We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experiencd” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2700 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 25% in No. VA
Ranked #26 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Experiencd”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My son and I stayed here on an east coast zoo and aquarium tour. We were so eased. Friendly staff, great location, clean, quiet for its location and a shuttle to the metro. Perfect. A 2 night stay here made our whirlwind tour tolerable.

We did not eat here but the restaurant was clean and pleasant. The gym was small but acceptable. A great choice

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hello R S -

Thank yo so much for your great feedback. I hope you and your son enjoyed the zoo and aquariums in the DC area!

We look forward to seeing you on a future trip to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    100
    40
    16
    15
See reviews for
54
71
16
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergenfield, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

With the hotel a 2 minute shuttle ride to the Metro station, this was perfect for our needs. We found it very easy to navigate the metro system, and didn't mind the ride into the city. The shuttle runs to 10:30pm, but when we called at 10:40 one evening, they picked us up with no problem.
On weekends the parking is free at the (large) lot by the station, so we just parked there on the Saturday we were there.

The hotel itself was very nice, looks recently renovated, beds were comfortable, staff friendly. We could hear the shower in the next room pretty clearly, but other than that there were no issues with noise either from inside the hotel or outside(we were overlooking the highway).

My husband and son ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant. My husband had eggs, toast, bacon, & potatoes with orange juice. My son had Froot Loops and strawberries and a banana. This came to $28, which we thought was way overpriced.
But with the price of the room being just $98, I'm not complaining about the price of food. We can go elsewhere to eat.

There is also no charge to park at the hotel, which is a big plus.

Next time we go to DC, we'll definitely be back to the Courtyard by Marriott.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hello Vicki L -

Thank you so much for your great feedback regarding your stay. It sounds like you and your family really enjoyed your time in DC and your stay with us!

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montezuma, Iowa, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed at the Marriott with my niece, nice bar/restaurant, clean, quiet, Arnold and all the staff went above and beyond to make us comfortable and provide the information we needed with a smile every time. Shuttle to the metro was a great bonus. Secure parking for vehicles. I can not say enough about this wonderful hotel, if I have the need to return to Virginia I will DEFINITELY be staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thanks so much, Kristy B! We really enjoyed having you stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Marriott with a group for work. Not really within walking distance of very much but hotel shuttle will take guests to metro station. Nice bar/lounge area pricey and hotel quality. Elevator was not working one night but quickly fixed. No pool, but nice workout room. Staff was very accommodating and more than willingly to call for shuttle and offer restaurant recommendations. I would probably stay somewhere closer to DC if I was taking a personal trip, but overall the hotel was great.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hi SCTraveler30! I truly appreciate your feedback!

For those guests who really want to spend tons of time in DC, our hotel may be a little further out there. A lot of our guests like to visit the city then enjoy the slower pace of Alexandria. The Yellow line Metro and Eisenhower Metro stop just .25 miles away really helps. And your just one stop away from the free trolley that travels King Street and Old Town!

The hotel is also just .25 miles from the Hoffman Center which has several restaurants and even a movie theater.

Let me know if you need recommendations for a hotel in the Downtown DC area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

When looking for somewhere to stay that is good value, easy to get to the Metro this is it. As a bonus the staff are truly the friendliest I've ever found in a chain hotel. It is getting a bit worn but was exceptionally clean and had everything you could want. Bed was comfortable and we had no trouble parking but I can imagine that may be an issue if they are very busy. We only stayed one night but would stay there again based on the cost, location and staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your great feedback, GoonerTJ! My team truly appreciates the kudos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Don't let other reviewers put you off...this location is great for touring DC....reasonably priced....free shuttle to Metro.....great staff....the rooms are fine....very quiet....good place to grab a snack and Starbucks coffee in the lobby....no pool for kids but they will be too busy to miss it.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hi Rizjag! Thanks so much for the great feedback! Some of the reviews that guests post have been valid issues that we are working very hard to correct. I am so thankful that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Not the nicest Courtyard ever but the staff must be the friendliest. I've stayed at this property 4-5 times this year and had a good experience every time. Close to I-95, close to restaurants of old Alexandria. Close to metro if you're in town as a tourist and don't have a vehicle.

Would like to see some upgrades to A/C in the future, as well as better selection in their pantry.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hi RobertaJ! First, my team and I truly appreciate the kudos! We work very hard to ensure our guests enjoy their stay.

We are working very hard on the HVAC systems in the building and guest rooms. Unfortunatley with mechanical equipment sometimes things break even after we have checked the rooms. We hard at work trying to correct issues BEFORE our guests arrive.

I'd love to hear more about your ideas for our pantry.... are you reffering to the Market or our Bistro Restaurant?

Thanks again for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest

Address: 2700 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Courtyard Alexandria
Alexandria Courtyard
Alexandria Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.