We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bargain Near Washinton, D.C.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 N. Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Bargain Near Washinton, D.C.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Great breakfast. Clean and quiet rooms. No parking fee. Friendly staff. Free snack room. Just a great overall experience.

No elevators, so getting to the second floor might be a problem for some.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    127
    43
    16
    12
See reviews for
133
86
22
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The location good. Good acess to metro (shuttle) fair resturants -king Street But the rooms were on the wornside. Windows covering had holes bad our room had only wired interent so we could not our Ipad to show tv programs so had to our computer to tv remotely. The room appeared clean but we found bugs! I hope we didn't bring them home. Fair breakfast filling

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branchburg, New Jersey
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were looking to stay somewhere in the Old Town Alexandria area. So we picked the Best Western. We were able to get an AAA price of $95. I figured if you stay on King street (where all the action is), you would spend $150 to $250 a night plus paying for parking plus get a pool. For $95 a night you also get free parking (no pool) but you are only minutes away from the action and parking in Old Town was $4 to 8 a day. I would prefer spending more money on food. The free shuttle worked out great also.

The staff was really nice. There was some odd stains on the comfort cover. They gave an extra sheet for the night to cover it and then they fixed it the next day. There is a room with free sodas, waters and other drinks plus popcorn, chips and snack bars. I was disappointed when it was not supplied but I later saw guests taking so many items that I could only guess they were stocking up for the whole summer.

The place is a bit old and beat up but all in all was a good value.

Room Tip: Better to have the top floor and away from the snack room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed here for a couple of nights in 2011 and gave it a positive review then. So when I needed a place to stay for one night last month, I naturally gave them a call. The BW website indicated that there were no rooms available, but when I called the hotel directly, the wonderfully helpful Suzanne found that there was one room left for the night I needed. Success! And that was just the beginning of the same thing I experienced the last time I stayed here--namely, a wonderful staff who acted as if their sole purpose was to be helpful to guests.

Sure, the hotel itself is a little faded in some ways. The bath mat was a bit stained and probably should have been replaced. The carpets have seen better days. If you wanted to examine closely, you'd find that the physical facility is maybe not in its glory. But if I had to choose between a slightly frayed hotel with an excellent staff, and a five-star hotel with an indifferent staff, I'd chose staff over luxury every time. I had encounters with at least 5 staff members during my stay, and every one of them was helpful and friendly, from the various people at the front desk, to the housekeeping staff, to the driver of the shuttle to and from the metro station. The breakfast is not gourmet fare, but it is fine and included in the cost of the room. And the snack pantry takes care of those small attacks of the nibbles that occur so often while traveling.

So thanks again to a first-rate staff, and congratulations to whoever is hiring these people. You could teach a few luxury hotels a thing or two!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarac, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed for five nights with a 7 yr. old, a 9 year-old and a 15 year-old. The hotel is in a decent location and not too far from the metro. From check in to check out, the front desk staff is just great. We had to call for the shuttle on numerous occasions and never had to wait unreasonably long for it to arrive. The room (double) was big enough for four, and the bathroom is extremely adequate. The shuttle drivers are polite and pleasant. Breakfast was a good mix of items and the snack room was out of this world. Awesome! It was so nice to have water and ice-cream in the evenings after doing DC, and popcorn or soup in the night before hitting the pillows. Sadly, a lot of guests really abused the privilege as we observed people with rolling igloos stocking up in the morning/evening; people with their ice chests filling up on goodies repeatedly. There is a sign in the snack room that clearly begs guests to be considerate and not go overboard, but not many people appear to heed to that caution. The exercise room offered three machines and was clean with a lot of towels for guests. Overall, a wonderful, ideal option for visiting DC with a friendly, professional staff. I would definitely stay at Best Western Old Colony Inn again. My family enjoyed it -despite the absence of a pool.

Room Tip: We were in the middle of the hallway (212) and it was quiet. You cannot control guests who repeatedl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We loved this inn! Alexandria is a fascinating place to walk around. There is a grocery store 2 blocks away, so between that, the great breakfasts, and the snack kitchen, we saved some money. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. We were always greeted with a smile, and the desk staff was quite knowledgeable about the area. A comfortable shuttle takes you to the Metro station (buy a Smart Card!), and from there you can get into DC in a flash. The rooms are gently used, but very clean and comfortable. The beds are quite comfortable and the rooms are quiet, apart from the usual door slamming that you have in any hotel. We printed our boardng passes before we left, using the computer in the business center. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are quiet, but there is no elevator. The stairs are not too steep, though, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Great location, free parking, extremely courteous staff, amazing assortment of snacks available 24/7 (have never seen this in a hotel before - really nice feature), delicious free breakfast. The building is a little dated but our room was updated & very nice. Great place all the way around.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn

Address: 1101 N. Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, Best Western and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Old Colony Hotel Alexandria
Best Western Alexandria
Alexandria Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.