We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, clean hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2700 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Internet + Breakfast
Ranked #26 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
chicago
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, clean hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

An inexpensive way to visit DC, and old town Alexandria while not giving up comfort. Very friendly staff, comfortable and clean rooms. I only wish Courtyard had free breakfast, and beverages like most of the other Marriott's in the chain.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hello AKjazzj -

Thank you so much for your great feedback regarding your stay with us.

While we do not offer "free" breakfast as other Marriott hotels do, we do offer our breakfast included rates. These rates are typically comparable to those of our sister hotels rates that include a free breakfast.

Thanks again for your great feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    117
    45
    19
    17
See reviews for
63
79
19
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Fairly average Courtyard which means good rooms. The beds are comfortable enough although I have awaken both mornings with a little pain in my artificial hip. The bathroom is big enough. Breakfast like in all Courtyards are pay as you go. They do serve Starbucks. I paid $131 plus tax. In DC area that is not too bad.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hello Brackjr -

Thank you so much for your great feedback regarding your stay! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to DC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel. It was our first time to this part of the country. Very convenient location to the Metrorail...with complimentary shuttle to/from the station. Everyone at the front desk was very helpful. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hello Millsab -

Thank you so much for your great feedback regarding your stay. I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us in Alexandria. We look forward to seeing you during your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This Courtyard is away from the congestion of Old Town Alexandria - which is nice since there's no trouble getting your car in and out and no additional parking fee. It is also a short 10 minute walk to the Metro station. The hotel offers a shuttle upon request to stops in the local area.
The staff is very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The Bistro is a nice convenience for a quick snack or drink and very reasonably priced. There are many restaurants very close by to choose from as well. The quality of the rooms has always been very good and comfortable.
We have stayed here several times and found it to be the most convenient when visiting Alexandria.

Room Tip: High floor facing Eisenhower Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hello Bromeley!

I am so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for the great feedback and thank you for being such a loyal customer!

We look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

They provide free shuttle to the nearby metro station - crossing the bridge (quarter mile away). Since it's walking up and down the bridge, it's considered far for me even though it's just about a quarter mile walk. The metro station seems like offer free parking the weekend. Anyhow, we tried our first time to drive to Washington D.C without taking the metro. haha.... it's exciting since we are not familiar with it. After the 1st day, we know our way to get to any destination we like. There are a numbers of public meter parking nearby the white house with mobile apps near the 7th street & Independence avenue. There are a few on the Pennsylvania Avenue as well.

We always like Marriott hotels.

Tip to get to this hotel - drive towards right of this hotel and you can come to the merge right to highway 95 towards 395 to Washington D.C later.

Room Tip: I don't know any tip but I adapt to the a/c in the room. Remember to turn off the a/c if 65 is t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hello Clairey_World -

Thank you so much for your great feedback! I know a lot of guests will apprecaite it. In the future, if you have any problems locating the hotel please do not hesitate to call us! With the highway construction now complete GPS companies should be updating their info!

We look forwarward to seeing you on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The room was clean however, there was a very strong flowery scent that hit us as soon as we got off the elevator and was in our room as well. It gave us both a headache. My husband noticed a scent pod inserted into the vent for the air conditioning in our room's system and in the heating/air conditioning system in the hallway. We asked that it be removed from our room asap and after asking a 2nd time, it was. The smell lingered. We won't be staying at Marriott Courtyard again due to this unpleasant, strong scent that was so strong, it gave us both a headache. We overheard 2 other couples wondering about the smell also as we waited for the elevator. Why a hotel that should be kept clean needs a strong smell to mask fresh air is beyond our understanding. It really detracted from our 4 night stay. If not for that major complaint, the hotel was conveniently located and breakfast bar was good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hello Randy B -

I truly appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. We heard our guest's loud and clear and have been working to fix the strong smell of the odor counteractant & air freshener we were using.

As you mentioned our guest rooms and hotel are very clean. However, on occasion we find odors in rooms that are a bit tougher. We chose the wrong product and it affected our guests negatively. We are so sorry!

We hope that you will give us another chance the next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My son and I stayed here on an east coast zoo and aquarium tour. We were so eased. Friendly staff, great location, clean, quiet for its location and a shuttle to the metro. Perfect. A 2 night stay here made our whirlwind tour tolerable.

We did not eat here but the restaurant was clean and pleasant. The gym was small but acceptable. A great choice

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hello R S -

Thank yo so much for your great feedback. I hope you and your son enjoyed the zoo and aquariums in the DC area!

We look forward to seeing you on a future trip to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest

Address: 2700 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Courtyard Alexandria
Alexandria Courtyard
Alexandria Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.