The breakfast was great and the snack room one of the best I have ever experienced. What really soured me on the experience was the sort of laissez faire attitude about some of the problems we experienced. There was no heat in our room so we had to be moved the first night. I reconfirmed the change of room for the wake-up call, but it never came the next morning. It could have ruined our day, but luckily I awoke about 20 minutes after the original and we made our train to Washington. The next morning the wake-up call came at 4 rather than 5 and I had a 10 hour drive ahead of me. The coffee machine in the snack room ( fantastic snack room) did not work for the entire stay so no coffee. I would have given this hotel a higher rating except for what I perceived to be the uncaring attitude for my troubles. I appreciate there can be snags, but like anything else in life when there are negative consequences - one pays attention. Someone should have offered a discount on the stay or some extra points for all the inconveniences - that would have been good customer service - I am a top tier member of their rewards program - they should have recognized that loyalty to the brand. It was not forthcoming just an "canned" marketing type e-mail thanking us for pointing out the challenges - a very weak response for all our challenges

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn

Address: 1101 N. Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Old Colony Hotel Alexandria
Best Western Alexandria
Alexandria Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.