We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless plus helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2700 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #27 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Spotless plus helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here on business last week. Am really impressed with what Marriott has done with the Courtyards, and this was no exception. Nice, quiet location central to Alexandria and convenient to D.C. The staff exhibited a great sense of humor and warmth, and often inquired about how I was enjoying my stay. The rooms are spacious, especially by Alexandria standards, the lobby open and inviting, and the food well-priced and of high quality. Very favorably impressed with this location.

Room Tip: The hotel is far enough from the Beltway that traffic noise is not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    88
    34
    16
    13
See reviews for
47
61
16
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

That title is a line from an old Planet Fitness commercial and an appropriate title for my experience at this hotel. Why? I paid extra to have a suite and while the accommodations were great as well as the overall cleanliness and friendliness of the staff, my problem was with the location of the room and a could of nagging things that occurred.

Apparently the room was next door to the fitness center and it has free weights. While the convenience is appreciated, the noise from it caused us to not get a good nights sleep. The fitness center is open until midnight and a patron decided to avail themselves to the free weights well past 9pm and we felt and heard every set as they were constantly dropped on the floor next door. This would be fine except we couldn't get a night's sleep for our very early day the following morning.

Suggest the hours be lessened or that certain equipment can only be used during certain hours of the day. Worse case is move it to the first floor near the business area.

Additionally, my side of the bed had an inoperative outlet and lamp so I had to use a less convenient location to charge electronics and had no reading light. Finally, small yet still an issue, the room was booked for two people, but only had toiletries for one.

However, the food in the Bistro, although slightly overpriced, was quite good. The parking was excellent and getting in and out was a breeze.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room near the fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

and out of the bustle of Old Town and with free parking. This is a beautiful Courtyard with an eclectic lobby, lounge and restaurant. All staff were pleasant and friendly. Room was nice and was great to go out on balcony and sit and enjoy the afternoon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This courtyard was very clean and located near the Eisenhower metra stop. The hotel provides a shuttle to and from the metra station, which was great. Only complaints; the water pressure for the bathroom sink was weak and the shower was old-fashioned and there would be random spurts of extremely hot water while showering.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From the moment my wife and I checked in the staff made us feel very welcomed and special. After hours on the road during a rain storm we were exhausted. Devon made us feel welcomed and special from the moment we walked through the entrance. As always with our experiences at Marriot properties, the facility was immaculate and our room very comfortable. The Staff is extremely professional. Thanks!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Csr was excellent rated average the ammenties and the rooms. We should have had at least a microwave or a fridge in the room. The room not that clean. The carpet had a big red stain on the floor.smell

Room Tip: I have no good tips regarding the rooms.l
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel had sufficient environmental friendly practices.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your feedback, Rayna!

We will be searching for the room with the stain so that we can get that cleaned up! As for microwaves and refrigerators.... we have them in some rooms and have extra's we can put in your room upon request!

Just let us know next time and we will do everything we can to provide them for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great Location to area stores and food, The staff was very courteous and friendly, great eatery recommendations, great cafe, great gathering area to visit friends and watch TV, Wifi was slow, Cafe foods were good, we ate breakfast each day, and coffee twice a day...... Shuttle service good to Metro was good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for the awesome feedback on our hotel and amenities! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Alexandria, VA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest

Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Alexandria Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Courtyard Alexandria
Alexandria Courtyard
Alexandria Marriott
Address: 2700 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.