We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2700 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15% off
Ranked #27 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Montezuma, Iowa, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed at the Marriott with my niece, nice bar/restaurant, clean, quiet, Arnold and all the staff went above and beyond to make us comfortable and provide the information we needed with a smile every time. Shuttle to the metro was a great bonus. Secure parking for vehicles. I can not say enough about this wonderful hotel, if I have the need to return to Virginia I will DEFINITELY be staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thanks so much, Kristy B! We really enjoyed having you stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    112
    44
    19
    16
See reviews for
59
77
17
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Marriott with a group for work. Not really within walking distance of very much but hotel shuttle will take guests to metro station. Nice bar/lounge area pricey and hotel quality. Elevator was not working one night but quickly fixed. No pool, but nice workout room. Staff was very accommodating and more than willingly to call for shuttle and offer restaurant recommendations. I would probably stay somewhere closer to DC if I was taking a personal trip, but overall the hotel was great.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hi SCTraveler30! I truly appreciate your feedback!

For those guests who really want to spend tons of time in DC, our hotel may be a little further out there. A lot of our guests like to visit the city then enjoy the slower pace of Alexandria. The Yellow line Metro and Eisenhower Metro stop just .25 miles away really helps. And your just one stop away from the free trolley that travels King Street and Old Town!

The hotel is also just .25 miles from the Hoffman Center which has several restaurants and even a movie theater.

Let me know if you need recommendations for a hotel in the Downtown DC area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

When looking for somewhere to stay that is good value, easy to get to the Metro this is it. As a bonus the staff are truly the friendliest I've ever found in a chain hotel. It is getting a bit worn but was exceptionally clean and had everything you could want. Bed was comfortable and we had no trouble parking but I can imagine that may be an issue if they are very busy. We only stayed one night but would stay there again based on the cost, location and staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your great feedback, GoonerTJ! My team truly appreciates the kudos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Don't let other reviewers put you off...this location is great for touring DC....reasonably priced....free shuttle to Metro.....great staff....the rooms are fine....very quiet....good place to grab a snack and Starbucks coffee in the lobby....no pool for kids but they will be too busy to miss it.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hi Rizjag! Thanks so much for the great feedback! Some of the reviews that guests post have been valid issues that we are working very hard to correct. I am so thankful that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Not the nicest Courtyard ever but the staff must be the friendliest. I've stayed at this property 4-5 times this year and had a good experience every time. Close to I-95, close to restaurants of old Alexandria. Close to metro if you're in town as a tourist and don't have a vehicle.

Would like to see some upgrades to A/C in the future, as well as better selection in their pantry.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hi RobertaJ! First, my team and I truly appreciate the kudos! We work very hard to ensure our guests enjoy their stay.

We are working very hard on the HVAC systems in the building and guest rooms. Unfortunatley with mechanical equipment sometimes things break even after we have checked the rooms. We hard at work trying to correct issues BEFORE our guests arrive.

I'd love to hear more about your ideas for our pantry.... are you reffering to the Market or our Bistro Restaurant?

Thanks again for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

They use some kind of air freshener that's so strong. Gross. The room had a funky, urine and air freshener smell. I was so tired, I checked to see if the bed smelled and when i determined it was ok, i just slept and left the next day. I would not want to spend more than that there. If you had any allergy issues, you'd be in trouble. The hotel is close enough to the metro. No free coffee in the morning. Outrageously priced cafe food...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hi CarolineMcMuffin -

We are very aware of the odor issue in some of our guest rooms and are working very hard to rectify the cause of the odor versus just fixing the odor smell itself. Unfortunately, its a random issue through the hotel and we don't catch it all the time.

We have a very aggressive plan in place to rectify the cause and hope that it is fixed ASAP!

Thank you again for your very valuable feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

We are checking out from a five night stay at this Courtyard. We tend to like the Courtyard and normally always try to stay at one if we have a choice. The staff at this Courtyard are a friendly bunch of people. Every interaction with them was pleasant. The lobby, Bistro, and rooms are very clean. The bathroom is a decent size and the counter is large which is great for spreading out or if multiple people are trying to get ready at once. This hotel is conveniently located to the Metro and the hotel offers a shuttle if you don't want to walk. The bad part is that the rooms had a distinct smell. The first room we had was overpowering in this smell which is hard to describe but very unpleasant. The second room seemed better but after awhile the smell was in this new room as well, although it was never as bad as the first room. I believe it is coming from the A/C but I don't know that for sure. We noticed that the A/C unit near the parking elevator had some sort of air freshener stuffed inside which killed the smell there but get in the elevator and there it is again so it is throughout the hotel. My husband asked for housekeeping to spray the room the next day (they did offer to come that night but he preferred they just do it during the normal cleaning process) and I can't say if it was done or not as the smell persists. We finally stopped and bought Febreze and resolved the problem by spraying the room when we came in each night. The beds are not as comfortable as some of the other Courtyards we have been to and the hotel is located right along the interstate so you will hear traffic noise. We were next door to a housekeeping room and were told this was a service elevator (I believe) and there would be no problems. I had concerns after reading some of the reviews on Trip Advisor. On the weekends we never heard the housekeeping staff but saw them in the halls when we would leave our room. During the weekdays they are definitely noticeable starting at 8am. Noise carries in this hotel and whether or not they really were talking loud it sure seemed like it. While this hotel cannot change some things that are out of its control - like the traffic noise, which we got used to - it needs to do something about the smell that is in its hotel and training housekeeping staff to use "inside voices" especially before 9am.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hello Scoobysmom2003 -

Thank you for your very valuable feedback. I know my team truly appreciates the kudos as they work very hard to ensure every guest enjoys their stay!

We are very aware of the odor issue that is in some of our guest rooms and public areas. We are working very hard to fix the cause of the issue versus just neutralizing the odor when it arises. I am embarrassed that you had to purchase Febreeze to remedy the issue yourself.

Also, we have addressed the level of voices with our housekeeping department. Hopefully this issue is fixed and our guests will not have this issue moving forward. Also, to fix the door slamming issue we are installing door closers on all the housekeeping closet doors!

Thank you again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest

Address: 2700 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Courtyard Alexandria
Alexandria Courtyard
Alexandria Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Old Town/Southwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.