We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We miss this hotel following gps as we can't see the 166 highway. Enjoy night here.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2700 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #27 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“We miss this hotel following gps as we can't see the 166 highway. Enjoy night here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

They provide free shuttle to the nearby metro station - crossing the bridge (quarter mile away). Since it's walking up and down the bridge, it's considered far for me even though it's just about a quarter mile walk. The metro station seems like offer free parking the weekend. Anyhow, we tried our first time to drive to Washington D.C without taking the metro. haha.... it's exciting since we are not familiar with it. After the 1st day, we know our way to get to any destination we like. There are a numbers of public meter parking nearby the white house with mobile apps near the 7th street & Independence avenue. There are a few on the Pennsylvania Avenue as well.

We always like Marriott hotels.

Tip to get to this hotel - drive towards right of this hotel and you can come to the merge right to highway 95 towards 395 to Washington D.C later.

Room Tip: I don't know any tip but I adapt to the a/c in the room. Remember to turn off the a/c if 65 is t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hello Clairey_World -

Thank you so much for your great feedback! I know a lot of guests will apprecaite it. In the future, if you have any problems locating the hotel please do not hesitate to call us! With the highway construction now complete GPS companies should be updating their info!

We look forwarward to seeing you on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    88
    34
    16
    13
See reviews for
47
61
16
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The room was clean however, there was a very strong flowery scent that hit us as soon as we got off the elevator and was in our room as well. It gave us both a headache. My husband noticed a scent pod inserted into the vent for the air conditioning in our room's system and in the heating/air conditioning system in the hallway. We asked that it be removed from our room asap and after asking a 2nd time, it was. The smell lingered. We won't be staying at Marriott Courtyard again due to this unpleasant, strong scent that was so strong, it gave us both a headache. We overheard 2 other couples wondering about the smell also as we waited for the elevator. Why a hotel that should be kept clean needs a strong smell to mask fresh air is beyond our understanding. It really detracted from our 4 night stay. If not for that major complaint, the hotel was conveniently located and breakfast bar was good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hello Randy B -

I truly appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. We heard our guest's loud and clear and have been working to fix the strong smell of the odor counteractant & air freshener we were using.

As you mentioned our guest rooms and hotel are very clean. However, on occasion we find odors in rooms that are a bit tougher. We chose the wrong product and it affected our guests negatively. We are so sorry!

We hope that you will give us another chance the next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My son and I stayed here on an east coast zoo and aquarium tour. We were so eased. Friendly staff, great location, clean, quiet for its location and a shuttle to the metro. Perfect. A 2 night stay here made our whirlwind tour tolerable.

We did not eat here but the restaurant was clean and pleasant. The gym was small but acceptable. A great choice

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hello R S -

Thank yo so much for your great feedback. I hope you and your son enjoyed the zoo and aquariums in the DC area!

We look forward to seeing you on a future trip to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergenfield, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

With the hotel a 2 minute shuttle ride to the Metro station, this was perfect for our needs. We found it very easy to navigate the metro system, and didn't mind the ride into the city. The shuttle runs to 10:30pm, but when we called at 10:40 one evening, they picked us up with no problem.
On weekends the parking is free at the (large) lot by the station, so we just parked there on the Saturday we were there.

The hotel itself was very nice, looks recently renovated, beds were comfortable, staff friendly. We could hear the shower in the next room pretty clearly, but other than that there were no issues with noise either from inside the hotel or outside(we were overlooking the highway).

My husband and son ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant. My husband had eggs, toast, bacon, & potatoes with orange juice. My son had Froot Loops and strawberries and a banana. This came to $28, which we thought was way overpriced.
But with the price of the room being just $98, I'm not complaining about the price of food. We can go elsewhere to eat.

There is also no charge to park at the hotel, which is a big plus.

Next time we go to DC, we'll definitely be back to the Courtyard by Marriott.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hello Vicki L -

Thank you so much for your great feedback regarding your stay. It sounds like you and your family really enjoyed your time in DC and your stay with us!

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montezuma, Iowa, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed at the Marriott with my niece, nice bar/restaurant, clean, quiet, Arnold and all the staff went above and beyond to make us comfortable and provide the information we needed with a smile every time. Shuttle to the metro was a great bonus. Secure parking for vehicles. I can not say enough about this wonderful hotel, if I have the need to return to Virginia I will DEFINITELY be staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thanks so much, Kristy B! We really enjoyed having you stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Marriott with a group for work. Not really within walking distance of very much but hotel shuttle will take guests to metro station. Nice bar/lounge area pricey and hotel quality. Elevator was not working one night but quickly fixed. No pool, but nice workout room. Staff was very accommodating and more than willingly to call for shuttle and offer restaurant recommendations. I would probably stay somewhere closer to DC if I was taking a personal trip, but overall the hotel was great.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hi SCTraveler30! I truly appreciate your feedback!

For those guests who really want to spend tons of time in DC, our hotel may be a little further out there. A lot of our guests like to visit the city then enjoy the slower pace of Alexandria. The Yellow line Metro and Eisenhower Metro stop just .25 miles away really helps. And your just one stop away from the free trolley that travels King Street and Old Town!

The hotel is also just .25 miles from the Hoffman Center which has several restaurants and even a movie theater.

Let me know if you need recommendations for a hotel in the Downtown DC area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

When looking for somewhere to stay that is good value, easy to get to the Metro this is it. As a bonus the staff are truly the friendliest I've ever found in a chain hotel. It is getting a bit worn but was exceptionally clean and had everything you could want. Bed was comfortable and we had no trouble parking but I can imagine that may be an issue if they are very busy. We only stayed one night but would stay there again based on the cost, location and staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your great feedback, GoonerTJ! My team truly appreciates the kudos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest

Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Alexandria Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Courtyard Alexandria
Alexandria Courtyard
Alexandria Marriott
Address: 2700 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.