We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low Budget Extended Stay Hotel, Not A Good Value For Short Stays” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bragg Towers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bragg Towers to your Saves list
Bragg Towers
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99 S. Bragg St, Alexandria, VA 22312   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Low Budget Extended Stay Hotel, Not A Good Value For Short Stays”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Bragg Towers provides budget extended stay accommodations primarily for low income families and working individuals. The hotel is approximately five miles from the center of Alexandria, VA and convenient to 395. While there is bus service that runs into town, the metro is some distance away and staying is impractical without a car. The hotel is in a low income neighborhood, but most travelers would feel perfectly safe there. Bragg Towers offers tiny studios and much larger queen rooms. Each includes cable tv and a kitchenette. The queen rooms are also studios, but are 2 to 3 times larger with fold out couches, armchairs, etc. The rooms were very clean but have not been renovated for some time, and the carpets and furniture are well-worn. WiFi is provided and speeds were as high as 10mbps. WiFi did not work in all of the rooms (poor reception) and connections were sometimes erratic. There are no other amenities. Two of the three desk clerks I spoke with were very polite and helpful. The third was rude and abruptly hung up in the middle of a question. Overall, Bragg Towers is cost effective for longer stays (approximately $1600 per month), but not for a night or two ($70 plus per night). Hotwire, HotelsTonight, or any other last minute reseller will get you a much nicer hotel, in a better location, for about the same nightly rate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    6
    13
    15
See reviews for
9
5
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Booked this place for one night via Priceline out of sheer desperation (toddler + power outage + 105 degree weather = desperation). I think we paid $60 (including tax).

Pros: For us, it located close to our home (and close to 395N), cheap, free parking, cold A/C and has a mini-kitchen (which, we didn't make use of but it was nice to have as an option).

Cons: Check-in (very slow -- no sense of urgency whatsoever) and pretty much everything else.

Our first floor room was clean (ish) and came with a queen size bed and a pull out couch. I wouldn't stay here again - this is definitely a 1* star, "only-if-you-absolutely-have-to" or are on a very limited budget type of room. The tub was dingy, the carpets reeked and the room (in general) was pretty gross looking.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed 3 nights on the 2nd floor with no problems at all. The hotel reminds me of some of the places in New Orleans that I've stayed. Wifi only works in public areas(the lobby). We requested no maid service, reused our towels and brought extra pillows and blankets from home, were overall very comfortable there. The a/c was good. Fridge, microwave, stove and garbage disposal worked fine. The water heated amazingly fast, and I've never seen so many plug ins in a room. The smell in the hallway seemed to me to be spices that I'm not used to from residence cooking. There is an international market very close to the hotel. Absolutely plan to visit there if you have time. It's about 7 miles to the Franconia-Springfield metro station. We parked there every day for $4.50 and took the train into DC.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

The trip from the exterior to your room is a terrible experience from the buzzing in through a door for the receptionist sitting behind plexiglas to the original elevators without light up buttons. Once you have made it here, the worst is not over, the halls are stained completely over and the smell is almost unbearable. Once you struggle through the thick air, a little relief is given in the room where it is bearable but by no means nice. The thin walls are a nice touch that add in the screaming neighbors on and off throughout the night.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Stayed there for a few days a few weeks ago. The one big con was the smell. It wrapped around you like a blanket. It smelled like mold and it was in the hallways and in my room. After awhile I got used to it but everytime I would go outside, it hit me again when I came in. It was really that bad. If you're sensitive to smells be forewarned this is not the place for you.
Other than that, it wasn't the Ritz, but liveable. The furniture was new looking and the bed ok comfy. Everything worked the way it should, tv, toilet, heat and a/c, etc. The room was large for one person, and the staff was more businesslike behind their bulletproof wall rather than friendly. I saw one bug, it looked like a tick but I'm not sure, in my bed. The comforter had white stains on it and the towels had tiny orange stains on it and were rough.
There is a plaza and a mall nearby, as well as some restaurants. I recommend to only go there by car, as there is a very sketchy neighborhood on the way to them full of gangster looking thugs that catcall to you if you're walking alone. In fact, I wouldn't recommend staying there alone at all. A big pro was the price, I looked around and I couldn't find any cheaper.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Bragg Towers was a small but comfortable place to stay. Could have been bigger had I chose a one bedroom instead of the studio. I had no idea how small the studio was. It was ok but a little tight for two people. Next time I will definetly spring for the one bedroom. Building is a little old but overall was pleased with my stay.

Room Tip: Unless your alone DO NOT get the studio room because they are SMALL!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We needed a place for 7 people to stay during the Rally to Restore Sanity. Basically, all we were looking for was a roof and a bathroom, and a hotel in which we could sneak several people into one room. Even with those standards, this place was pretty squalid. The "lobby" is really just a tiny entry way that requires the front desk to buzz you in, which is unsettling. It really feels like you're entering an apartment building in a really bad area. The wireless internet didn't work at all, and the building does have a smoky odor. The room didn't feel dirty, but was so dated and worn that no amount of cleaning would have made it feel good.
That being said, it was super cheap, and the lady at the front desk was quite perky. She sells cans of pop out of a mini-fridge she's got back behind the desk somewhere (I discovered this upon inquiring about vending machines.)
Since there's only one entryway that's tightly guarded, I don't recommend this place if you're looking to sneak in more people than you're allowed. We managed, but not without some nervous moments and suspicious glares from the front desk. It worked out fine for us as a place to crash and have a few drinks before setting out. Otherwise, it's a dump that I'd never bring a family to.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Bragg Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bragg Towers

Address: 99 S. Bragg St, Alexandria, VA 22312
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bragg Towers 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Bragg Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bragg Towers Hotel Alexandria
Bragg Hotel Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bragg Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.