We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting and amenities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2700 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Hendersonville, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great setting and amenities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

After a long drive from Chicago, the Courtyard Marriott was a welcomed sight.
We took full advantage of the pool, spa, and exercise room.
The breakfast was quite palatable.
With kindest regards, Vinnysjazz

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    105
    41
    18
    15
See reviews for
56
75
17
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

Comfy and clean stay! Courtyard went through a renovation. Lobby has colorful and modern vibe. The big pluses are free coffee station in lobby, print boarding passes area, Free Wifi in rooms, and 24/7 gym. There is a mini convenience store and food counter/lounge on site.

The mister managed to get weekend rate at $89/night through hotel website. Overall, a hotel for the business traveler and for a weekend stay.

A big downside is the location. Loud highway construction noise around the hotel, small and narrow parking lot but free parking, and there is nothing to eat walking distance. Must need a car to get around and eat out. There is free shuttle service so asked about about that. Linens and towels are a bit on flimsy side and tv is a mini flat screen but cable channels are the slow side when changing. HBO is here.

If you must walk out, you will walk out on a walkway that is part of a bridge. You will meet the Holiday Inn at the foot of the bridge and cross the street to the Metro station. Take-out is available through menus pushed under the hotel door.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton, NY
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

I got this hotel from Priceline for $60/night. The room was small but quite clean, as was the entire building. There was no refrig. or microwave. If we'd been staying more than 1 night this could have been a negative. The bed, however was a king & there was a sofa bed. The check-in staff was friendly & accommodating, they let me check in early. The free shuttle to & from the subway is a real plus. There are also a number of places to eat right across from the subway station. This was a good location for sight-seeing in D.C. Park car (free) forget about it & use subway (maybe 20 mins. to 1/2 hr. trip). I've always liked hotel rooms with a separate bathroom/dressing area & this place had that. I think regular price was over $150/night so for $60 I really liked this place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

My husband and I just returned from a 40+ day road trip and wanted to review all the places we've stayed, since we gained valuable information from tripadvisor throughout our time on the road. Our criteria generally included free internet access in the room, free breakfast, a cheap rate (the definition of "cheap" varied by area...we have AAA, so that is usually the rate we wound up with) and a clean room...no frills.

We stayed here for our visit to the DC area, which we thought would be great with the free shuttle service to the airport to pick up the subway to DC. The room was clean and quiet and internet access was free, which was key for us. No free breakfast, but they do offer free coffee and all of the staff was very friendly and helpful.

The only real issue we had was being picked up from the airport once we were done with our day. It took about 45 minutes and we had to call the hotel, even though we were told that wouldn't be necessary. It seemed every other hotel in the area had shuttles come by twice in the time we waited.

I do think for the price we paid, it was worth it and we would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

First let me tell you the "Pros", regarding this Hotel..
1. The Staff were the best
2. The Hotel itself was very clean.
3. Access to the Internet was very convenient...
4. Free Shuttle Service to the Metro..
5. Coffee/Tea Plentiful..

Cons:

1. What's on TV?? Didn't know..HBO guide available, but found nothing else
to show what was on the other channel's. Also, changing from one channel
to another took at least 3 to 4 seconds...
2. No Fridge..
3. No Microwave..
4. No on floor vending machines..However, you can buy beer, cokes, etc. at
the front desk for a "PRICE"....
5. No Continental Breakfast.. ..BUT, they do have several breakfast items
you can purchase for a small fortune, i.e. eggs, bacon, pastries, etc...

Please note: This is one person's opinion...Even with all the Cons, I would still
recommend this Hotel...

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

I've stayed at this hotel many times over the past 12 years. Every single stay has been wonderful! However this was my first time using the airport shuttle. The shuttle ride to the airport was fine, but getting picked up was ridiculous. It took over an hour and three phone calls to be picked up. However once I arrive to the hotel the staff was very caring and apologized for my inconvenience although the shuttle driver could have cared less. I will continue to stay at this hotel, just never use the shuttle again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

I was surprised how much I liked this hotel. It has a modern decor and modern conveniences. The rooms have been updated to include high quality mattresses and granite counters in the bathroom. Free Wall Street Journal and USA Today every morning. Loved the oatmeal offered at breakfast and enjoyed the common area of the lobby. Shuttle will take you to Old Town and local metro stops. We were also part of a conference and the shuttle would take us daily to our meetings. Only wish they had more shuttles. We had to go in shifts. I would come back to this hotel and stay for pleasure. It has all the modern amenities needed for a pleasant, well above average stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest

Address: 2700 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Courtyard Alexandria
Alexandria Courtyard
Alexandria Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.