We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice surprise near DC!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 N. Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #21 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Walnut Cove, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“What a nice surprise near DC!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This was an older, apparently remodeled hotel in the Best Western chain, which we have come to trust. Although it was obviously not a new place, we liked it for the rambling charm and character. Although there are no elevators (special lifts can be accessed), it is just two floors, so no problem if you can climb stairs. It was fun to just wander the premises, seeing where all the staircases led. One went directly down to the very satisfactory fitness room. If you want a spa experience, go somewhere else, but if you just need good quality equipment for a workout, open 24/7, this is the place. (Note that the hot tub is now permanently closed and there is no pool.)

The room was fine, 'tho in need of painting, but it was clean. If you need a microwave or refrigerator, this hotel does not have them in the room, but they do offer a fully-stocked and complimentary snack room just down the hall, so you can always get a cold drink. There is also a bagged-ice freezer near the lobby if you need to pack some ice in your cooler. The snack room offers a huge variety of soft drinks, juices, bottled water, yogurt, and pudding in the huge refrigerator (not for storing personal items), and there is an amazing assortment of cookies, granola bars, crackers, chips, instant soups, etc in the cabinets for your consumption on the premises. There is also a really nice coffee dispenser in the snack room with a variety of coffee, mocha, cocoa, etc, as well as hot water for the variety of teas they stock. No need to use the coffee pot provided in the room.

The lady at the check in desk was very friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. The hotel is situated in a pleasant, attractive and quiet residential Alexandria neighborhood. I noticed there was a Giant food store just a couple of blocks away. A bonus for joggers or bikers - the place is within easy walking distance of an extensive jogging/biking trail that goes by the marina and continues with the Potomac Park.

Only drawbacks, and it was not a big deal for us. There is no pool, which might be important if you have children or like to swim. Also, the breakfast was not as nice as I expected from the description of a full breakfast. There was certainly a variety of items - scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, waffles, cereals, fresh fruit - but the sterno warmers did not keep the eggs very warm, and the biscuits were cold, with no microwave to warm the buttery spread or anything else, and I had to go back to the snack room to get more variety for tea bags than the standard Lipton, and also for a fruit cup, rather than a piece of fruit. I wondered why they did not offer the same variety at breakfast as in the snack room. Although I considered the room price a bargain at $84 for a couple, and with the complimentary snack room, I was put off by the conspicuously-placed "tip" basket at breakfast, especially since I never saw an attendant but the one time she came in to refill the coffee pot when it got really busy, and I had to go myself to get needed items from the snack room. There was no breakfast "service" to deserve a tip.

Overall, very pleasant stay with helpful desk staff. I would recommend it if you don't need the items mentioned. In DC area, bonus is free parking right at the hotel.

Room Tip: Nice, charming hotel near DC and free, easy parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    110
    37
    13
    10
See reviews for
112
81
21
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Good stay, nice location, friendly front desk, well-maintained, satisfied

Room Tip: reasonable room / bath room for price, good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Great breakfast. Clean and quiet rooms. No parking fee. Friendly staff. Free snack room. Just a great overall experience.

No elevators, so getting to the second floor might be a problem for some.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The location good. Good acess to metro (shuttle) fair resturants -king Street But the rooms were on the wornside. Windows covering had holes bad our room had only wired interent so we could not our Ipad to show tv programs so had to our computer to tv remotely. The room appeared clean but we found bugs! I hope we didn't bring them home. Fair breakfast filling

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branchburg, New Jersey
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were looking to stay somewhere in the Old Town Alexandria area. So we picked the Best Western. We were able to get an AAA price of $95. I figured if you stay on King street (where all the action is), you would spend $150 to $250 a night plus paying for parking plus get a pool. For $95 a night you also get free parking (no pool) but you are only minutes away from the action and parking in Old Town was $4 to 8 a day. I would prefer spending more money on food. The free shuttle worked out great also.

The staff was really nice. There was some odd stains on the comfort cover. They gave an extra sheet for the night to cover it and then they fixed it the next day. There is a room with free sodas, waters and other drinks plus popcorn, chips and snack bars. I was disappointed when it was not supplied but I later saw guests taking so many items that I could only guess they were stocking up for the whole summer.

The place is a bit old and beat up but all in all was a good value.

Room Tip: Better to have the top floor and away from the snack room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed here for a couple of nights in 2011 and gave it a positive review then. So when I needed a place to stay for one night last month, I naturally gave them a call. The BW website indicated that there were no rooms available, but when I called the hotel directly, the wonderfully helpful Suzanne found that there was one room left for the night I needed. Success! And that was just the beginning of the same thing I experienced the last time I stayed here--namely, a wonderful staff who acted as if their sole purpose was to be helpful to guests.

Sure, the hotel itself is a little faded in some ways. The bath mat was a bit stained and probably should have been replaced. The carpets have seen better days. If you wanted to examine closely, you'd find that the physical facility is maybe not in its glory. But if I had to choose between a slightly frayed hotel with an excellent staff, and a five-star hotel with an indifferent staff, I'd chose staff over luxury every time. I had encounters with at least 5 staff members during my stay, and every one of them was helpful and friendly, from the various people at the front desk, to the housekeeping staff, to the driver of the shuttle to and from the metro station. The breakfast is not gourmet fare, but it is fine and included in the cost of the room. And the snack pantry takes care of those small attacks of the nibbles that occur so often while traveling.

So thanks again to a first-rate staff, and congratulations to whoever is hiring these people. You could teach a few luxury hotels a thing or two!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarac, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed for five nights with a 7 yr. old, a 9 year-old and a 15 year-old. The hotel is in a decent location and not too far from the metro. From check in to check out, the front desk staff is just great. We had to call for the shuttle on numerous occasions and never had to wait unreasonably long for it to arrive. The room (double) was big enough for four, and the bathroom is extremely adequate. The shuttle drivers are polite and pleasant. Breakfast was a good mix of items and the snack room was out of this world. Awesome! It was so nice to have water and ice-cream in the evenings after doing DC, and popcorn or soup in the night before hitting the pillows. Sadly, a lot of guests really abused the privilege as we observed people with rolling igloos stocking up in the morning/evening; people with their ice chests filling up on goodies repeatedly. There is a sign in the snack room that clearly begs guests to be considerate and not go overboard, but not many people appear to heed to that caution. The exercise room offered three machines and was clean with a lot of towels for guests. Overall, a wonderful, ideal option for visiting DC with a friendly, professional staff. I would definitely stay at Best Western Old Colony Inn again. My family enjoyed it -despite the absence of a pool.

Room Tip: We were in the middle of the hallway (212) and it was quiet. You cannot control guests who repeatedl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn

Address: 1101 N. Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Old Colony Hotel Alexandria
Best Western Alexandria
Alexandria Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;