We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Location for Exploring the Area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2700 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15% off
Ranked #27 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Sebastian, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A Good Location for Exploring the Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

My husband and I decided to stay overnight in Alexandria on our way to Atlantic City. This Courtyard offered good value and convenience for us. The hotel was very clean and offered free parking. It was right off the main highway, which is a God-send when you're driving through the Capitol area. Although we opted to stay in Alexandria only, I believe it would offer convenience to explore DC. The metro was within walking distance. Additionally, the hotel offered a shuttle to the metro stop into DC. Staff was friendly and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thanks so much for the great feedback! We hope to see you back next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    112
    43
    19
    16
See reviews for
59
77
17
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This hotel is nice however they stuck me at the end of the hallway near the stairwell. At first I thought the noise I was hearing was the TV from the room next door and that it would eventually go off at bedtime. However it wasn't till really late that I realized the noise was coming from some type of wind noise tunnel in the stairway. Made noise all night and I had one of the worst nights of sleep in my life. So stay away from any of the rooms that are on the end closest to the stairway. My room was 402. I think the one across the hall from me was 401 so just stay away from the rooms near stairway.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms ending in '02' and '01' (e.g. 401, 402....)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJ R, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
I just wanted to start off by saying thank you for taking the time to sit and review your stay with us here at the Alexandria Courtyard. I am very sorry to hear that you did not have the best experience with us and were unable to get enough rest. Our goal to to make sure that our guests are happy and have everything that they need to have the most enjoyable stay. This is the first time that I have heard of a noise that was coming from the stairwell that has kept our guests awake at night. This is a situation that we will look into as our rooms at the end of the hallways are some of our better rooms as they are a little bigger, has a mini refrigerator, and are away from the ice machines. If, you get the chance some time soon to call the hotel it would be my pleasure to hear more about your stay and the issue that you had in more detail. Again, I am very sorry that you did not have the best experience with us, but I know next time you will have a much better one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I stayed for one night during a visit to family in D.C. The hotel is a little way out of the District, but the metro station is a short walk. In addition, there is a free hotel shuttle. A big plus is that parking is available for no charge, which is somewhat rare in D.C. That more than made up for not being in the heart of the District. Additionally, it is only one metro stop from Old Town, which is a great place to visit.
The staff was excellent. Check-in was done quickly, and the person at the desk gave us a very warm welcome, When we asked for directions to the metro, the staff member had phone in hand to call for the shuttle before our request was completed. When we explained that we wanted to walk, we were given a map with directions highlighted.
The room was clean, tastefully appointed and a nice size (one king bed). We spent very little time there, but were impressed by the size of the bathroom, and enjoyed a good night's sleep in a comfortable bed. The free wifi was also appreciated.
We did not eat at the hotel and didn't have time to check out any of the facilities, but for our purposes, the hotel provided a great night's stay at a reasonable price. I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thanks for the great feedback, Jane'04!

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed one evening, and really enjoyed the hotel and the staff. The location is convenient to Old Town, Club Carlisle, Metro, Amtrak, and many attractions. The property was clean and a very nice place. I recommend this property and would also stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Lois6848 - Thanks for the great feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

unfortunately when you stay somewhere they fail to tell you if the breakfast is included with the stay. I went and grabbed bacon, eggs and bread for a whopping $28 dollars! I paid of course but felt overwhelmed, disappointed and concerned. When I booked it they said, "breakfast was included," but when I paid for it I thought, "What?!!"

Whatever, all I know is Hampton Inn is much better, sorry to compare, but I got give this a whirl so that other families or folks looking to stay won't be caught off guard.

Room Tip: The view was outstanding
See more room tips
Green Features: it's ok, the staff were friendly. The service was ok, not excellent, but ok.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica L, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Good Evening Wendy,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay with us.
I apologize about your experience in our bistro and can certainly understand your frustration, especially if yo were told that breakfast was included. Some of our rates are inclusive of breakfast, however the majority of our rates are not inclusive of breakfast. I would be happy to look into the matter further to try and resolve this.
Please contact me directly at the hotel.

Monica Lynott
Assistant General Manager
703-329-2323
monica.lynott@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I was expecting a run down hotel and of course my expectations were exceeded. Way nicer rooms than I expected! The cafe area is really nice place to eat. Glad I made the right choice. I stayed for only a night but I didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hi 336_Lucy_336!

No need to worry, you can come back any time! Thanks for the great feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was very nice and in a very good location. It was convenient to several restaurants as well as to the Metro. I have no complaints about the room other than two things, that we did not report to mgt. First, the shower did not fully engage when changing from the tub. Second, a corner tile in the bathroom was broken and should have been noticed and repaired.

Helpful hints: The shuttle was fast. It may even be available after 10:45PM, which was the official close of business. Just call and ask! Second, the Metro station was .35 miles from the hotel and could be walked if the shuttle was not available (which I would be surprised). Also, note that there is no free breakfast there, but there is a Starbucks and breakfast for purchase until 9:30AM

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thanks for the great feedback, BSCOTTHOME!

We'll ensure engineering take a look at those issues!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest

Address: 2700 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Courtyard Alexandria
Alexandria Courtyard
Alexandria Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.