We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2700 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #27 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stylish and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We stayed at the Courtyard in Alexandria back in July just for a one night getaway. It is located in near proximity to the National Harbor and Old Town Alexandria. The hotel and area are extremely nice and family oriented. We took in a movie in Old Town and went to the Harbor the next morning. The staff was accommodating and friendly. The only drawback was the parking but other than that everything went smoothly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    114
    44
    19
    16
See reviews for
59
77
19
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I stayed for 3 days overall, no problem. There was no micro fridge available. I did see a refrigerator in the hallway so I should have asked for one. As a reward member, i thought there was free breakfast, but i was wrong. will probably do more research of hotels in the area before I book.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Stayed for 4 days and was pleased for the most part. Hotel has no charge for parking and a fair rate for the area..No free coffee or breakfast but they have Starbucks and the breakfast is very good. They also have some inside parking and in the august sun is a plus. If you stay here don,t get room 705-707 because the workout gym is above you. Falling barbells and running treadmill is what you will hear till midnight. Otherwise the hotel is clean and quite.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed here for four nights while visiting DC. We had a corner room which was spacious and comfortable. The hotel was clean, the staff were super friendly, breakfast was good but a bit pricey. The shuttle was awesome. We went to the Hoffman Center for dinner two nights and to the Metro station every day. It was great to be able to leave the car and not worry about parking or traffic. We will definitely stay here on our next trip.

Room Tip: Haven't seen other rooms, but our corner room was very spacious. Also, lots of windows made it b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montross, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Our first impression when pulling up to the front of hotel was not a good one & made us feel we had made a mistake in booking our stay. This bad impression came from seeing many people at the entrance of lobby smoking & many cigarette butts on sidewalk. While unloading our car & waiting to get our luggage into the lobby the air surrounding us was most unpleasant. We read your reviews today & we see this complaint had been made by others before us just a few weeks ago. Obviously nothing has been done about it. Other then that our room was clean & all other areas of the hotel seem to be cared for as a quest would & should expect.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

As a Marriott Premier Credit Card Holder, I do not recommend this Courtyard Marriott. The water was off during a significant portion of the visit and although promised to be compensated, this has yet to occur.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica L, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Hello Brian M,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay with us. I sincerely apologize about the water issue. We had discovered a pin hole leak that needed to be fixed. Unfortunately, due the age of our hotel rooms are unable to be shut off individually or on different risers. All of out rooms are linked to one and we cannot isolate individual rooms. As a result when we find these leaks we need to shut the water off for the entire building. The time consuming process is really due to having to have the entire buildings pipes drain. The repair usually does not take long.
We try to be very proactive in informing our guests when these issue arise with notices at the front desk, having the information communicated at check in, and ensuring notices are in all of out guest rooms. We try to schedule the shut off for a more convenient time when guests would be leaving. Our recent water shut off was on a Monday morning at 10a.
We did have a plan in place for guests needing to use restroom and shower facilities at our sister property next door to which our complimentary shuttle would be able to take guests back and forth during the time of the shut off.
I also apologize that it seems you were offered compensation and none had been provided to you. Please contact me directly so that I can look into the matter and work to resolve this for you.

Sincerely,

Monica Lynott
Assistant General Manager
703-329-2323
Monica.lynott@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opelika, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The front desk staff was very friendly and welcoming. The room was very comfy. Especially good place to stay if you are a Mariotts Reward Member. The parking is very secure. The breakfast bar was really good"

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Hi Cpauburn!

I'm so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us! Make sure to come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest

Address: 2700 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Courtyard Alexandria
Alexandria Courtyard
Alexandria Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.