We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 N. Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

My family stayed here for five nights. We can't say enough good things about this hotel. It's very close to Reagan National Airport and the major DC attractions. The free shuttle service was great. The drivers were very courteous, as was the entire staff. The shuttle will take you to the Metro, the airport, and King Street, which has a lot of unique shops and restaurants. You can walk to King Street from the hotel as well. It's a nice walk through great neighborhoods.The snack room on the second floor was great. My three kids were BIG fans of that. The free breakfast each morning really fills you up and gets you ready for the day. My whole family loved this hotel and have recommended it to friends who are planning trips to DC. It was easily the best value of any hotel I researched online. If we return to DC we WILL stay here.

Room Tip: Our corner room had extra space with a couch
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    128
    44
    16
    12
See reviews for
133
88
23
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Great hotel, stayed 4 nights. Was first given a room at 1 floor (ground floor) but right outside the window was a huge storage container which made the room dark and also made it impossible to look out of the window. Hope the hotel have moved the container to another location fare away from the hotel. However we asked for another room and was without any problems give a room at second floor. A light room with a very good view to the park and trees in front of the hotel.
5 stars to the manager and the staff. We have been traveling in US for many years and we are primarily using Best Western hotels and have only a few times been disappointed with the hotel, but Old Colony was absolutely the best BW hotel we have ever have used and for a visit to Washington D,C have this hotel a perfect location. Have a look at BW homepage and see for your self, I promise you - you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: second floor at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

A group of eight ladies stayed at the Best Western Old Colony Inn when we were visiting the Washington DC area. We were expecting a nice hotel, but it was much, much better. We were met at Reagan Airport by the hotel van with a very informative and engaging driver - this was true for all of the van's drivers who chauffered us to the nearby Metro and Old Town Alexandria. The front desk staff were all very friendly and efficient. Our rooms were very clean, well-appointed and spacious and the new matresses were wonderful. The morning breakfast buffet was extremely expansive - eggs, scrambled and hard-boiled, sausage, biscuits and gravy, oatmeal, waffles, fruit, pastries, cold cereal, yogurt......... And then there is the "Snack Kitchen" a most wonderful area where there are drawers of goodies like soup, trail mix, nuts, granola bars, chex mix, crackers, as well as drinks like juices, soda, water and then there are the ice cream bars , drumsticks and sandwiches. Guests can partake of any of these snacks 24/7 compliments of the hotel. The hotel is a smaller, two-story brick building which fronts on a green area well set back from the main road. It is just a few blocks from a supermarket and several neighborhood restaurants. There is no elevator, but we all managed the stairs without difficulty. The hotel is a very good value for the DC area and yet is convenient to all the attractions of the capital via the Metro. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Since there is no elevator, anyone not able to climb the stairs should request a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

We booked at the last minute. Staff was very helpful, courteous. Free parking, internet, water & 24 hr snack counter. Don not get that very often. good size rooms. will stay again if required

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

The Old Colony Inn is a nice option for travelers needing a convenient location to National Airport, or south of the Potomac. Rooms are reasonably priced for the DC region. Not luxury, but very comfortable. The interior hallways and room I was in showed a little age, but not to the point where I felt dissatisfied.

All staff members I interacted with were pleasant and helpful. The only drawback was having to rely on the shuttle to get to the nearest metro stop (service was generally within 10-15 minutes, though). Just plan accordingly if you need to catch the metro by a particular time. The hike to Old Town - or the nearest metro stop - is just beyond the threshold of convenient, though. It was great exercise for me, but quite miserable on a typical 90+ degree, high humidity summer day. I wouldn't recommend it for out-of-shape types. Business amenities are nice (business office downstairs is open for general use), and the internet connection was good. Breakfasts were typical continental affairs...nothing special, but no complaints. The snack and beverage room on the 2nd floor was a nice touch. Rather than nickel and diming you to death, they allow guests to help themselves to some soft drinks, light snacks, and frozen desserts. A very nice touch that I have not seen replicated at most places. The bed seemed fairly new, but I somehow did not respond to them very well. But that's not surprising...my back is very picky. Most probably won't have an issue with them. It was definitely not my worst sleeping experience in a hotel.

Overall, I would stay here again without hesitation. If there was a category between "Average" and "Very Good", I would rate my stay in exactly that category!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

OK, Please bear in mind that this is my first review, but after my experience at this hotel, I felt an obligation to review it publicly. I traveled there with my wife and 3 daughters for 6 nights. The rooms were clean and neat everyday. The value is above and beyond anything comparable. Not only were the rates less than other hotels in the area, a hearty breakfast (with healthy options), and a fully stocked snack room is included. The snack room consists of everything from water bottles to ice cream sandwiches ALL COMPLIMENTARY! Location was excellent as well. It is located a block away from a grocery store, and the free shuttle will get you to King street (where all of the Old Town shopping and dinning is) and to the Metro train. I was a little nervous taking the subway with a 6 year old in the mix, but it is the way to travel. The girls actually loved traveling this way, and you can easily get to anywhere you want to go. Lastly, the service was GREAT. Everyone was very nice and accomodating. There was a slight mix up the last night we were there. The van broke down and we had to take a cab to get back to the hotel. When I mentioned it to the front desk at check out the INSISTED that they reimburse me for the cab fare no questions asked! One last note, if your a Cowboy fan or a Redskin hatter ( I am both) be sure and give the van driver a jab! He is a fun guy who will give it back all in good fun. I will only be staying here whenever I come to D.C.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

We love to stay here, it is always clean! They even have a snack room, great when you travel and forgot to get water or just something light!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn

Address: 1101 N. Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#24 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Old Colony Hotel Alexandria
Best Western Alexandria
Alexandria Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.