We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2700 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15% off
Ranked #25 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good value and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I usually stay here when in the Northern VA area for business. The hotel is near the Eisenhower Metro stop making for easy access throughout the greater metro DC area. The hotel provides a shuttle to the Metro stop although in good weather the short walk is more than manageable.

Breakfast, dinner and drinks are available if you choose (and with DC traffic there are times when this is the only choice) at a reasonable price. The selection is decent, service above average with the food pretty decent for a small hotel. Then again, take the metro one stop north to King Street where you can find a number of places to eat within easy walking distance.

If there is a downside, make sure you ask for a room that faces Eisenhower Ave and not the Beltway as the traffic noise can be annoying at any hour, day or night.

Room Tip: Stay in a room facing Eisenhower Ave not the Capital Beltway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    110
    41
    18
    16
See reviews for
57
76
17
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am here on business and really using the hotel as a place to do some work and sleep. Well, the front desk staff -- Jane and Katheryn -- are really fantastic! They are very helpful, friendly, and fun to talk to about the area and the hotel. It is a refreshing pleasure to meet these two desk clerks who made my stay that much better! Thanks!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Recently stayed here for business for a convention over at the Gaylord National Harbor. Good stay and very friendly staff. Evening front desk person was very accompanying and had great dinner suggestions for restaurants nearby. On Sunday night, they only had one woman working the Bistro. She handled the crowd well, but it was a little rough. I waited 20 minutes for a salad, but she was doing the best she could. Would definitely recommend this hotel to people traveling in the area for business

Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellington, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On our recent stay we found the hotel to have very nice attractive rooms, spacious, clean and comfortable. A complementary shuttle service to the Metro station was helpful allowing us public transportation anywhere in the Washing DC area rather than content with huge volumes of traffic, no parking and rude city drivers. Our familiarity with the Metro system was a great help bur even first time riders will find the metro system very user friendly. The metro station is with in walking distance if you have the time probably only 10 min away. In addition there is a plaza with several dining establishments offering a wide variety of dining selections, of course at usual DC inflated prices.
Do Not plan on eating in the Bistro in the hotel. Granted we only tried breakfast but McDonalds has a better food service and quality of food and I hate fast food. Plus McD's at least has good coffee and does not subject you to that burnt bitter over priced Starbucks coffee served it seems everywhere in DC. Of course that is a matter of taste. Everything was either luke warm and overcooked if you consider microwave as a form of cooking/reheating which is what you are in for. But then maybe you like eggs that taste like something from a military MRE and hockey puck sausage, tasteless and dry.(Wow would I love to see Chef Ramsey rate these cooks. This bad experience is why we definitely recommend trying any of the close by restaurants. A one stop ride on the metro also will bring you to King Street station which has numerous dining establishments which are an easy walk to, or ride the free trolley up and down the street.
The hotel is an easy on/off I-495 (don't rely on your Garmin unless you want to visit some of DC itself). Take the metro for sites and attractions in and around the DC proper. Parking at the hotel is convenient, however a bit tricky as it is on a fairly down grade and curvy making larger vehicles such as our mid size SUV a bit tricky to park especially when the space hogs cross over the lanes markers.
In summary sleep there, prices are moderate and surely less expensive that those we have encountered in DC proper, but eat elsewhere.

Green Features: standard for this type of motel/hotel. We only spent one night so hard to judge
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
154 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
317 helpful votes 317 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

During my last visit to the DC area, I couldn't find a hotel close to the city so I decided to look in Alexandria at the last minute. Although the hotel is pretty far from DC, it's about a ten minute walk from the nearest Metro stop, Eisenhower on the yellow line.

There isn't much around the hotel, but the restaurant and bar located by the lobby is pretty good. There are a few restaurants by the Metro stop, and the hotel has a complimentary shuttle that can take you there.

Check in was pretty good. There was a football game on that night, and the bar was offering complimentary popcorn. I thought that was a nice touch. Aside from the popcorn, I had dinner and a glass of wine. The staff was extremely friendly! I was a few minutes past happy hour, but they still offered me the happy hour prices. And they brought my dinner to me instead of me having to wait at the counter.

The room was your typical Courtyard room. Everything looked exactly the same. Bed was comfortable, the restroom was clean, the air conditioning worked. Overall, I didn't have any complaints about the room.

This is a solid hotel, although I do recommend grabbing something to before heading calling it a night.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for four nights and this hotel may seem far from the, "tourist attractions", but the metro is nearby (walking distance) and they have a shuttle that takes you there. The shuttle also takes you to other locations (theatre, 7-11, etc.) The shuttle also stops at a hotel down the road, which may delay your pick-up. We never waited more than 10 minutes for the shuttle. We couldn't be happier with our stay. The staff was warm and welcoming, even when arriving very late and checking out extremely early. We had breakfast and dinner at the bistro in the hotel and the food was great as well. The room/floor was quiet and extremely clean.

Room Tip: All of the floors seemed quiet. We stayed on the fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Business travel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Very close to Olde Town. First time in Alexandria, VA. Free parking. They had a breakfast but we didn't use it. At check-in, I was a little early but the staff was awesome and had our room ready.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the parking garage is the best for not a lot of noise
See more room tips
Green Features: I stayed here with my husband while he had business to attend. Staff was excellent. Very friendly and helpful.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest

Address: 2700 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Courtyard Alexandria
Alexandria Courtyard
Alexandria Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.